We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence of Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We had a great stay at the Aston Mahana. We got upgraded to a one bedroom fully updated suite w granie countertops and clean appliances. The room really was pleasant and welcoming but the star of the place is def the view. It felt as though you were standing on top of the ocean, it was breathtakin and def the highlight of every morning to wake up to blue waves nd fall asleep every night to the crashing waves. The room also came with a washer and dryer that def helped us out. Garret, was th most helpful and pleasant employee and really helped us map out our days. The hot tub was small but pleasant however the pool was okay. There are bbq grills there if you want to grill by the sunset. The beach, pool and spa were fabulous places to watch the sunset. The mahana was centrally located, we spent nights in lahaina which was a 10 min easy drive and also drove out to hana so would def recommend it. We stayed at the marriot in kauai after but still have fond memories of the aston as it was more personable and charming.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJOHN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Me and my husband stayed 6 nights in mid-November and we wished we could of stayed longer and still talk about our great stay. We got in after dark and received a free upgrad from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite on the top floor (1212) due to no more studios were available. View and whole area is just awesome. We felt that staying in this room was like living a luxurious lifestyle. The room did have was equipped with enough to survive. Cleaning was missed one day but not a big deal--our room was more of a home-base, not someplace we hung out in for any extended period except coffee and breakfast in the morning. We were happy to attend orientation in the morning and have breakfast provided since we did not have a chance to get groceries the night before. We booked several activities with Susan, the Concierge. We read lots of great comments on how great she is and yes, she is really good at what she does. We rented snorkeling gear and drove around the island to visit the sites that were most recommended. Believe it or not, the coral in front of the Mahana was the best. We saw lots of turtles from our balcony and several while snorkeling in front of Condo. You do have to walk down the beach to get in the water but the reef goes out for a long way. AND it wasn't crowded. The pool and hot tub looked nice but why swim or sunbath when there is the ocean and nice beaches around so we did not use. We went with Dukes next door and it was nice. Happy hour is recommended. We went to the Maui Brewery to watch football and taste the local brews. Drove the road almost to Hana to view the great waterfalls. I did a lot of research on this condo, surrounding areas, and all of our expectations were exceeded. Totally recommend this place if you are aware that no restaurant is on site. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hclews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

WOW! ALL of the Mahana's units have an ocean-FRONT view (not just a view of ocean). We walked into unit #914 and were in awe! Floor-to-ceiling windows presented a breathtaking view of the ocean and the islands of Lanai & Molokai. The unit is furnished with beautiful and comfortable Hawaiian decor. The combined Aston- and owner-provided amenities availed us of every convenience we could have wished for. There was even a rice cooker which we appreciated; we enjoy steamed rice and don't usualy find this amenity in a condo.
We spent a lot of time on the our 9th-floor lanai whale watching, drinking Mai Tais at sunset, and having many meals there too. Few restaurants offer a view as magnificant and there's no better place to watch the majestic sunsets than right from your own lanai!
We went to sleep each night to the sound of the ocean waves. Sooooo, relaxing!
We appreciated the BBQs at two locations and used them often.....and we were pleased to note they were kept immaculately clean every day by staff.
The pool and spa are not huge like those at some resorts, but they are wonderful. Other guests at the pool were respectful -- not noisy or unruly. Our pool experience was a relaxing one.
There is coral off the beach directly in front of the resort, but a 2-minute walk down the beach affords great swimming and snorkling opportunities.
Expedia's Conceirge, Susan, was extremely knowledgeable about Maui's activities and helped arrange all the adventures and fun we wanted for a memorable Hawaiian vacation.
The Aston front desk staff were all friendly, efficient, and available 24/7.
This extraordinary, intimate and comfortable resort is perfect for couples.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a Premium Room you are guaranteed you will be staying in a remodeled unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1mreeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I just spent 8 days at the Aston Mahana at kaanapali and had an amazingly wonderful time. Received a FREE UPGRADE from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite. Could not believe how beautiful the decor was. Nice and clean. Courteous staff all around. A little hard to find but a real treasure. DO NOT HESITATE to book a room here. Great amenities. Excellent location.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Upper floors have better views, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamInCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We had a one room suite on an upper floor. Very nice rooms and furnishings. Spectacular view. The full kitchen was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hisblondiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Overall, nice view, decent service, but cleanliness of rooms not great. And we are not fussy people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is good in general. Here are 2 tips:

- Priceline falsely advertises a room-type for this hotel with the lowest price. The 2nd room type is called 'studio ocean front' which costs more. This gives an impression that the 1st room-type is not ocean front, and so people pay more for the ocean front view.

When we went to the hotel, they told us that priceline fooled us because *ALL* rooms are ocean front. So be aware of how priceline fools its customers and select the 1st option while booking this (and potentially other) hotels.

- The rooms are privately owned. They have a policy that if the owner comes, you get booted out. That's what happened with us. We were assigned a room on the 5th floor, and we did not specifically ask for a room on higher floors when we booked through priceline (there was no such option available). So when we arrived, we came to know that the owner of room 502 has booted us out, and the only 1 room available is 103 on the 1st floor with a lesser ocean view due to the hedge. It also had lower quality bed and furniture.

So basically - call up the hotel in advance and make sure they reserve the room (or room type) you want.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shashikant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £223 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing