We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Room, Awesome View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Room, Awesome View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We had booked a package through Travelocity, and upgraded to a premium studio! We were on the 8th floor and the view is just amazing! Falling asleep and waking up to the ocean waves was so relaxing! I think this resort condo is the only resort that has ALL oceanfront rooms around Maui! They all have balconies too! I'm glad we booked this! I will def come back to this resort! We had a full kitchen with dishes, pots/pans, utensils, and washer/dryer in the unit as well! The room had absolutely everything we needed for the week we stayed! Stores are few minutes away, and a rental car is highly recommended, we barely used a half tank of gas in 6 days! The beach is a few steps away, but rocky in some areas, so be careful! There is a $10 a night amenity fee which includes parking, wifi, video games/movies, coffee/tea, newspaper, in-room safe, laundry detergent, a few sports, and 10% off the restaurant next door since this resort doesn't have one! This trip was well worth every penny! I wish to go back soon! =)

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    474
    95
    50
    11
See reviews for
431
1,026
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I've stayed here 2x and the staff ensured that I had a room that I was satisfied with both times. I think the first night the correct room I wanted wasn't available but I was quickly switched to a higher floor the next day and everything was peachy. This isn't Honolulu so you want to make sure you get a nice room, especially if you're going to be spending some time in there. The higher you are, the better the ocean looks (the sun's reflection makes it a nice light blue).

If you are on a budget but are hesitant about staying here because of the pictures on Tripadvisor, book it. And I place a high importance on the cleanliness of rooms, modern looks, etc etc but you get over it once you're here. You also have to factor in the ocean view which supercedes everything else.

There are certainly nicer hotels (like the Four Seasons), but this is the best VALUE. Also, like so many have already said, you are practically 'floating' on the water and that is an experience you must try.

Side note: My favorite places to eat in Maui were Swans (get the filet), I'O, Pacific O' (really really good lunch specials), David Michaels, and the Flatbread Pizza Co).

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank HawaiiLover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked through Costco Travel and did not know what to expect when we arrived. We got the 1 bedroom, 2 bath unit. We were pleasantly surprised to get a condo on the 12th floor and it had been updated as well. The condo was comfortable, in a good location, had updated furnishings and ocean front. What more could you ask for??? There was also ample free parking and there are stores and restaurants nearby. They have a beautiful pool and it was not crowded when we went in but it was very windy while we were there so we did not stay at the pool as much as we would have liked. We enjoyed the boardwalk and used it to walk to Whaler's Village one day. We walked on the beach and it was nice but there was a lot of coral in front of the resort so we had to walk further down to get into the water. We really enjoyed using the grilling area down by the pool. We bought steaks and grilled two nights while there. They have a wonderful setup for that type of thing. We saw beautiful sunsets from our condo. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Arrive last night 9/20/2012 in the dark. Still not hard to find. Love this place. Love the room. Love the view. What is there not to like??? So far nothing!!! Let you know more at the end of the week....

Room Tip: We took a premium studio ... Nothing to not like about it. Room 1212 on the top. Can hear the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbmathison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having stayed in many neighboring properties on Maui's west side we can say that for condo style rooms the Mahana units are superior to all the rest. One of the few structures built before setback ordinances were imposed the Mahana sits right on the beach. Every unit faces the wonderful view of Lanai and Molokai and a walk on the beach is a few steps away. Parking is ample for those with a car and frequent bus service means you can forgo the car if you stay local.
There is a grocery store within a one minute drive and is easily walkable if you don't carry too many bags. We have stayed at the Mahana over a dozen times and have never been disappointed with the rooms regardless of the floor though the higher the floor the better the view. Rooms are always clean and well-appointed though quality will vary. Choosing a "premium room" on the Mahana website will ensure a very nice unit. We highly recommend the Mahana for an enjoyable stay in Ka'anapali.

Room Tip: Aim for the higher floors and for a couple the 1 bedroom two bath is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were extremely happy with the vacation rental of a 1BR condo at the Mahana at Kaanapali. The first thing you will note is the beautiful view from the condo. We were located on the third floor. We rented through a travel agency. Upon learning that we on the third floor, we were disappointed. However, in seeing the condo we very happy with it! The view, even from the third floor was amazing. The buildings are practically right on the beach and run parallel to the water. There is no craning of the neck to see the water like you sometimes get with an “ocean view” condo. You have unrestricted views of the ocean, and of Moloka’i and Lana’i islands. Absolutely beautiful!

Our condo is managed by Aston. We were told that all units are owned by individuals and not all are managed by Aston. Our unit had been updated with granite countertops, etc and was nicely furnished. With floor to ceiling glass along the front exposure you could enjoy wonderful views from the living area and bedroom. Not all units are updated and they offer different categories. So if you want updated amenities ask for them when you book.

The location on the island is great. You will enjoy being located a short drive from Lahaina. The have a wonderful boardwalk on the property that you can walk on for about 3 miles but don’t try to walk to Lahaina. You run out of area to walk. You are also close to restaurants, grocery stores, and other shopping.

Other great things about the Mahan include the very friendly and helpful staff. The gas grills on the property were very nice. They had an on site concierge that was very helpful in booking tours. The Pacific Whale Foundation snorkeling, Road to Hana and the zip line tours were all fantastic. Warning: it seems customary on the island to be offered a time share presentation in Lahaina in return for tour discounts. It was worth it to us because of big savings on our tours but we don’t have a problem with saying no with a smile to the time share presenters.

Our favorite restaurants on the island: Mama’s east of Paia was amazing. Pricey, even for lunch, but the food was excellent and the setting spectacular. Honu Seafood in Lahaina has great fish and sunset views. Leoda’s just outside Lahaina – great pie. Kamoda Bakery in Makawao – great cream filled long johns. Didn’t get to eat there but Mick Fleetwood has a new restaurant in Lahaina.

Get the right unit and you are likely to have a great vacation stay! Enjoy!

Room Tip: They have different levels of quality based on when the particular unit was updated. I think our un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAO5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Since I booked my room through priceline, I was skeptical on what Unit I will be assigned at the time of check-in. I didn't want to stay in the room on lower levels due to noice and lack of privacy. I called up Aston property front desk and made a request for a unit on higher level (6th floor and above). They gladly accepted my request. I was planning to cook, so I requested for a premium room. I was upgraded to One bedroom without any upgrade fee. I guess they are out of Studio rooms on that day. I am quite pleased with the way the room was maintained. The room was neat and the kitchen applicances looked new. Be advised that you need to pay a $10 resort fee per day. It was totally acceptable with the level of service they provided. Daily room service, newspaper, and free 2 dvds for rent.

The location of this hotel is a big plus. It is a quite place away from the rusn from the hotels in Kaanapali and very close to some nice beaches (Kaplua, Napili). Time supermarket is just across the street and is open till 2 am.

I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Choose a premium room if you want latest kitchen appliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid0682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing