We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Aston Mahana offers an incredible view of the ocean from every suite. It is set right on the oceanfront with a lovely pool and within walking distance to a small mall. Not all the rooms are super modern but they are cozy and clean. Excellent snorkelling out front and you can go swimming on either side of the beach right out front (less coral). It's a quieter place and doesn't have the foot path right out front.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrstina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Good points:

- Stunning ocean views from all rooms. I had a lovely balcony too
- Beautifully designed and presented hotel and rooms. Very clean and modern
- great hotel and room facilites - beach access, swimming pool, hot tub, BBQ, gardens, cafe. Cable TV, playstation, CD player, washing machine and dryer, fully stocked kitchen
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Lots of tours and activities available that can be organised by the hotel for you
- Close to bus route, a few local shops and restaurants inc. supermarket

Bad points:
- A bit far away from the main Kaanapali beach (for main beach activities)
- Addtional daily amenities charge (for free DVD rental, newspapers, beach towels, laundry powder etc)
- Blinds didn't fully block out the light

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the 4th floor upwards - best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslaSmila_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As you may know, with condo resorts you are taking a chance with a room as each are decorated and updated ( hopefully ) by each owner. We went directly through Aston and not VRBO which unless you know the VRBO unit gives you a better chance of correcting any problem with the room. Our room was great. It had been upgraded and the view was terrific. Been coming to Hawaii for forty plus years and never had a place this close to the ocean. Last year our Kapalua "ocean view" VRBO meant leaning over the side of the deck to see the ocean (where the owner must have taken the picture for the ad). The Aston is a true "ocean front". The day front desk people were very nice and our room was very quiet. Parking was easy and good ocean swimming beaches are right next to the Aston. We had a good time with no problems.

Room Tip: Request highest floor possible for the best view and the nicest room. Agent will put this in the &q...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank billmc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our second long stay at the Mahana and it did not disappoint. From the 11th floor in our standard-rate studio, we could look straight down at the clear ocean and see the turtles grazing by the shoreline, the coral reef and once, a 7 foot white-tipped reef shark passing through. In the morning from our breakfast table on the lanai we got our daily surf and stand-up board show from the early-rising athletes. We could leave the patio door open all night and listen to the surf. We really appreciated the full kitchen and the in-suite washer/dryer. Other advantages: So quiet we never heard another guest, a short beach-walk from Duke's Restaurant where delicious dinners could be had for under $15 from their "casual menu" at the bar overlooking the ocean. Small Irritants: The added $15/day "resort fee" and the fact that we had to wash and dry our own beach towels. BUT, The Maui newspaper said that the 2013 average daily hotel fee in Maui was $278; by that standard, we paid less than average even with the resort fee and got much better than average value. I am a conservative critic; my husband would probably give the Mahana 5 stars.

Room Tip: Every room has a knock-out view of the ocean; the lower floors (below 6th) look thru the palm trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whachmacallit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We (my husband and I) stayed at the Mahana twice this year (April and October) - both times for 2 weeks, and had great stays each time. We were really happy with the condos - the location, quality of furnishings and decor, and of course, the views!

We like how well maintained the complex is, the privacy of the lanais and how quiet the place is in general. Not a lot of families with children stay here (probably more during school holidays). During our October trip, our daughter and her family stayed next door at Honua Kai (they wanted better pools for the children and a swimmable beach out front) ... it was a great combination as we got the views that we love, and it was easy to walk between the two resorts. We don't mind walking an extra few steps to go into the ocean; you can't swim right in front of the Mahana due to rocks/coral close to shore, but there's easy entry at either end of the complex, and great snorkelling about 200 feet out front of the Molokai Tower. The ocean was so warm in October that we didn't use the pool for the entire two weeks, although we've enjoyed it on other trips.

Our stays have been on the 3rd, 6th, 10 and 12th floors and I liked the 3rd and 6th floors the best because I prefer to see more of the beach and closer ocean views from the condo - there is a chance that you'll have some palm trees blocking part of your view on floors up to 6 or 7, but we're OK with them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

As you read this review, keep in mind that I am someone who really expects to enjoy a vacation that I have saved for so long to take. That is why I chose Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. Most reviews on here are fantastic and it truly seemed like the best choice for us. I also read a few reviews that talk about some pretty bad experiences, but I went for it hoping that we would get one of the "good" units. This place has one absolutely fantastic thing going for it, and that is the same thing everyone agrees on: the view. It's as great as many other buildings along Kaanapali Beach and deserves the praise that it gets for that. Other than that, though, I couldn't hate this place more. I want to enjoy it here and I am trying so hard, but the noise around here is mind-numbing. We are in unit 113, which is in the worst spot for foot traffic possible, right at an entry from the lobby and parking lot. There is an automatic door literally 3 feet from the units door that opens no less than hundreds of times per night, and being the light sleeper that I am, I'm waking up almost non stop. On top of that, the walls seem to be very thin. The person or people above us sound like elephants and the chairs constantly screech across the floor. And then there's the water that seems to run very loudly whenever a toilet is flushed somewhere above our unit. Unit doors are constantly slamming. It's very consistent and I will try to get a different unit tomorrow, in hopes of at least avoiding a couple of these issues for the remainder of our stay. If you cherish peace and quiet, I advise you to look elsewhere. I would not stay here again. If I do, I'll be sleeping on the lawn in front of the building.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Aloha and mahalo for having chosen the Mahana for your stay here on Maui. We are sorry you were not happy with your first unit due to it's location but are glad we were able to move you to a different Aston unit here where you were comfortable. Many guests very much enjoy the first floor as they can walk right out onto our beautiful lawn area where they can enjoy the same spectacular oceanfront views enjoyed from everywhere on our property. We very much hope you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer in your unit as every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom features these for our guest's convenience.
We very much enjoy the opportunity to hear the impressions of all our guests, as you mentioned almost all are very positive, but will use any concerns brought up to continually improve our service levels so every guest goes home with unforgettable memories of their time here.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was my first trip to Maui and it was wonderful!!! We chose the Aston Mahana because it was located on the beach and reasonably priced. We were not disappointed! The ocean front views alone made this condo worth it!! Waking up in the morning with the ocean right there (you can see the ocean from your bed as well as marvel at palm trees swaying in the breeze)!! I've travelled a fair bit but I've never been this close to the ocean in my room!! You can hear the waves at night and gaze at the stars...very romantic! The room was equipped with a washer, dryer, and dish washer which made it easy to prepare meals. There are two grocery stores within walking distance so we would stock up on breakfast items and snacks, There are barbeque grills by the pool for those who are interested in grilling their food! The only thing I didn't like about the condo is there is no restaurant or snack machine on site 24 hours. There is a guy who sells hot dogs and burgers along with snacks during the day but we arrived at 12 midnight and there was no where to grab a bite within the hotel. Make sure you check out Duke's, an excellent restaurant at the neigbouring resort!! There's also a beautiful beach walk if you go through the "gate" to access Duke's so check it out!! The rooms are a bit dated but given that you are out all the time, it doesn't really make a big dfference. Parking is included which was great! There is a $15 fee per day if you want newspaper, wifi and coffee/tea combination. Overall, we had a great experience and I am looking forward to visiting another Hawaiian island soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £220 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing