We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
141 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

A perfect spot for someone that doesn't want to rent a car. Get a premier room (has been updated) and on the ocean side. From your lanai you can see, smell, and hear the surf. Use the convenience store around the corner to get some supplies (fruit, cheese, wine, etc.). Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. I'm not a swimmer, but enjoyed nightly walks on the beach.

Take some time and recharge your spirit, get away from winter's cold, and take in some beautiful country.

Room Tip: Oceanside more scenic than mountainside. Costs more, but a good idea if you plan to spend a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    418
    100
    35
    22
See reviews for
167
703
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel is just outside, 2 blocks walking distance, from Lahaina shopping and restaurant area - this is good since you avoid the hustle bustle but still convenient to get to the center of town.

The jacuzzi is small and can get overcrowded for half hour but the water temperature is warm even in January.

Water facing rooms are preferable and you can hear the sound of the waves. The rooms are large...maybe a bit old fashioned but if you are using the room only to sleep and are out most of the day, the overall price and water facing location make up for it.

There is a kitchenette in the room which makes it convenient for small snacks, breakfast meals.

Sunset is disappointing - once is Ok since the sun disappears behind the mountain at least 15 minutes prior to sunsets viewed from other beaches such as Kihei.

Sporting activities such as kayaking are closeby.

Hawaii's biggest Banyan tree is walking distance - many art studios are closeby including one by Australian photographer Peter Lik which is worth spending time at.

All the other popular beaches are about 20 minutes away so if you have a car and do not want to pay high lodging fees, this is a perfect location to 'park' yourself and spend the rest of the time outdoors. Evenings many places are 'dead' but not at Lahaina so a lot depends on the type of vacation you are planning to have.

Parking - depends on how young you are - try to get one on the main deck - you will probably be told that it is full and you have to park the car in a nearby adjoining garage and then try every morning if there is a vacancy on the main deck. If you are young, this adjoining car park is fine. If you are not that young, it is a bit of a pain lugging small groceries from the car to the hotel especially if you have had a long day outdoors.

Room Tip: Sea facing. Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJCricketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My dream was to have a room with a lanai over looking the water, with the sound of the waves, and get to take sunrise/sunset pics with palm trees, and my dream came true! I got a condo on the 6th fl and I was in heaven! All I wanted to do was sit on my lanai, eat my meals there, read, watch people, take pics, hear the waves, and that's what I did, it was the best vacation! I also loved that the beach wasn't very crowded, took lovely walks every morning.

Room Tip: There is no room service, I accidentally touched the button & can't remove it. Higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krperry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here tremendously. The folks at the front desk were always helpful and made us feel welcome right up to the last hour of our vacation giving us a place to stash our luggage after checking out and a room to take a shower, change and regroup before our flight home. We could walk into town for dinner in the evenings. The room was clean and had a little kitchenette....coffee tastes good in the morning sitting on the balcony over looking the ocean. Really felt like we found a special place maybe because we weren't overrun with people, it's a smallish hotel. The price was right too. Not a fancy place either but it was 'just right' for us.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor or higher and upgrade to an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Me and my wife just spent a week at Lahaina Shores for our 25th anniversary and just loved it. The staff at the front desk and cleaning staff were great. The location is terrific, just a short walk to anything you could want. They even gave us a room to use after we checked out because we had a late flight out. All the people we met that either lived there or were vacationing there were great and very friendly. The room was good, not a palace but had everthing we needed and was clean, you don't spend a lot of time in your room when your in Hawaii. Parking was no problem, $8.00 a day is cheap.
Looking forward to going back already.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 15Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The best thing about this place is the location, which is why I chose it after much research. It was very nice to walk into town for shopping, happy hour, boat excursions, breakfast. We had a mountain view room, which I did not think was good value for the money. This is an expensive place and you did not know you were next to the water until you left your room. I asked for an updated room and we did have a very comfortable bed. The first day they offer a free continental breakfast and overview of the island. This is to get you pay for excursions, which we did get a good deal on the whale watch. The breakfast is coffee, pineapple and bite sized pastries. The hotel did not have a resort feel to me because at least half of it is condo that people live in year round. These folks have there routine of meeting in the tiny hot tub every noc, and the pool area/deck was closed one evening for an owners event. Housekeeping was outstanding. The front desk attended to needs, but were not friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, mountain view. Was quiet with the door closed to the deck. Emailed and cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I were in Lahaina doing some last minute sightseeing and shopping for souvenirs when we got notice that our flight back home later that day had been cancelled. We had to scramble for a room for 2 extra nights. We drove up to this resort and luckily they did have a room available - an oceanfront studio efficiency. The view from the room was spectacular - beach, ocean, sailboats, mountains - and Whales! The room itself was nice, although were were initially put off by the Murphy Bed (some of the rooms have this, others don't) - but it was actually very comfortable. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping were very nice and extremely helpful. On the day we finally left Maui they provided a Hospitality room after we checked out so that we could use the facilities for the day and shower up before our late evening flight. We highly recommend the Lahaina Shores!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an oceanfront room, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing