We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still nice even though they are undergoing a long paint job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still nice even though they are undergoing a long paint job”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just got back from yet another stay at the Mahana, our 4th in the past 5 years and we love it still. This year, we booked in December or January, then in March, before our trip in April, we received a notice that construction and painting would be taking place. It worked out, but you should be aware that for the next 8 months or so, painting of the entire exterior is taking place. It didn't really affect our stay except that we had a room on only the 5th floor of the Lanai side with palm trees blocking our view with little chance to really get a better room and view due to the construction/painting going on. Since it was past whale watching season, it was no big deal and they gave us a 1 BR/2BA as an upgrade from the 1BR/1BA we had booked. It was all good and this place with it's location on the far north end of Kaanapali beach is really great for those that like to walk the beach, as we made daily treks down to blackrock and back. I would highly recommend this place if you like to be close to the ocean and away from the loud, noisy, rowdy resorts that treat you like a captive audience. This place is one where you can really relax and enjoy Kaanapali's natural beauty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for always choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. As you mentioned, the association here is doing a project to enhance the look of our property which we are very much looking forward to and we are making sure that the units our guests stay in are far enough away from any work being done that it won't impact their enjoyment of the spectacular oceanfront views we feature from every unit here. Mahalo for your great pictures taken from your unit here and for always recommending the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali as a place to relax and enjoy some of the best views in the world.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    476
    96
    50
    11
See reviews for
434
1,034
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cher2116
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. It is in the Northern part of Kaanapali Resort Area. Each unit faces the ocean and has a patio/lania. We stayed in a VRBO studio unit on the 12 floor. Similar units at the more trendy resorts are $400 per night or more. The Mahana is a little older, doesn't feature a restaurant, and being north the beach waters are a little rougher. But the view of the patio, the Whales swimming by, the sounds of their fins slapping the ocean is absolutely beautiful. As the sun sets, you and your spouse on the deck, a glass of wine, in our case a yatzee game on the table, and the ocean sound as you watch the sun slowly set in the west.

Room Tip: No restaurant, fitness center, pool and other amenities are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cher2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Mahana at Kaanapali. As you mentioned, every unit here whether studio, one or two bedroom has the same spectacular oceanfront views, private lanai as well as a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience. While we don't have a restaurant on property we do have a coffee cart where you can get light meals throughout the day plus our comfortable pool/jacuzzi deck features complimentary gas grills.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to showing the Aloha Spirit to all we encounter.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When we first arrived I was a little disappointed with the room. We were promised a queen size bed and it looked more like a full size bed. I was assured it was indeed a Queen and they would look for an opening for a room with a King. That never materialized, but my attitude changed. The views from the lanai were spectacular! We saw turtles playing in the surf, whales jumping and frolicking. It was amazing. It was very convenient to walk the hotel pathway all the way to Black Rock near the Sheraton. We enjoyed using the pool and the hot tub. It was nice that it wasn't a huge resort. Having a kitchen and a washer and dryer was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again. We could walk to the Times Supermarket and an ABC store. It was also great to walk to Duke's for happy hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're sorry for your initial disappointment however can assure you that every unit here has at least a queen size bed in our studio units and many of the studios and all of the one and two bedroom units have king size beds. As you found out as well all of our units have the convenience of the fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer plus of course the absolutely spectacular oceanfront views of the various marinelife, neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and beautiful rainbows and sunsets.
We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the quiet and relaxation found at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and will be joining us again in the future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We rented this place via Costco for 7 days, but so far, for 2 days, they have shut down water and forced us out. Its been raining off and on here, so its almost impossible to hangout in the beach for long duration! Especially when on vacation and we have paid premium, this is really frustrating.

The picture frame in the room kept falling down for no reasons.

Kitchen equipment is not even bare minimum, missing some key things like boxes

room cleaning did not even wipe the counter tops properly forget cleaning rest of the place.

Most of the staff are nice, but the overall experience has been dissappointing.

I am regretting booking this place for this long a time :(

Room Tip: Doesnt matter...its not for families with kids. No Kid pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ks852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment with some of the things you've experienced. The building association did have to do an unplanned emergency shutoff of the water for two hours which impacted the entire property in order to fix a leak in the main water supply, we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused. Maui has some of the best weather in the world but occasionally we do get some rain but hope you were able to enjoy some of the other indoor activities such as the aquarium or shopping during this period.
All of our units do feature fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for the convenience of our guests as you see from many of the other guest's comments here, I'm not sure what type of boxes you were looking for.
We also believe our guests enjoy the peace and quiet of both our second to none oceanfront location steps from the beach and our pool/jacuzzi area which also feature complimentary gas grills.
We very much appreciate all the comments here as they not only help us to improve our service levels but also help guests to make informed choices on where they would like to stay.

Mahalo and again we are sorry for any disappointments you experienced.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just returned home from 3 nights at Mahana. We stayed in unit 901 and it was great!! The condo has been renovated so everything is very up to date and beautiful! The views from the condo are spectacular!

The one thing that will prevent us from staying here again is the beach. The beach in front of the resort is not swimmable. In addition you can not place beach chairs on the beach. We were vacationing with our two girls ages 15 and 11 and they really enjoy the beach and ocean. We had to drive to beaches that they could swim and snorkel in. Black Rock was perfect for this. The pool is very small as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room at or above the 9th floor so that the trees don't block your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled to hear you loved your unit here and the spectacular oceanfront views that are available from every unit on our property due to our quiet location steps from the northern end of Kaanapali beach. We have a beautiful lawn area fronting the property with lounge chairs that provide the beautiful views of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and directly in front of our property the ocean does have a reef which while is not conducive to swimming draws in an abundance of marine life including the sea turtles our guests love to watch. In either direction a few hundred yards there are many swimming and snorkeling areas.
We very much hope you'll return again to enjoy the peaceful and relaxing Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I just returned from the Mahana and it was incredible. This was my 5th time on Maui in the past 3 years..normally I stay at the Ritz or Hyatt so I was pleasantly surprised that the Mahana was my favorite of them all. We had INCREDIBLE views from the top (10th floor) and the condo was decorated beautifully by its owners. We loved leaving the screen door open at night to listen to the waves. We were so close to the ocean we could see whales and feel the breeze right on our balcony. I loved that the unit had a washer/dryer and a FULL kitchen. Made storing and cooking our groceries much more convenient. Also the staff checks on you once and then really leaves you alone which is nice. It's very private and romantic. The pool area or hotel in general never seemed to crowded which was nice. We liked how quiet it was. And also that it's a small enough place to jump in your rental car and go vs walking through a mega resort. The cleaning ladies did an amazing job as well...very clean condo. I highly recommend the Mahana if you enjoy a little more privacy, seclusion, a come and go type atmosphere, and luxurious yet "homey" condos.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your great comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled that the breathtaking views and our hard working staff allowed you to choose us as your destination of choice here on Maui. We know there are a lot of fine properties out there, as you named, and to become your go to place in the future is an honor.
We very much look forward to hosting you again. Take care and hope you had a safe trip back to Appleton, near my old stomping grounds as I went to Beloit College.

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments for future travellers to help them make their decision.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is almost the last one on the strip of Kaanapali, which is likely why it is a bit less expensive than some of the other hotels. However, it is very, very nice and we were quite comfortable. The beach in front of the hotel is nice, although walking 10 -15 minutes took you to the more popular beach areas. Rooms were well furnished and staff was friendly. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are coffee shops and places to eat well within walking distance.

Room Tip: Instead of booking on-line, we phoned the hotel, and in the course of our conversation, they offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWP547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we're thrilled to hear that the well furnished room and our friendly staff exceeded your expectations and that you will be returning to see us again. As you saw, our second to none oceanfront location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach allows us to provide absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here, studio, one and two bedroom. Our location is quieter and allows our guests to relax with fully equipped kitchens in every unit, complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi deck yet we are a short walk or drive from many shopping and dining options plus we have a very nice coffee cart in the lobby for snacks and drinks.
We all very much look forward to you coming back to join us in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing