We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Line in CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We traveled straight through from CT to Maui which took 18 hours total. By the time we arrived at the Kaanapali Alii it was 10 pm Maui time and 4 am to us. We drove up and Chris greeted us by name at the car as if we were family and sent us in to check in while he unloaded our car and parked it. At check in they informed us we had been upgraded to a premium oceanview room (I had booked oceanview). Chris walked us and our luggage up to our condo, pausing along the way to point out things on the property such as the pool house, etc. (He even asked if we were hungry and if he could get us something to eat) He really set a great tone for our entire vacation. We then arrived in our absolutely beautiful and HUGE condo (number 265). Granite, tumbled marble, stainless steel, brushed nickel, new carpeting, comfy beds. In the morning we saw the ocean from the living area and second bedroom and mountains from master bedroom and kitchen. It was absolutely the most beautiful, quiet, and relaxing place I have ever stayed in. All of the staff was wonderful. We had a couple of small maintenance issues (running toilet, broken thermostat) and they were there within minutes to fix them. The location is great as it is between the Westin and the Marriott and it's easy to use their amenities, you can even sign them to your room. The property at the Alii is small and pretty and quiet. Pool is not great but there is an overhaul planned for that in the near future. Beach is gorgeous and not as crowded as other spots along the resort strip. We were so sad to leave. If we ever make it back to Maui, we will definately stay at the Alii again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    126
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
472
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We just returned from our first trip to Hawaii and I am still dreaming about it. Our huge 2BR mtn view room on the fifth floor was perfect for a family of 5 - 2 teens (3 TVs!), private and quiet. Liked the pool and LOVED the beach. Drove to nearby beaches for snorkeling. LOVED the grills, friendly people and lack of fighting for pool lounges. I would definitely return in a heartbeat. CLose to Lahaina and grocery stores. I will take this over a resort any day!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigeralum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

After reading reviews and looking at some pictures I'm happy with our decision to stay here. I was just wondering from others who have stayed here recently if there is a difference between their Premier rooms or not. I didn't realize until after we booked that each room is individually owned and some pictures depict gorgeous remodeled rooms and some are a little more dated but nice just the same. I booked directly through their site and found the reservation representatives extremely helpful. It was recommended by the representative to stay in either building 1 or 3 on one of the higher floors since we will be staying in a one bedroom ocean view premier room. Just want to make sure that all the money we spent to stay here is well worth it.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frazzledmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We had Room 316 on the first floor overlooking Kaanapali Beach. It was perfect. The room was beautiful, and the bedrooms and baths were up to date and always clean. We enjoyed just sitting on our lanai watching the people on the boardwalk or in the ocean. I enjoyed the first floor as we could just step over the rope and be on the boardwalk. I always enjoyed walking up and down the beach. We walked to Black Rock and enjoyed Whaler's Village. Try the Nachos or burgers at Leilani's. Great food and a beautiful view. Kimo's in Lahaina is a favorite, especially at sunset. Also enjoyed Hula Grill. Delicious fish as always. We saw several turtles at Black Rock, but our best snorkeling was at Honolua Bay. You have to go a ways out but perfect.

If you have time, Paia is a cute town on the opposite of the island. We enjoyed walking around the town, then heading just up the coast to watch the windsurfers ride.

Maui is our favorite vacation spot. Always something to do.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dcoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Long story short, I love this hotel. Kaanapali is not my favorite beach on Hawaii due to overcrowding, but this hotel is far enough from Whaler Village that it has a bit more privacy. Also, being one of the smaller hotels on that beach, it's possible to get pool chairs and use the fantastic BBQs! I've stayed here twice, and is the only hotel on Kaanapali that I would recommend whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinSF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We have been staying at the Alii since it opened - 25+ years ago. We love it there.
However, I have to agree with one of the negative comments - that is that the rules have been gradually relaxed over the years. We find that we can no longer use the hot tub as it is usually filled with underage kids and the staff tolerates this though it is against the rules and signs are posted with an age limit. They do not enforce the restrictions.

Otherwise, we have always found the staff to be more than helpful especially the front desk, and security guards. All are friendly, polite and more than willing to provide whatever is needed for your comfort.

I agree some of the rooms are becoming rather unkempt. and in need of a remodel, but you get what you pay for. The property itself is wonderful and the setting great ( long, beautiful beach for walking and shopping ).. It is an older property so one must tolerate some water shut offs, etc. for repairs. However, it would be nice to be informed before making a reservation.

Regarding Brian, one of the pool staff - he has never been anything but helpful and polite. However, we have seen unruly and undisciplined children around the pool whose parents have not taught them any manners. I expect this might have been the case
in one of the reviews I read complaining about Brian. If anything, we have sometimes found the pool staff to be a little too tolerant of ill mannered adults who disrespect the rules (bringing beer bottles in, and undisciplined children throwing balls and other objects around (also against the rules) in the pool area.

The pool and office staff is ALWAYS friendly and helpful, many times going above and beyond expectations in making sure you enjoy your stay. We have grown to love many of the people there as though they are family - including Glenda, Ron, Dean, Kurt, Manny,
Brian, Sheldon, and Dan.
In recent years a change in management has not lived up to the Alii motto of Alii No ka Oi, but we are willing to tolerate it because of the wonderful people who work there and who try their best to insure you enjoy your stay.
(roughly translated - Nothing finer - the best!)

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAEon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We chose the Kaanapali Alii and booked it through Maui Beachfront Rentals. In comparing the price we paid for the week, I believe we saved well over $1,000 instead of booking directly through the hotel. We received two free nights paying $500/night for the other five and it was well worth it. We have traveled extensively and have rarely felt that paying extra for ocean view was really worth it. It was here! Our view was superb from our 10th floor, large 2 bedroom, 2 bath. The lanai is huge and easily could accommodate the five of us. We watched whales as well as sunsets from the lanai. The Alii is on the best stretch of Kaanapali Beach. We walked to several of the many restaurants and bars along the beautiful beachfront walk. The grounds are beautiful, the barbeque area is really nice and cleaned thoroughly every night. The pool area is slated to undergo a complete overhaul in the fall. It is a rather nondescript pool, but there are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, and other pool/beach amenities. It is a relaxing setting...not a lot of action or crowds as in neighboring hotel pool areas. This stretch of beach is beautiful with many activities available and the Alii is a wonderful place to stay and to enjoy them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyBSt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing