We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Paradise”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This is a newly remodled resort with beach front rooms. One of the best on the island. We stay in unit 212 and we always enjoy our stays here. We highly recommend this resort with a beach front pathway that walks the entire beach all the way to Whalers Village. The perfect get away for solo travelers, couples, familys, or friends!

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Donulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    126
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
472
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We recently Jan20th/2010 stayed in a 2brm/2bth garden view. The view was not garden, more parking lot, however the condo made up for the lack of view. Very comfortable beds, and lots of room for a family. The new pool is great, the only downside is it is a bit deep for a five year old who is learning to swim and the wading pool is quite small. I would stay again however and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlnormedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed in a One Bedroom Premier for one week and it was easily the best stay of our trip. For the SAME price that we paid at two resort hotels (Sheraton and Westin), we had 3 times the space, fully upgraded kitchen, 2 bathrooms, two bedrooms, (apparently many owners have queen beds in the den, which we had),nice and large living room and a laundry room. If you want to stay on Kaanapali beach....skip the hotels that tag you with armbands everytime you want a towel or charge you 21 dollars for pancakes.
They also don't charge a resort fee, so parking is included in the rate. The Alii is also very close to Whalers Village for some good eating choices if you don't feel like cooking. The BBQ's were always very clean......really nice! The construction past reviews mention seems to be coming to an end, with only the landscaping and spa to finish. We'll be staying here again! This resort has a real nice low key feel!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always very much enjoyed the facilities.

On this most recent stay we stayed in unit 3114 which was newly remodeled and picturesque. The design and personal touches in this condo made it feel like home. There were several "extras" in the unit, like a margarita machine, ipod speakers in every room, flat screens in every room and fine linens. We also enjoyed that this unit had both ocean and mountain views with almost daily rainbows pearing over the mountains. Couldn't have asked for anything more!

The pool construction was almost done during our stay and looks fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Our group, family with an 8 year old, traveled with a good friend over Christmas/New Years. The property is beautiful. We stayed in room 423 second floor. No view (garden View close to parking lot) but condo is totally re-done and gorgeous. Easy in & out, large comfortable lanai. Everybody was very friendly and helpful, esp. Wendy at the activity bar. Quite a few grills near pool and beach that was a great gathering spot in the evening. The beach is perfect, large and sandy. Pool was new & nice but we spent our time at the beach. This was our 1st time to Maui, but our friend has been many times and was able to show us around. Convenient location near town and grocery store. Nice walking path to see other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here from 12/4/09 to 12/14/09. A lot of remodeling going on, but we
hade a great condo with a view of the ocean and the mountains. We had been told about the pool and area around the pool being redone but had not been told about the
remodeling in the hallways and doorways and the check in area. We were without water
in our unit when we checked in, but after calling we had water about two hours later.
We had a great condo and the staff was also very good and friendly. When we left most
of the remodeling was almost done. We had a great stay even with all that was going on. It wll be the #1 place to stay when done.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DONSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I'm the type of vacationer that believes once you've found a gem, you keep coming back to it.

I've been to the KA a handful of times and my girlfriend and I caught a great deal to stay at this comfortable condo while they remodeled their pool.

Rooms: The rooms are very spacious. Main room had a wrap around couch, tv and a lanai (we had a partial ocean view...pretty nice). They all have a washer/dryer, fridge, dishwasher, etc. Full kitchen and dining room. The rooms are large as well. We stayed in the smaller option for a condo and still had 2 full baths. TIP...before you go grocery shopping, take a look around the condo. Ours already had detergent and drier sheets.

Pool: For those that dig their pool time, the KA has worked out a deal for guests to use the pools at the Sheraton (15 minute walk towards black rock), the Westin (next door) or the Marriot (also next door). It appears that the KA pool will be very nice once it is complete.

Beach: Great beach. Surf was high when we were there, but normally the waves are fairly small. KA has free beach chairs to use and cabanas for rent. At times, you could hear some of the construction equipment from the beach, but for the most part it's hard to get distracted in paradise.

Staff: Very kind and helpful. They do it right. Rooms were always clean, concierge service was good and the guys down by the beach handing out chairs were always eager.

Construction: Seemed to me that the Alii was pretty upfront about their construction. They covered all their bases though by arranging for passes to other pools and even setting up grills by the beach (their old grills were near the pool area). You can definitely tell it's going on because there is a perimeter of black tarp around the side of the hotel facing the beach. I hear it will be complete soon, so should not be an issue for future travelers.

Weather: Take the weather reports you see on tv and in the Maui Daily News with a grain of salt. They predicted rain every day and it may have rained once at night at the KA. To be sure, it does rain frequently in Hawaii, but something about being on West Maui helped us escape a lot of it on our trip.

Crowds: Also found out that early November is a pretty quiet time in Maui. Got the impression from the locals that tourism is down this year...may mean deals are out there if you look hard enough.

Do's - Breakfast at Pioneer Inn, Sit upstairs for dinner at Cheeseburger in Paradise with live music, Snorkeling at Black Rock, day trip to Napalii Beach, Sunset on Kaanapali Beach, Driving the Road to Hana.

We will be heading back to KA for certain. Enjoy Maui!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobbyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing