We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Mahana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Mahana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

After carefully researching and planning our 25th wedding anniversary trip, we decided to book the Mahana through Resort Quest for December 1st - 6th, 2008. We asked for a recently upgraded room, and were not disappointed. We were assigned unit 506, which was a one bedroom, and it was absolutely beautiful. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary, and our first trip to Hawaii!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aktumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    470
    94
    50
    11
See reviews for
425
1,017
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

So after carefuly consideration and review of many websites we chose the RQ Mahana in Maui. We booked through the resorts web site, although we really did want to book a specific room through the owner. The problem we encountered with doing that is that most owners require 50% minimum down to hold the reservation and if for whatever reason you need to cancel/change your reservation you loose the money. By booking with the resort directly we had up to 48 hours to cancel our reservation with absolutely no penalty. The room we received was a studio (#313) that was recently renovated. Bathroom, kitchen and most of the suite was excellent. I did leave the owners a note to seriously consider updating their bed linens (old, tattered comforter) and to remove the rug in the living room. The rest of the suite was beautiful ceramic floors, easy to keep clean and fresh smelling. I would suggest that this is probably one of the most beautiful views in all of Maui, and it is right from your room/lanai! The Mahana is the closest building to the ocean anywhere that we saw so the beach is rather narrow and the noise of the waves is unbelieveable! One of the reasons we chose this location was for snorkelling, but forget it. You really need to go either to Black Rock in front of the Sheraton which has a great beach and all the amenities, or our favourite the beach in front of the Ritz Carlton. The one at RC had way more variety of fish, calmer water and a good deal of shade if you wanted it. However, no beach chairs/umbrealls for rent so come prepared.
So, if you;re looking for good value, good service, consider the Mahana. We paid about $1500 for the week, but when we were checking out I heard someone at the front desk quote a walk-in $1100 for the week, so its worth asking for a deal!
The pool is fine, in the shade most of the afternoon, BBQs spotless and plenty of free parking....have fun in Maui.

  • Liked — size of property was my favourite - not a big mega resort - felt very homey
  • Disliked — no bar/restaurant on the property
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kimpeteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveMaui, Agent at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 30 December 2008
I disagree with the statement to "forget snorkeling by the Mahana". Actually, some of the best, unspoiled, snorkeling on Maui is about 120 yards (2-3 minute walk) south of the Mahana. Directly in front of the buildings is not good due to rock and coral close to shore. But, as posted on signs by the Mahana beach, just a 2 minute walk south is easy access into the ocean and wonderful snorkeling. There is large variety of colorful fish and often large turtles. I find it to be substantially better than by "black rock" which is usually crowded due to the number of nearby large hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenatchee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mahana 12/2/08 - 12/13/08 in room 516. We loved it!!! It was quiet and beautiful. We really enjoyed the view. We had palm trees near our windows and it really made our pictures lovely. The room was simple, clean and elegant. We only had to go to the front desk to have our keys rekeyed, and the front desk people were great. We booked through our AAA travel agent and had no problems. I have pictures but am unable to post them at this time.

My mother had wanted to visit Maui again and stay at the Mahana. Sadly, she passed away earlier this year and did not get to visit. I thought it would be nice to do the trip that she and I had started to plan. My husband and I brought some of her ashes to the island and left a little in several beautiful spots.

The Mahana made our stay such a joy that we will be back.

  • Liked — The windows in the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylou421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

We booked the Mahana after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We wanted the ocean views and we got even more than we bargained for at room 314. Coz its a low floor, it really felt like the ocean was right in front of us. Heard from our guide while on a tour that this place has one of the best ever views among all the condos on the island as you get unobstructed views practically right on the beach.

Would recommend Cruiser Phil for the downhill bike ride and Sail Trilogy for the snokelling cruise - we even saw whales though it was two weeks early and the season hadn't opened for their whale watching trips! Nearby Kapalua plantation golf course was great and had breathtaking views even for me, I dont play so stayed in the buggy and snapped photos while my husband enjoyed the course... though we heard from many others that Princeville is even better (course is open though resort is shut for renovations).

Da Kitchen near Wal Mart is where the locals go and has incredibly large and tasty plate lunches. Trust us, share one. We also went to Bubba Gump in Lahaina town which is a nice place for a walk and browse of the shops.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

I stayed in this hotel from Dec 4-10, 2008. The overall experience was just good for me. The hotel is in a very good location, next to the kaanapali beach, the most popular and one of the best beaches in Maui, after visiting a few other beaches in the island. There is also a good grocery store in walking distance (5 minutes) called star markets (prices a bit more expensive than Safeway, the most popular grocery store in the island, but groceries in Maui are expensive anywhere). The best feature of this hotel is the view, all condos face the ocean and they are very close to the water compared to other hotels nearby, so you can intensely listen and feel the ocean from your room. The beach is terrible for swimming, as many other beaches in Hawaii, because of the shallow reef areas. I also found the sand in the beach a little bit less clear compared to some other beaches I visited. The hotel has a nice area by the pool with clean gas grills and a great hot tube (spa) for guests. The pool was just OK, since it's small and shaded most of the day due to the proximity to the hotel buildings. The staff was friendly until they demand us to move to a bigger condo because the studio we booked and spent the first night was for 2 guests only, including our infant. It was not our fault, I booked through cheap tickets, and there was no note saying we should get a bigger condo when booking, so we assumed everything was OK, but when they realized our party had 3 people, they suddenly changed from nice to unfriendly. Once we decided to stay and move to the bigger condo and pay the difference, they got back to the "nice mode" again, so not very professional in my opinion. I believe most condos, if not all, are privately owned, therefore, they are all different as far as updates and decoration. Our big condo was a one bedroom apt with living room, kitchen, and 2 baths, room 515. That unit was highly recommended by the guest leaving it that day, but it was just OK in our opinion because it had only basic furniture/appliances and decoration was just good, no major updates or features. Parking in this hotel was good because was free and mostly shaded (we like shaded parking). In your first day, there is a 45-minute presentation from the concierge service lady with complimentary breakfast. The food is very unimpressive (just a few sweet treats with coffee) but the lady does present good suggestions and tips for activities nearby. I believe this hotel is also cheaper than the resorts in the kaanapali beach (a 10 minute drive from this hotel), but the beach there is much better. So, overall, if you want to stay near where this hotel is, I would recommend checking the rates of other hotels nearby for a possible best value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — beach, impossible for swimming, unless you just want to sit in the sand and watch the ocean
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Indyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonMahanaGM, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 16 December 2008
Aloha and thank you for sharing your comments on your stay at our beautiful Ocean Front property.

I am pleased to have read that you enjoyed your stay on Maui and that you found Mahana a great location with easy access to other area's of the island.

Our studio units are roomy and offer all the comforts of home, but are limited to two persons due to the size of the unit and safety regulations. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a one bedroom unit that is designed to accommodate up to four persons.

Mahana offers a great location for ocean viewing pleasure and nice strolls along a beautiful sandy beach.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope that when you decide to visit Maui that you consider staying with us at Mahana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

4 nights stay. Booked through an online travel agent for resortquest.
(not an individual owner) The week before, there were heavy rains and hence water had come onto the carpets. Thats why the management had kept a large fan to dry it off. When we reached, it had almost dried off.
But that wasn't an issue for us. The condo was excellent.

We wanted ocean-facing, and we got it :) We were very happy. We would definitely recommend Mahana to others.

  • Liked — Ocean facing and quality of condo
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ftp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mahana from Nov. 21-Nov 28, 2008 for a partial business trip partial vacation and for the Maui Invitational. We stayed in room 914 and it was great! I couldn't have expected more or better. The condo was completely upgraded to even include self closing cabinet drawers and a 50inch flat screen TV. The views were amazing and the condo was very comfortable as living quarters and office space. We did not miss having a restaurant on site, as there is a Safe Way grocery store right across the street and we cooked breakfast most days. (We did stop at the WalMart near the airport on our way in, but it wasn't necessary with the Safeway across the street). There is also a small sandwich and drink cart by the pool, for snacks, smoothies, coffee, and sandwiches which we used one day. It was tasty and not too expensive.

The staff was accommodating but not overly friendly. The pool and hot tub were very nice and the grounds pretty, also. There is construction going on at a new resort in front of the Mahana, but we could never hear any noise from it and all our windows faced the back (ocean) so there were no problems there. Parking spaces were small, but we didn't have to pay for parking.

We would definitely stay at the Mahana again and room 914. Friends of ours stayed in room 916 and it was also upgraded; however, missing the top notch touches that 914 had.

Activities and Restaurants we enjoyed during our trip:
Rusty Harpoon- we ate breakfast here and watched football from back home- Great breakfast and drinks, pretty golf course view
Ma'alea Aquarium- this was just OK and we only did it b/c it was a rainy day
Sansei in Kapula- EXCELLENT Sushi
Plantation House- we had a great brunch with very pretty views
Old Lahaina Luau- Very entertaining and the food was great
Roy's- EXCELLENT fish and desserts
Ron Bass Kayaking & Snorkeling- personal (we were the only ones on his trip) and a LOT of fun
Mala's Lahaina- Very good, pretty views during the day
Big Beach in Wailea- very pretty sand and water
Good snorkeling in Wailea
Makena Grill in Wailea/Makena- GREAT fish tacos- one woman stand
Kobe in Lahaina- Very good sushi
Eco Adventures Hiking Tour- EXCELLENT views and waterfalls, also saw the Napili Blowhole. Hike a little difficult for those with injuries or older.
Black Rock- great snorkeling- we swam with two turtles
Mama's Fish House (Thanksgiving Dinner)- WORTH IT! EXCELLENT
Kimo Lahaina- More great views and good food- Hula Pie!

  • Liked — Location, views, accommodations in the condo
  • Disliked — Hot tub closes at 10 (should be later), cannot swim at beach b/c of coral- but great beaches close by.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing