We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach/retaining wall under repair”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach/retaining wall under repair”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just got back from spending nearly 2 weeks at Kahana Sunset and have mixed feelings on the facility. The sign out front says "Beautiful Sandy Beach", but is was anything but. Be aware that the beach and retaining wall are under repair. Units in F block are right on the front line. We were told that the repairs were supposed to conclude Oct 1, but in speaking with several residents, it looks like they might now be done by Thanksgiving, and then they will be back at it again late next summer. About 75% of the beach is currently out of service or washed away right now.

We were in unit D7, a reasonably nice and well appointed unit that had recently been remodelled. The unit is configured with two ensuites which was convenient. The kitchen had everything you need to cook almost anything.

Be aware that there is a little bit of a hill behind the unit, inhibiting proper flow through of the cooling breeze on the first floor. The second floor ventilates properly, but since the smoking area is immediately behind the unit, the smoke gets sucked into the back room so we had to keep the shutters closed most of the time.

Other than the beach issues, the grounds were beautiful and well kept and the staff very friendly. The pool was clean and set at a nice temperature.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    65
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
119
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Bah Humbug!!
ITS BRILLIANT.....
The accommodation is very good ,light ,airy and more than enough room to store your clothes . The breeze form the sea is welcoming through the screen's of an evening and you are only a short drive away from Lahaina.
The cleaners were professional and the Tour agent on site very helpful ( thank you for the Bogie boards the kids loved em!! )
The beach is just brilliant and it seems no one else uses it... the reef is just feet away and the fish and turtles are amazing.
We had E10 and it was perfect... well bar the neighbour next door who liked his country music and left all his windows open... but that was very hit and miss.
At night it was peaceful and quiet with the only real noise made by the wind and the very few late arrivals( the footsteps were noticeable just because it was so quiet!)
The other facilities were very good... nice pool and the added extra of the BBQ's in case you were eating out to much or the costs of the restaurants were to much made a nice change.
We found the local residents very kind, good natured and happy to have holiday makers there.. and you got some great tips too!
One place I would return too... over and over again.

Room Tip: Anything to the right in block E.. the sunset's were stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Screamers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The full time residents have instituted so many rules that this is an unpleasant place to stay in spite of the beautiful grounds. You can't have flotation devices in the pool, you can't smoke anywhere on the property except in the parking lot by the dumpster, the quiet hours restrictions at the pool are outrageous, etc. This week, they are repairing some stone walls on the beach so all you can hear is drilling and you can't even safely use the beach. The residents here are arrogant and rude. The lack of air conditioning makes the rooms musty and stiflingly hot. Maui is great. Don't go to kahana sunset, though. The residents don't want you here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trbdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSRP4909, General Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Aloha TRBDenver,

We are sorry you feel there are too many rules governing guest stays at Kahana Sunset. All of our owners who rent their units want our guests to be as comfortable as possible and hope that the rules help ensure everyone's comfort. In particular, Kahana Sunset is a smoke free property based on the overwhelming request of our guests and in compliance with Hawaiian State Law. We have three designated smoking locations around the property for guests to use.

It was unfortunate that we had an emergency seawall repair while you were on property. The northern part of the beach, the pool and grounds were open and safe. The safety and comfort of our guests are our primary concern and we made sure the restricted areas were well marked. In an ideal world we would never have to perform construction work that impacted guests. But considering how close our buildings are to the ocean sometimes construction is necessary to preserve the integrity of our property.

All guests have the opportunity to rent units with AC if that is important to the success of their vacation. While most units are comfortably cooled by the Island trade winds and fans, some owners have installed AC. The different rental companies representing Kahana Sunset identify those units on their websites and through direct contact with their representatives.

Mahalo!

Page Van Bramer, Manager
Kahana Sunset Rental Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claremont, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just got back from an 8-day stay in Unit D-11 at the Kahana Sunset. This is such a great place for kids, even the little ones. The beach is very private and never too crowded. The management at the front desk is always very helpful. Our unit was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook. We had a nice flat screen TV with cable and free WIFI that worked perfectly. Every unit is different so please research before you book.

This is my second time staying at the Kahana Sunset. The first time was in the F Building without my kids. This time we stayed in D-11 and brought them with. This unit is nicely upgraded and quiet. It's the very last unit in the corner of the complex. There are views of the ocean and sunset from the upper lanai. There are windows all along the side of the unit which gives a nice breeze. The master bedroom has an AC unit that was great for the warm nights. The owner of the condo was very easy to work with and responds to emails promptly. Overall we were very happy with our stay and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the F building have fantastic locations, just keep in mind your lanai is not as private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erindraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We've been coming to here for awhile, always staying in various units. There are 2 management companies that run the units here Sullivan and Kahana. Our unit B10 (second from the end) was run by Kahana Pros: The location and private beach are great. Cons: one bath towel/per guest (thin, scratchy). They come in every day to clean i.e. replace towels and sweep floors. Floors are a mixed brown tile that hide a lot of dirt. One hour after showering and walking around condo I noticed the bottoms of my feet were black! I wore flipflops while inside for rest of trip. Kitchen was very sparse,with just the very basics. We have stayed in other units that have much better stocked kitchens, games, dvd's, pool & beach toys. Also have previously stayed with Sullivan who gives you as many towels as you need/want along with unlimited little soaps, detergent, etc. Don't think we'll be renting this one again. Will make sure we stick with Sullivan in the future. Double check with management what services you will be getting and how stocked your unit is for future rentals.
It is great location. Lots of good snorkeling nearby and on private beach. Pool is too warm (they keep it @ 88 degrees), lots of people complained. Occasionally local kids come and fish off beach where guests are swimming - you also have to complain to management to get them to leave. Beach wall is crumbling, there's a net along the top of it to keep people away which obscures ocean view, and needs to be repaired asap. Wish it were as good as it used to be.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoutyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSRP4909, General Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Aloha Scoutyyy,

We are sorry to learn you weren't completely satisfied with your recent visit to Kahana Sunset. It is unfortunate you did not contact the office with your concerns. Our office is on property and open 8:00AM - 4:00PM, 7 days a week. We would have been happy to provide any additional items that would have made your visit more enjoyable. We do provide bath soap, shampoo and conditioner, body lotion, dish and laundry soap. Our complimentary maid service includes daily towel changes, sweeping, garbage removal and mid-visit linen changes. Any one of our employees would have been willing and able to assist you.


You mention that occasionally local children were using the beach. You may not have known that all beaches, including the beach in front of Kahana Sunset, are owned by the State of Hawaii and are by law accessible to the public. While our guests enjoy the secluded nature of Kahana Sunset, we cannot and will not restrict access to what belongs to everyone.

We hope that your next visit to Maui is more enjoyable and that you will feel comfortable asking for assistance from our staff.

Mahalo!

Page Van Bramer, Manager
Kahana Sunset Rental Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Kahana Sunset is always our first choice for our visits to Maui. We appreciate that it is a smaller facility and not a big high rise. We enjoy the friendly staff, beautiful beach, fabulous sunsets and resident turtles. It is great to just roll out of our condo and directly on the beach which is rarely crowded and perfect for snorkeling, swimming and shelling. For Boogie Boarding you probably want to go to a different beach.

The comfort of the beds and bedding varies by unit since they are individually owned, but all that we have tried have come well stocked with kitchen equipment, books, games, videos and toys for the kids. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

As I said in my previous reviews, this is like coming home for us! After reading some of the reviews, I felt compelled to respond to some of the complaints.

You are in Paradise on Maui fer Pete's sake! If you cant handle not having WiFi maybe you shouldn't go on vacation. There is a reason for The unhurried way of life, and "Island Time!"

Most of the units do not have air conditioning. There is this wonderful thing called Trade Winds! Open your windows and enjoys the breezes and the smells and sounds of the island! Have a nice cold Mai Tai and relax!

Some, if not most of us prefer a non-heated pool! There is nothing worse than jumping into a warm "bathtub" to cool off after being in the sun. It also cuts down on the cost.

Don't blame the rest of the property for your issues with Sullivan.

Do your research! Again, there is a reason that most of the units don't have full ovens. They really are unnecessary, and only add to the heat.

You may see a cockroach or two. Maybe even a mouse! EEK! They are harmless folks! After all, you are in the tropics!

Finally, if it's that bad, please stay away. We would much rather spend our time meeting and visiting with happy, relaxed people. Not those who find fault in everything!

Can't wait to return February 26, 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEAtoJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.9 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.8 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 43 in Lahaina
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 43 in Lahaina
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 43 in Lahaina
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Property: Kahana Sunset
Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing