We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unit on the 10th floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great unit on the 10th floor!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We reserved a Premium one bedroom condo unit at Aston Mahana. When we checked in, we were assigned a unit on the seventh floor. Upon entering the seventh-floor unit, there were 2 large palm trees and the leaves were completely obstructing the 'ocean view.' We're were absolutely 'horrified' since this was not what paid for-- that is, 'ocean front view' implies that we can completely see the ocean, not lots of palm tree leaves blocking the view!

I really think the Aston Mahana should warn customers that some units are 'obstructed-view premium ocean front' so there is no confusion and customers are aware that this is one possible unit they may get.

We immediately called the front desk and asked to look at another premium unit with an ocean front. Ara quickly found us another unit on the 10th floor and it was absolutely stunning and gorgeous!

Thanks Ara for working with us! We appreciate it. The Mahana is a great place to stay in Maui!

Room Tip: Be very careful when you reserve your unit -- be specific about whether there are palm trees which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Traveler_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We're very happy to hear that Ara was able to make sure that all of your expectations were met. We have 125 units, studio, one and two bedroom in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana and all are oceanfront with spectacular views, fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for extra convenience. I'm not aware of any where the swaying palm trees "block" the view but it is always our goal to make sure we show the Aloha Spirit to every guest and make sure they have the best experience possible.
We very much hope you will return again to join us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    480
    100
    50
    12
See reviews for
440
1,057
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Mahana is the only place I look to use while visiting Maui. This oceanfront place is so close to the water that when one is sitting on a sofa it feels as one is in the middle of the ocean. We have visited this place the last seven years. The people t the front desk are very kind. The night we got there Rick was so nice to give us a two bedroom room because it was 4 of us since we had requested before a one room 2 bath for a group of 3, but then my nephew joined us so we needed an estra room. Rick took the time to find us that room. The next day Karen showed me another 2 room on the 12th floor and we decided to take it because it was phenomenal.
Thanks to all the Mahana staff and Mr. Brian Cox who manages this place so nice.

We will be looking forward our next visit next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are the best, but save the 12th floor for us when we visit next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauithegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for always choosing to stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. From myself, Rick, Karen and the entire Aston staff we really appreciate your great comments and always look forward to hosting you.
We hope to see you again soon for visit number eight.

Mahalo and take care.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Aston condos are on the beach with a short walk to the sandy shoreline. Our room had ocean views with a huge picture window, 2 balcony's with sliding doors with ocean views. The apartment was easily 750 sq. ft with 1 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. We all agreed the room exceeded our expectations. The amenities are minimal because the condo is full service with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a nice pool and Jacuzzi, poolside snake bar, excursion booking onsite, and FREE PARKING. Our next trip to Hawaii will be at an Aston Resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations with our second to none location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach and the spectacular oceanfront views of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and beautiful sunsets.
As well, it's great that our spacious units, every one from the studio to the one and two bedrooms, all have the same fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer that provided you the convenience of home.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much look forward to hosting and showing you the Aloha Spirit again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Unit 914
Do you want to watch sea turtles without buying an expensive ticket on a boat? From our balcony we watched sea turtles cavorting in the morning and again in the evening. If you want to snorkel, Black Rock Beach is 100 yards away and is reported to be among the best locations in Maui.

This is a beautifully decorated unit, well-equipped, well cared for, and in a location that can’t be beat. It’s no longer possible to build as close to the beach as is The Mahana. Within walking distance there’s a grocery store whose prices beat Safeway, as well as a Snorkel Bob’s and a variety of restaurants and shops.

The west facing, ocean-front property is a spectacular place to start the day with coffee or end the day with a glass of wine. Terrific views of Lana’i and Molokai. The owners sent us in advance super -helpful suggestions of places to see, restaurants to visit and tips for a successful visit. The bed is top-notch. The Mahana staff was helpful. The resort is conveniently located to Lahaina and Ka’anapali and Kapalua, so history, activity, romance, shopping and more are waiting for you to experience.

We highly recommend The Mahana. Can we give it 10 stars?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide in depth comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. All of the owners in the Aston rental program here including unit 914 take great pride in keeping their units up to date and our helpful staff including the 24 hour front desk and on-site daily housekeeping and maintenance strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations by keeping the units clean and comfortable.
As you found out the oceanfront views of various marine life, neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and daily beautiful sunsets are spectacular and the good news is these same views are available from every unit here at the Mahana.
We very much thank you for the "10 star" rating and for your recommendation and all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit when we can host you again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here from July 24 - July 31, 2014. This was our 3rd trip to Maui and our first stay at the Aston Mahana. This is our new favorite place. All condos are beachfront. Watching the waves roll in and the sunset every evening from the lanai was amazing. We dined at restaurants and cooked in the condo during our visit. The location was perfect. This will be our go to resort every year!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was perfect. All condos are beachfront. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for making us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali your choice for your third visit to the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear we are now your favorite destination and from the entire staff we're honored we could be a part of your birthday and anniversary celebrations, congratulations.
As you found out our location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach is second to none and this allows us to provide absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here at the Mahana.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a room on the 7th floor - in the building that had no construction at the time. Our first room was a studio. It was dirty and not comfortable for the 10 nights we were there for. After our first night we paid to upgrade to a one bedroom. Best decision ever. Beautiful room, lanai, kitchen, laundry was awesome and comfortable living room. You can not get a better view. Sure, you can pay for ocean front or view, but why, when you can pay for a too based on its size and be guaranteed to get ocean front, like 50 feet from the ocean. We watched movies late at night after we came back to the room from a full day of exploring. We loved that. Greg at the front desk was great!! We will be back!

Room Tip: High floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chera E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we realize there are many fine properties on the beautiful island of Maui however agree that our spot just steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach is truly fabulour. Due to our location every single unit here, studio, one or two bedroom, offers spectacular oceanfront views and also the convenience of fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer.
We're thrilled to hear that Greg and the rest of our staff was able to help you to get the unit you wanted and exceed all of your expectations.

We appreciate your comments which help us to improve everyday and all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali hope you can join us again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was our last stop and it was amazing!! We decided to spend a little bit more on accommodation and we were not disappointed!! No better way to end the day than to spend it on the balcony watching the world and many sunsets go by! Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samantha_erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for visiting us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali from the land down under and for recommending us to the readers here at Trip Advisor. We're thrilled to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations and you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views that are available from every unit here.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit again and thank you for allowing us to host you here on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,078 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing