We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay at Kahana Sunset” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kahana Sunset
Tacoma, Wa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay at Kahana Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I have been to Maui a few times and this was our first stay in Kahana, and to be more specific, Kahana Sunset D9. Previously we stayed in Wailea at one of those big fancy hotels where you get great service, great food, a great beach, but it's at a great price too. We've also stayed in Ka'anapali in one of those multi-story units where the unit, beach and grounds were just ok. At Kahana Sunset we got the best of both, a well groomed cozy complex, a nice sandy, mostly private, beach, our own kitchen, to keep our food cost down, and a location close to some great Maui attractions.
My family, five of us, stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath unit. It was cozy in the bedroom with the three adult kids but it was worth it. We shopped at Costco near the airport when we arrived and stocked our kitchen for our seven day stay. We had a very nice view of the landscaped grounds and the ocean over the pool. The complex pretty much has it's own private white sand beach. Michael the manager was very nice and welcoming, he visited us at the pool one day and gave us banana's that he picked off a tree on the grounds. At night we would walk down to one of the six bbq's on the grounds to socialize and cook up our dinner. The free internet and the washer and dryer came in handy too.
The location of the complex is great, within a five minute walk or two minute drive north is a grocery store, Maui Taco, a coffee shop, and a snorkel rental place, among other small shops. About a mile south is the Maui Brew house, a great stop after a long afternoon in the sun for some food and a nice cold beer. Five miles down the road is the active white sandy Ka'anapali beach where the kids did the 1200 foot parasail and shopped at the Whalers Village. Ten miles down the road is Lahaina, where we all took surf lessons at Goofy Foot and saw a Luau. If you go five minutes up the road you can see one of Maui's best snorkel spots, Honolua Bay. We bypassed the first parking area and sandy beach for the second parking area and rocky beach, we have found the snorkeling better there. This was our first visit to Kahana and we look forward to our next stay at the Kahana Sunset.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank peterandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    63
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at Kahana Sunset in June, 2011 (unit E1E). The pool and the beach are great. We stayed with two yound children (3 & 5 year old) and the kids loved this place.

Please do your research before you rent your unit as each unit is different. We stayed in E1E which was great for what we paid. The unit has free wi-fi internes access, fully equipped kitchen, flat screen TV, washer and dryer and all the amenities a family needs.

Don't expect 5 star hotel. The bedroom was not super clean and the bed wasn't super confortable.

But, other than that, the unit was great and we had everything we needed.

We will definitely go back and stay in this unit in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Don't know how we lucked into this one! Building F is 30 feet from the water! These condos are situated in a small beach that is private because of the way the lava flows and the coves and the water fronts are formed. We were in F-10. Great condo. Lanai is on beach from the living room and upstairs view of beach in master bedroom. Grounds well kept, lots of flowers, trees - really Hawaii!
Breezes are the only airconditoning but plenty cool all the time except 1p-5p.

Room Tip: Get a room in Building F
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We loved our stay in Unit E-6 so much we went back to the same place. We feel fortunate to have found the perfect place to stay in Maui at a VERY reasonable cost. My husband and I traveled with our friends, another couple but we will be back next time with the two teenagers. The beach is superb, the unit is VERY clean and comfortable. Also, very close to shopping and dining ... and the brewpub of course ;-)

Sea turtles abound at this beach -- we knew that from last year but this time we were treated to a monk seal sighting. We were in the water only a few feet away from it. Absolutely amazing!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiBeerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

First time in Maui. Couldn't have picked a better resort. Kahana Sunset was fantastic!
The condo was roomy, clean. The lanai had a wonderful view of the ocean. The private beach & great snorkeling right out the door left plenty of time to just relax! The grounds were beautiful & the staff was very friendly and helpful. One member of the staff in particular , Michael the manager, made our vacation! He was very friendly, had great suggestions & even took my husband out on his first paddle board ride to show him a whale with her newly born baby, born right in the bay outside the condo! Wouldn't stay anywhere else when on Maui! Close to everything, but in a quiet residential area.

Room Tip: Ocean view is more private for less$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Room and staff were great. We had a great time at Kahana Sunset and we want to come back with our kids and have another great time in beautiful hawaii at Kahana Sunset. All of the amenities of Kahana were awesome and Mike was always there to help us with resort questions and what excusions to do on the island. Thanks Mike great job, your help was very appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 408cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

My family has been coming to Kahana Sunset for 26 yrs and we obviously love it! This time we stayed in D6, which is not a remodeled unit, but we really only slept there. We spent most of our time in the ocean. The turtles were awesome!. This a great place to stay with children as the beautiful beach is blocked by rock on both sides, very private. Grill dinner, and have happy hour at sunset every night! The staff is helpful and friendly.... ask for Michael! The conch blows around 5pm for happy hour and again at sunset :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#6 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Property: Kahana Sunset
Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing