We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay at Lahaina Shores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay at Lahaina Shores”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We just got back from a week-long stay at Lahaina Shores, and we loved every moment of our stay!!

We can't speak to the hotel room portion of the resort, as we rented one of the available condos (Room 403 through Katherine Hart -- also highly recommended!), but the grounds and the location were just perfect for us. Though it seems most people stay on Kaanapali Beach and the other main resort areas of Maui, we loved being just a short 10 min walk to bustling Downtown Lahaina, where we had lots of shops, restaurants, art galleries, and some night life to choose from. (I think we would have gotten quite bored staying in a resort area where all you have is the beach and limited shopping.) Having said that, Lahaina Shores is also really quite close to Kaanapali Beach -- only about a 10 min drive. (In fact, we missed the turn a couple times because we thought it was further than it actually was.) And it was incredibly easy to get around the island, so driving wasn't an issue.

The resort itself sits in front of a nice beach, which we walked every morning, and is located right next door to the Shops at 505, which are undergoing a renovation and are going to look great when they are done! Though we didn't spend any time swimming or laying on this beach, we did see a lot of swimmers, paddle boarders, and snorkelers here.

The lobby of the resort is also beautiful, with huge doors that open up wide to let the sea breeze in and a great view of the beach and harbor. In fact, the views from our lanai on the fourth floor were absolutely perfect. I don't think you could go wrong with the views from any room on the ocean side of the resort, and I highly recommend spending the extra money for an ocean-view room! Twice during our stay we watched cruise ships come and go from the nearby harbor, not to mention many other boats!

The pool area was also great, but I'm sad we never got a chance to use the hot tub (it was too warm most of our stay for a hot tub!). And there were a ton of lounge chairs set up in the grassy area surrounding the pool. We also used the gas grills twice for lunch, which we found highly convenient since it can get expensive eating every meal out in Hawaii. Another thing we liked is that this hotel isn't geared specifically to families (though I certainly wouldn't hesitate to bring kids here), so there weren't tons of kids running around, which meant our stay was quite peaceful.

We appreciated the bulletins in the elevators that talked about what was happening at the resort and around the area. We also got a lot of use out of the concierge desk, which I believe is run by an Expedia representative. On the first morning of your stay, you can go to an informational session and hear all about the different activities you can do on Maui. This was super helpful for us, because we didn't have any excursions or activities lined up prior, and we got to make use of some great discounts provided to us through the concierge. Also, by going to the morning session, you are entered in a drawing to win a free activity of some kind. Well, there were only two groups at our morning session, so our chances of winning were great! Though the other couple won the drawing (which was a free luau), they turned it down and were kind enough to gave it to us since they were already going to a luau.

If you're considering Lahaina Shores, I would say this is a fantastic place to stay in Maui - it's clean, comfortable, and beautiful, with fantastic views and in a great location. This was our first time in Maui, but we plan on going back many times, and I would definitely stay at Lahaina Shores again!

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side for amazing views of the harbor, and book through Katherine Hart, anythingonm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    411
    99
    33
    22
See reviews for
164
684
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I always love to visit spots that are surrounded by mountain and rivers. I have explored many such places and among them my favorite is Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. Beautiful things surrounding the exterior of the building and wonderful ambiance provided inside the resort, was all amazing. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The bathroom facilities clean and well stocked with things I needed. All the staff members are exceptional and great at their services. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My son and I recently returned from a weeks vacation during spring break in Maui. We stayed at the Lahaina Beach Resorts that was booked for us by Tommy from Blue Hawaii vacation resorts. We had an amazing time. The employees at the Lahaina Shores Resort were SO nice and so very accomodating. It was one of the best places that I have ever stayed and my son had the best time. My overall experience here is a 10++ and I will definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here this past winter for a week in January and one in February. The hotel is right on the beach front and looks out to Molokini (so unfortunately no views of the sun setting into the water). But you fall asleep listening to the sound of the surf breaking on the shore a little way from your lanai.

This is not a five star hotel, but I don't really want to stay in one. All the "high" end hotels were a car drive away from the downtown and the harbor. This hotel was clean and comfortable with all the amenities we needed (even a washer and drier one floor up). The staff was friendly and helpful. We could walk everywhere and we did, from the banyan tree market to boating adventures to shopping. We could enjoy a meal and a couple of drinks and never have to worry about getting in a car.

This time of the year we saw lot and lots of whales. The females come to that region to give birth and to breed and it's beyond amazing. Be aware that while the swimming off the hotel isn't very good (a lot of rocks), you can drive down the road, headed south, and there are all sorts of places to pull off and swim and snorkel. Some have toilets, some not,. But all looked to be free.

I recommend this hotel as great vales for your dollar and wonderful access to the things you want to do.

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side - at leat one or two floors up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanusKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Lahaina Shores hotel in March of 2013... we picked this hotel because of its location, you are minutes away by foot to all Lahaina has to offer which was what we were looking for. The hotel is older, but we had one of the Premier Ocean Front suites which was nice. The pictures on line led us to believe that the room would be larger, but it was very clean, and in very good condition. The full kitchen was definitely a bonus! The pool is very small and because of this was often full of kids, which made it not as much fun for my boyfriend and I. It does have a large grassy area with lawn chairs to enjoy. When we originally looked into this hotel, we called the hotel directly and were given one price, we then phoned Tommy at Blue Hawaii and saved a $1,000 on our booking!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeNeeRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, IN
Level Contributor
158 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the oceanfront condos in Lahaina Shores Beach Resort in Maui. We stayed there 2 different times. The condos are simple/basic, but very clean with daily maid service. The washer and dryer was also very convenient. The ocean views were wonderful. It is within walking distance for all the shops and restaurants in Lahaina, which made it very convenient as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an oceanfront condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieNChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Be aware that these units are individually owned and each unit is different. All units managed by Lahaina Shores resort. We stayed in 509.

Review of Unit 509-
It was wonderful! Premier Oceanfront 1 BR studio- tastefully decorated, comfortable King bed, modern amenities (i.e. stainless steel; marble counters), giant sliding glass door, wonderful balcony with amazing views- we spent many hours there. The kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. A/C worked great. Nice TV w/cable, dvd player but we didn't even turn on the TV most days. When we booked, Premier units also included free wi-fi, free parking (in the garage next door). Beautiful views of the beach, ocean and Lanai. The unit itself is extremely sound proof. I never heard other guests, housekeepers or outside noise when the slidingdoor was closed.

Review of the Resort/Property-
Our first impression of this property immediately made us forget our exhausting 15 hour flight. We were greeted with the ocean breeze in a large open air lobby with unobstructed views of the lawn, beach, pool, water. Daily housekeeping service was provided. There is a pool and a hot tub. Beach towels are provided. The grounds are immaculate and bordered with beautiful blooming flowers. Plenty of chairs for use on the lawn (bring your own chair or grab a cheap one if you want to sit on the beach); a few dining tables around the pool; a grill for communal use. The beach is small but not crowded and although a bit rocky w/coral- it's nice for getting wet and even some snorkeling if the tide is right. Coin operated laundry- $2.50 per load I think; the dryer was slow so plan accordingly (the front desk has quarters and detergent for sale). Recycle bins are located by the washer/dryer. There is a concierge on site. If you book a Premier unit, you are given a complimentary LS beach bag- nice touch.

It was very convenient to restaurants, bars, shopping, the marina. 5-20 minute walk depending on where we were going 'downtown' area of Lahaina- depending on where you were going. There is a private gate to walk directly to the 505 shops for restaurants and the General Store (which has all the basics). From the balcony, we could hear the Feast at Lele Luau on most nights but it ends around 9pm.

My only suggestion for improvement to 509: have more hooks or bars in the bathroom to hang wet towels or bathing suits. They are an 'eco' property- they say that if you hang a towel, it means you will re-use it, but there is only the one towel bar. The location of the recycle bins should also be posted in each room- I had to ask where they were- just trying to do our part, as we had beer bottles, wine bottles, milk jugs, Coke cans, etc.

After staying on Maui for 9 days and visiting some other areas, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Unlike many large resorts, we were so close to the water that we watched whales from our balcony! I can't wait to return to Lahaina Shores & Unit 509!

Room Tip: Spend a little more for ocean view! Unit 509 was great! Higher floors have less 'kids in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
9.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.0 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing