We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of renting Unit A-1 at Kahana Sunset Condo”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware of renting Unit A-1 at Kahana Sunset Condo”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A year in planning a special birthday trip with family was ruined by construction taking place at the Kahana Sunset. 1 week prior to our departure for Maui, I was contacted by the owner telling me of this unforeseen repair to the ocean wall on the beach. A small discount was offered and with such short notice to locate another rental on the beach, we agreed not to cancel our booking. Each morning during our week stay - we could not sit out on the lanai because of the bulldozer noises, jackhammer. In addition, upon seeing the state of the construction, the owner absolutely must have known that the work was going to be taking place during our stay. If you are considering rental of Unit A-1, I strongly recommend you get written confirmation from the owner AND the resident manager that all facilities are up and running and there are no major repairs scheduled during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarolineF5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    65
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
119
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Finally taking the time to review our "home away from home" on Maui. My husband and I were married at Kahana Sunset August 2004 - after he had visited friends there the year previous. We fell in LOVE with this property, and Maui itself...so much so, that we have now been back almost every year since. We've shared this property with family, friends, and our 3 kids - it's a VERY family friendly resort.

Now - if you're looking for nightlife, restaurants on the property, and uber luxurious accommodations (including air conditioning - which you DON'T need on Maui with the trade winds)....this resort may not be what you're looking for. BUT - if you're looking for something off the beaten path, a little more quiet - just a comfortable, quality home base for exploring the awesomeness of Maui - then this is your place.

Located on the Northwest corner of the island, it'll take you approximately 45 minutes by car from the airport (Kahului) to get here. But it's a beautiful drive. 10 minutes by car to Kaanapali, 15/20 minutes to Lahaina town - 20 minutes to the Nakalele blowhole.

There are 6 main buildings (a total of about 70 condos total, small place) with 1 and 2 bedroom condos. All equipped with full kitchens (stocked to various degrees) and linens. A is oceanfront, B is garden/ocean view, C is garden/ocean view, D is garden/ocean view, E has a view of the F building and a tiny peek of ocean, and F is beachfront. We have stayed in A,B,C, and F. You'll pay top $$ for A and F. F (beachfront) balconies are essentially shared - which means they aren't super private. People walk back and forth along them in order to access the beach. E will be your best value - since they don't have the best views....however, you are just steps away from an essentially private beach. We have returned to B building now....beautiful views from our own balcony, kids are contained, good price point. Most condos have been newly renovated - but not all. If it's important to you to have an updated space, make sure you voice that desire at the time of booking. 1 bedroom condos are located underneath the 2 bedroom condos - keep in mind that if you're making noise in your living room of a 2 bedroom condo, someone is likely hearing it below!

This resort has an incredible beach - essentially private. We have experienced many mornings where our family of 5 has had the whole beach to ourselves. And because it's a smaller resort, it's never packed. Great snorkeling right off the beach...we've counted 40 sea turtles that call the protected cove at Kahana home. We've swam along side some of them....and seen countless fish, eels, octopus, some coral, and even a monk seal. The beach has been changed over the years by various storms...and be aware that work may be started soon on repairing the beach wall. Not sure how this will affect access to the beach. During whale season (November through April) we like to say you can watch "Whale TV" - easy to see many breaches/tail slaps right from the beach and our balcony. Nice bay for stand up paddling/kayaking as well, since it's typically calm. Be aware, however, that during the winter months the ocean can get rough. On days like that, we typically pack up and beach hop on the south end of the island.

There is a very nice pool (decent sized, not huge) located in the middle of the beautifully kept gardens - many tropical flowers, plumeria trees, fruit trees, and even a community herb garden. There is a smaller pool built in to the larger pool for the little ones...no hot tub on site. Often times, previous families have left toys behind to pass on to new families - nice to get to play with boogie boards, floaty rings, and sand toys for free! But - no floatys/noodles are allowed in the pool, FYI.

No need to go to town and spend $$ for oceanfront dining since there are BBQ grills available on site at Kahana...and you can easily dine on your own balcony or take your food down to the shared Keone Nui room - where the waves literally crash right next to you. Supermarkets close by - one in Napili, another in Honokowai. More in Lahaina.

There are a few ways to book these condos - if you book through the Kahana Sunset rental pool, you get daily maid service and towels are provided. Sullivan properties rental group also provides towels, but I don't believe you get daily maid service (? weekly). VRBO bookings may require additional fees for maid service.

The people that live in these condos are some of the nicest people we've met...they truly make this place special.

Because this place is smaller than large resorts, if there happens to be a large group staying here, it can get loud/rowdy. We've only experienced this once in our 10 years staying at Kahana. There are also palmetto bugs at the resort (scary looking but harmless) - which is normal given the tropical atmosphere. They feed the hundreds of geckos that live on the resort....our kids have grown up "hunting" for geckos at night with flashlights, and finding them hanging out on the green plants during the day.

But - the size of the resort, the amenities, the beach, the quality of the condos themselves, and the people keep us coming back year after year. It's hard to find such nice accommodations SO close to the beach. All condos are within a 1 minute walk to the beach.

Kahana Sunset has truly become our home away from home as we escape from the Minneapolis winters!

Room Tip: Ask to make sure your condo has been renovated - some have A/C units if desired (most don't).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

No Airconditions!
Bugs and cockcroaches in the kitchen!
Broken Glass window!
Rude Residents!
no laundry soap which in the contract initial is provided but theres nothing in there.
Quiet time starts at 6pm because of the residents who keep complaining if you re noisy.
soda vendo machine is not working but they never put sign that its out of order.


only good in here the filipino caretaker were helpful and nice.

definitely will never come back in this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digzz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSRPManagement, Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha!

We are so sorry to learn of your disappointment with Kahana Sunset for your family's vacation. From your description, there seems to be a lot of inconveniences that went unaddressed. Both major rental companies have staff that could have helped with all these issues. Their phone numbers are listed on all your paperwork and in each unit.

Both companies have maintenance staff available daily to make repairs should something not be working upon arrival or if something breaks during your stay. The tropical bugs that call Maui home are a constant battle. The AOAO has a regular spraying schedule that can get disrupted if there are guests who don't want service during their stay. We are sorry some of these locals found there way into your unit.

I am fairly certain that all rental contracts list the amenities included with the unit reserved. Only a few owners have installed AC. Most feel comfortable with the trade winds, ceiling fans and additional fans in warmer months. As some previous guests have cautioned, if AC is crucial to your vacation enjoyment, it is imperative you confirm it's part of your booking agreement.

As to the quiet time restrictions, we agree this rule seems restrictive. We will be asking the ownership to review this rule at the upcoming annual meeting. The 9:00 PM closing is for the benefit of all guests and is a fairly standard closing time for island rental complexes. We will also be adding the pool operating hours to our contracts so guests can be informed prior to arrival.

Again, I am sorry your vacation was less than expected. Our goal is to help all our guests with whatever issues that may arise during their stay.

Mahalo!

Kahana Sunset Rental Program Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If u want to enjoy your vacation definitely not in this place.. Quiet time will start at 6pm. Pool will close by 9pm. Residents can't even understand we were also on vacation they complain coz we were noisy. We occupied 2 units D2 and D3 with 6 kids so what do u expect from the kids? The worst is NO AIRCONDITION.... Just wondering how these senior citizens like to stay here... THE WORST VACATION OUR KIDS HAD....KAHANA SUNSET IS FOR DEPRESSED PEOPLE WHO WANTS TO BE ALONE....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from our trip of 10 days. We stayed in the ocean front building A unit 3. The view was perfect! Waking up every morning seeing the ocean, and Molokai in the distance. Never got tired of it! Hearing the waves everyday was so therapeutic! Kept the ceiling fans on 24/7 kept the place cool. Had to close the blinds in the afternoons to keep the sun out. It got hot when we were there. The unit is old and needs upgraded but it didn't bother us at all. Everything we needed was there. All the other units in the same building were at least 200.00 more! It would be nice to have an awning though for sun and rain protection. Some units had them. Our party we were with had a 2 bdrm in building D. The view there was also great and real quit. Walking around the grounds, looking at all the buildings, they all had a great view of the ocean and would stay in any one of them! Used the bbq's and never had to wait for one. The pool was never crowded. Sometimes there would be kids being loud but all you would have to do is walk over to the grass or down to the beach with a lounge chair. Always quiet at night. Pool closes at 9.
I like the fact that there is a gate code to use to get in to the units. You get used to using it and it feels safer. Also on your door has a different code.
The ocean was always calm for swimming and snorkeling. There are a few fish by the rocks and saw turtles everyday. One day I saw 8 turtles sunning them selves on the other side of the rocks in the protective cove! That was so awesome.
Now the only negative thing I have to add is the noisy loud neighbors next to us. The little wooden rails between each unit doesn't give you any privacy. When you are sitting out on your lanai eating, it's awkward to see someone 20 feet from you. Our neighbors had a 4 year old little girl and she would scream, and just be loud the whole time. We could always hear them. Sometimes they would come in late and talk loud, open doors, and slam things around. And in the mornings around 6:30 they would be up dragging furniture little girl screeching, talking loud and disturbing people around them. Some people are just loud period and didn't seem to respect the fact that others are around. After they left, what a difference! You could enjoy your self, and hear the ocean again! You can't control who your neighbors are but most of the people there just want to relax, have some privacy and enjoy the quietness.
Sullivan properties were really good to us. We had a red eye flight and they let us stay in our unit as long as we needed that day because check out time is 11:00am. We took advantage of that and spent all day floating in the ocean, laying out on the lounge chairs, swimming in the pool, and then took our showers and packed. We left our unit around 6:45pm to the airport for the 9:40 flight.
The maintenance workers were there everyday cleaning the pool and stacking the chairs. Very friendly and helpful. I needed to get into one of the units we were sharing with another family to look for something we left behind. It was later in the afternoon after they checked out and one of the workers unlocked it for me and told me to close the door after I was done.
I will definitely stay here again. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Keep screen doors closed to keep out the critters. Bring your own little fan to help you sleep at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just returned from another 3+ week stay at Kahana Sunset. The staff [of the Kahana Sunset Rental Program], the landscape staff AND the housekeepers are all extremely pleasant and more than willing to accommodate all requests, etc. The daily housekeeping service [with rentals from KS Rental Program] is helpful to keep the units tidy, refresh towels, linens, etc. Maui is a 'semi-tropical' area; therefore a bug or two now and then should be expected. The grounds, pool and barbeques are extremely well maintained. The units are all privately owned; therefore decors are different. Most, but not all, have been remodeled. Some, but not all, have AC. We have traveled to Maui many, many times since 1982 and have never needed / wanted AC. The trade wind breezes, plus ceiling fans are sufficient. The surf is close; therefore, surf 'noise' can be heard, BUT should be expected when living next to the ocean. Kahana Sunset is a small resort, and very unlike the large 'plastic-like' feel of the big-name, large resorts. We will return in 2015 [reservation made!] !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAC133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from a eight night stay at Kahana Sunset, where we stayed in Unit E9. We were very happy with our stay and enjoyed this particular condo a lot. This is a two-story, two-bedroom unit, that can accomodate up to seven. There is a master bedroom with a king bed, and another room with a queen and an adjacent single bed. There's also a hide-a-bed in the living room, which is where two kids slept.

For our party, we had two families, with four adults and three kids. Kind of a large-ish party for a condo, but it worked out great. For our situation, you're really only in the condo for some meals and to sleep. After all, it's Maui, where you should be out enjoying the numerous activities (which for us was tons of time at the beach)!

This unit has been updated, and has a nice kitchen. One HUGE feature is that it has a washer and dryer. We grew to appreciate this, as you constantly are changing clothes and using towels. It was very nice to have everything washed for when we packed to leave.

This particular building (the "E" building) is great, because it is terraced-up, and I think has some of the best views. The upper lanai has a excellent view and is great for sitting and enjoying a drink (or two or three!).

The complex has numerous BBQ's, which are all plumbled and covered. We ate outside almost every night, and took advantage of the poolside tables, as well as the common area immediately above the seawall.

The pool is very nice, and well taken care of. Kind of some ridiculous rules, as quiet time starts at 6:00PM. Our kids got busted for playing "Marco Polo." The pool guy actually pointed to the rules board and said, "You can't play Marco Polo. See....it says right here." My friends and I couldn't believe it, so we checked ourselves, and sure enough--it specifically says NO Marco Polo! Too funny.

The beach is GREAT, as it's pretty-much private. The kids played everyday there, and the waves never got too big. Snorkeling is OK, but not great. PLENTY of turtles though! Say three HUGE ones on the day before we left.

It should be noted that the seawall just north of the beach was damaged by a storm two years ago (so I was told). It is still damged, and part of it is cordoned-off. In talking to the HOA president (who's name was "Bob"), he indicated that the process to repair/rebuild the seawall is a long process, as there are numerous hoops to jump through with Maui County (since it's a critical area next to the ocean). If all goes according to plan the entire courtyard area will be trenched-out during THIS SUMMER, so that a new 36" drainage pipe can be ran towards the seawall. Then the seawall will be rebuilt, however the plan calls for it to be pushed back a bit, which will result in more useable beach area (again--according to the HOA president). With this as the current plan, I would discourage anyone from visiting during this time. I would seriously check to see what the current status of this project is before booking. Once the project is done, it should be a marked improvement to the complex.

Again, all-in-all, a great stay at the Kahana Sunset. And again, do your research and make sure the unit you're interested in is updated. Builidng "E" is great, and E9 was very nice!

Room Tip: Building E is great! Do your homework though on which unit to rent, as all are not equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.8 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#8 of 41 in Lahaina
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Polynesian Shores
Polynesian Shores
#9 of 41 in Lahaina
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
1.5 mi away
Mahina Surf
Mahina Surf
#6 of 41 in Lahaina
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Property: Kahana Sunset
Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing