We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston Mahana - Unit 819”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Aston Mahana - Unit 819”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Aside from being located in what is considered to be the best "stack" of the entire buidling, due to its units' front and side spectacular views. (It is a corner unit with front facing ocean and side facing beach/resort.) This unit is beautifully decorated with high end contemporary furniture with a "zen" twist. The kitchen is a tad dated but it is extremely clean, functional and have all the amenities needed. There is also plenty of parking for free.

The buidling is oceanfront and this unit has a breathtaking view which could be described as a "live" painting. You can watch the Green Sea Turtles swimming leisurely in the ocean without ever leaving the unit. Aside from the extremely comfortable bed in the master bedroom, you can easily be lulled to sleep by the calming sounds of the waves.

All the neccessities you need for your stay are generously provided. Immediate access to a 2 miles clean and soft sandy beach is direct from the building. There is a concierge desk that can provide recommendations for popular activies and great restaurants. It is also located in a beautiful and safe resort area with other highly ranked condos/timeshare/hotels.

We booked direct through vrbo.com (#6798955), Kathy Sheenan was easy and a pleasure to deal with.

I would highly recommend looking into this rental for anyone who is looking to stay in Kaanapali area of Maui.

Room Tip: Look for corner units ocean front. Units including "19" is apparently has the best corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views provided from every unit here, Aston managed or not. On each floor in both towers, Molokai and Lanai, the end units are the two bedroom two bath units. In between are located all of the studio and one bedroom units.
The common theme at this property for every single unit is spectacular oceanfront view and every unit also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer as well.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    479
    99
    50
    12
See reviews for
439
1,052
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Aston Mahana in July 2013. The experience overall was fantastic. We had a pretty standard room on the 4th floor and although people recommend getting a higher floor (we tried but apparently they were booked out) we were very happy with the view we had. The palm trees were actually at a good height for getting photos of the palm trees against the sunset.
The location is fantastic. We brought our own snorkel gear and one of our best experiences of the trip was snorkeling straight out from the hotel. On our way back we (almost literally) ran into a very big sea turtle. It was feeding along the shore, about 5m out and we had a great time drifting along with it and getting some fantastic photos & video on our GoPro. The snorkeling along that whole beach is brilliant. We saw other smaller turtles and a reef shark, also. We did scuba diving this trip, too, but check out In2Scuba, Maui, for that review ;)
The hotel doesn't have much in the way of facilities, but is close to a shopping center and we usually prefer to eat away from the Hotel anyway.
The room itself we very well-equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities, a nice bed and balcony and, of course, great view. The bathroom was fairly dated and I'm not too keen on shower curtains, but for the price I was definitely happy.
I'd recommend Duke's Beach House restaurant just down the beachwalk from the Hotel, too - good food & a great time watching the sunset over dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for coming to visit us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali all the way from Australia. We're thrilled to hear that you found our oceanfront location steps away from northern Kaanapali beach to have been fantastic and of course that you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views afforded from every unit here, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom and no matter what floor you're on.
While you are correct that we don't feature an on-site restaurant we do have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit along with the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi deck and a coffe cart in the lobby open from 7 to 5 where you can get coffee, smoothies and assorted food items.
We are also a short walk or drive away from many shopping and dining options.

The entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali hopes to host you again the next time you venture across the Pacific.

Mahalo and G'day, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a one bedroom condo on the 8th floor and it was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The view from the lanai was absolutely paradise. We could see the islands of Molakai and Lanai with beautiful sunsets everyday. They provided coffee and a local newspaper everyday. The property was well maintained and we also enjoyed the snack bar by the pool. I liked the location because we were close to restaurants,grocery stores and the beach walk. I would definitely return to this property. All rooms are waterfront and have fantastic views...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtteach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your description of the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali as a beautiful property. Both the owners and the staff here appreciate that and work very hard to make sure all our guests' expectations are exceeded and they have a comfortable stay.
Our oceanfront location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach of course does give us the advantage of being able to provide absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every single unit here at the Mahana. From the private lanai or the floor to ceiling windows in every studio, one bedroom or two bedroom unit here, all with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer, our guests are able to see various marine life, colorful rainbows and beautiful sunsets with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. Paradise as you described it.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Mahana is one the most quite and relaxing properties we have ever stayed at. We had a direct ocean front 1 bedroom unit and it was furnished with very nice comfortable updated furniture and a great kin size bed. Outstanding views from the living room floor to ceiling windows and bedroom patio area. Super clean and a wonderful friendly staff. We will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we're thrilled to hear that our wonderful and friendly staff was able to exceed your expectations and along with the super clean unit allow you to have a super relaxing time.
Our second to none oceanfront location steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach does allow us to provide absolutely spectacular views from every unit here of various marine life, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit here also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience and the pool/jacuzzi deck has complimentary gas grills as well.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali make it a goal to exceed the expectations of all our guests and we definitely hope you can return again soon for another relaxing stay here.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at Aston because its location. It is an older hotel and each room is deccorated in a different fashion because of its owner. Although we didn t request we got a balcony facing the occean which was really cool. Every morning we would witness whales, rainbows and dolphins during our breakfast.
The only bad thing ablout the room, was that the bedroom would face the hotel hall and we could hear people passing by. It was hard to sleep well, which was worsened by the jetlag we were experienced.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide us your feedback although I'm not quite sure if you stayed at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. While it is true that every single unit here has it's own private lanai and is oceanfront, it is also true that the bedroom in all of our units, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom (master) is on the oceanfront side of the property. In the two bedroom units the second bedroom has a beautiful mountain view but in no case are any of the bedrooms at this property on the hallway side of the unit.
In any event all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy to hear that you had a great trip.
We do hope you can join us here one day so the entire staff can show you the Aloha Spirit and exceed all of your expectations.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was our first stay here and we truly enjoyed every bit of it. We were in a Ocean front unit at the 12th floor( topmost). We stayed in this property for 4 nights. All the rooms here are Condos with fully furnished kitchen and laundry.The ocean view from the patio is breathtaking. I bet you will just sit outside the room in the patio and spend time leisurely watching at the waves and the sunset. The best part of this property is that it is on the beach. You can just walk the beach and come and relax back in your room or just sit outside. We had a very sound sleep at night and in the morning went for a walk to nearby resorts on the beach.
Cons-
1. The only thing which I felt was not up to my expectation was their swimming pool and hot tub. The pool was not big enough and the hot tub can accommodate maximum 4-5 people at a time. 2. There were no restaurants inside.
3. There were not sufficient lights outside near the pool area. It was pretty small area compared to other 4 star resorts.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms should always be booked. Its all worth the money you spend. Higher the floor, bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your stay here on the beautiful island of Maui. As you mentioned, every single unit here is oceanfront providing breathtaking views of rainbows, abundant marine life and the spectacular sunsets appearing right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Our property location gives all of our guests a relaxing experience and we don't hope to achieve the large crowded atmosphere of some of the resorts however our pool/jacuzzi deck is very comfortable and also features complimentary gas grills for our guest's use. We also have a coffee cart which is open from 7 - 5 where they feature various drink and light meal specials plus of course the fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit here whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom.
Our oceanfront location though is within a short walk or drive from many other shopping or dining locations should our guests have the urge.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to you coming back to join us again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our first visit to the Aston Mahana, and it definitely won't be our last. We had a one bedroom/one bath premium condo that was beautifully decorated and ideally located on the 4th floor. Our unit had been completed remodeled and felt very comfortable. At night, we were able to go to sleep listening to the ocean waves hit the beach. In the morning, we took long walks along an extensive beach that passed by other condos and hotels. The housekeeping staff was outstanding and kept the condo spotless. Even though many of the units were occupied, we never felt overwhelmed by crowds like we would have felt staying in a hotel. I can't say enough good things about this place, except I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but I do recommend asking for a premium unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasLady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to post you comments here on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great time and both recommend us to all of the readers here but also that you'll be coming back to see us again. We're also very proud to hear that our housekeeping staff did and outstanding job as it's the goal of the entire Aston staff here to exceed all of our guest's expectations. Our owners also take great pride in the condition of their units, making sure they are comfortable and tasteful for all of our guests.
As you found out our second to none oceanfront location here steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach allows all of our guests to have a nice relaxing stay and the fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in all of our units are very convenient and cost saving.

We very much look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing