We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front beauty!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ocean front beauty!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was our last stop and it was amazing!! We decided to spend a little bit more on accommodation and we were not disappointed!! No better way to end the day than to spend it on the balcony watching the world and many sunsets go by! Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samantha_erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for visiting us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali from the land down under and for recommending us to the readers here at Trip Advisor. We're thrilled to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations and you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views that are available from every unit here.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit again and thank you for allowing us to host you here on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    479
    99
    50
    12
See reviews for
439
1,052
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here July 1-15,2014.It was my 4th trip to Maui,first time here. We will definitely stay here again! The pool is small but ocean front. We only used the pool once, the ocean is right there and much more fun. The staff is very helpful,the grounds well maintained. The location is fantastic. You are walking distance to a few restaurants,grocery stores and Dukes for happy hour. A great beach,snorkeling just a 3 min walk from the resort. You can't snorkel,swim immediately in front due to shallow water and rocks but it truly is just a 2-3 min walk to swim/snorkel area. All units are ocean front. Palm trees are planted in front so if you can be on floors 7 or higher you will have the best views.The bus stops at the end of the driveway;we took it to Whaler's Village on several occasions. You will truly enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: Stay on floor 7 or higher for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank briachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and we're thrilled to hear that our helpful staff and fantastic location steps from the beach enabled you to have a great vacation. We're also happy to hear that you chose us on your fourth visit to Maui and very much hope when you return you will come back to see us again.
The reef in front of our property is one of the reason our guests are treated to views of marine life, including the sea turtles daily and seasonally the humpback whales, in addition to of course the spectacular oceanfront views of beautiful sunsets and the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Mahalo for the recommendation to the visitors here at Trip Advisor and all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit on your fifth visit to Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here (family of 5) June 2014. We enjoyed the two bedroom condo. One bedroom with a king size beds in one bedroom, the other bedroom had 2 twin beds. One of the kids slept on the pull out in the living room. Up to date kitchen with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchen. Each day we were given a coffee package to the coffee pot in the kitchen. Some soap for the washing machine also. This was a nice touch. The ceiling to floor windows were beautiful! There isn't swimming in front of the condos, but a short walk the beach was perfect, and not crowded. There was painting going while we were there. scaffolding was a bit distracting. I would go back here in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their vacation and that you will be returning to see us again. Rest assured, although we do have a exterior building enhancement project going on we are making every effort to keep our guests as far away as possible so that they can enjoy themselves and relax as you did.
Every unit here, studio, one or two bedroom, has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for convenience and of course the same spectacular oceanfront views due to our second to none locations steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach.
We're thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit again soon when you come to see us again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got back
Absolutely loved it . The views are amazing . Watched the Sunset everyday . Service was friendly.
Though the Beach is rocky but walk either side for 2- 3 minutes and you hit a great beach.

We loved the condo and would recommend it highly.
Note: the Pool is slightly small so if that is your considerations then please weigh that in. Though for the views , the service and great number of grills , it does more than cover up for anything.
WE were on the 4th floor , did have a few trees but that didnt take away from the view. Infact enhanced it .

Room Tip: All rooms are " OCEAN FRONT " , great views !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof4LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear that our friendly service and the amazing oceanfront views available from every unit here of beautiful sunsets and the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai will have you coming back to see us again.
As you mentioned our pool/jacuzzi area provides more of an intimate and relaxed setting but also has the complimentary gas grills there where our guests can cook out, drink some cocktails and also take in the spectacular oceanfront views.
The entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit and hosting you again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you want to get away from it all and enjoy peace & quiet - amazing snorkeling and peaceful beaches - this resort is PERFECT!! If you want the hustle & bustle of a busy resort this is NOT for you! Best to just watch the sunsets from the Lanai. We saw a school of dolphins on several occasions and during the winter, it was the best place to whale-watch! Absolutely, the best. Also near-by is Okazuya Deli - former exec. chef of Mama's Fish House -- and if you're looking for excellent takeaway to bring back to the condo & enjoy your own, this place has it all. I wish I invested in one of these condos 10 yrs ago!

The owners condo (booked via vrbo) was fully stocked -- had everything we could think of....

The pool is small - and the beach right outside is not good for sitting out. However - the coral and reefs are just as good as Molokini Crater... we swam with a sea turtle 2 days in a row!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank quesadilla_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for visiting the Mahana at Kaanapali all the way from the United Kingdom. We're very happy to hear that the peace and quiet provided by our second to none location steps from the northern end of Kaanapali beach enabled you to have a relaxing vacation. The oceanfront views provided from every unit here at the Mahana are spectacular as you described with the beautiful sunsets, various marine life and neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai seen from the floor to ceiling windows and private lanai.

Mahalo again for choosing the Mahana and for taking the time to provide your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I just stayed here (July 14-19, 2014) with our 14 year old daughter and her friend. We stayed in unit #215 (via VRBO.com, listing # 320513) and had a blast! This unit was perfect for us. The buildings are a bit older and there were some renovations going on during my stay, but over all the unit, view, amenities and location made the renovations such a minor detail, it was not an issue. We were blown away by the views not only in our unit but by the pool and BBQ area. They were AMAZING!! This resort doesn't have any of the frills you may be used to at the bigger resorts, it's really more of a chill, laid back vibe. It's a short 10 minute drive to the Whalers Village restaurants and shopping area as well as Black Rock Beach (at the Sheraton). We stopped at COSTCO after landing and we able to BBQ and cook almost every night. There is also a "Times" supermarket across the street although it's very expensive. If you can, drive over to "Safeway" over by Whaler's Village. Saves on food costs and you are able to have some cocktails at the pool without breaking the bank. Also, if you are looking for a nice dinner out, you can walk over to the Honua Kai Resort & Spa (5 minute walk) and have a nice dinner or cocktails. If you go across the street from the Aston Mahana there is a breakfast place called SlappyCakes. This is fun to go to if you have kids. It's a "make your own pancakes" place.
Overall, we had a great time and hope to be back to the Mahana!

Room Tip: Unit 215 is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sckebolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your stay at the Mahana at Kaanapali. All of us here with Aston are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mahana 818 in June 2014 and we are already planning our next trip. Why stay anywhere else? With ceiling to floor windows the view Is spectacular. We ate breakfast every morning on the lanai overlooking the water and had cocktails and dinner just about every night in that same spot watching amazing sunsets. Our one br condo was updated, tastefully decorated, spotless and well equipped. No hustle and bustle, just privacy. We used VRBO and had an excellent experience. We were welcomed with a bouquet of fresh tropical flowers.The owner provided suggestions of restaurants and sight seeing venues. We took her advice and were not disappointed. We would not have changed one thing about our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for an higher floor room. We were above the palms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha for all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we're very happy to hear the owners of unit 818 took such great care of you and that you had a perfect vacation. The common denominator for all units here is the absolutely spectacular oceanfront views available with floor to ceiling windows and private lanais.
Mahalo for the great comments and we hope you can return again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing