We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful views and luxury combined with service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and luxury combined with service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

This anniversary trip was compromised with some lost credit cards. The outstanding efforts of the front desk staff, both Debbie and Karen, saved the occasion. After upgrading us to Room 415, a one-bedroom unit with Jacuzzi, which has luxury appointments throughout, they worked to help us have our credit cards overnighted to the ResortQuest so that the rest of our vacation could proceed. Beautiful facility made more outstanding by the helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAsperges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    467
    92
    49
    11
See reviews for
423
1,002
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Mahana for our honeymoon. We were amazed *how* close the beach/ocean was to our room. By the end of the trip, we midwesterners were a little freaked out by the loudness of the ocean.

The room was kept immaculately, and in relatively attractive decor. It was for the most part quiet, with the exception of some occasional noise from the upstairs condo (sounded like people kept dragging chairs across the floor).

We were well equipped with a full kitchen, including all of our dishes and utensils. We even decided to make ourselves a steak dinner one night. We also had a washer and dryer (to allow us to do our laundry there on our last day, rather than when we got home) and dishwasher to easily keep our dishes and utensils clean.

The beach is excellent for walking, and very scenic as you are able to view the islands of Lanai and Molokai in the distance. For swimming, it's recommended you hike down the beach 150 - 200 yds. to avoid any sharp coral, as there is a reef directly in front of the hotel. This makes for amazing snorkeling though, and the water is crystal clear.

There is considerable wildlife near the resort (we saw and heard *many* types of birds, geckos and snails), and since we were there in January, saw an infinite number of humpback whales from our room. Some even ventured 300 - 400 yds. from the beach.

The pool area is cozy with a heated, well kept pool and a relaxing hot tub; both which provide a stunning view of the beach. There is no bar in the hotel, for those who enjoy sipping a frosty libation near the pool or beach.

There are no dining facilities on site, which may be bothersome for some less-adventurous travelers who weren't planning on leaving the resort. But if you planned on coming to this captivating Eden without exploring all of the island's beauty, you're probably not cut out for travel in the first place. We strongly recommend checking out Chowhound.com for recommendations on the best places to eat (and please check out The Gazebo restaurant).

Finally, if you're like us, and concerned about the price of eating on the island for a few days or more, there is a Star Market just outside of the resort. It is open 24 hours and extremely convenient to purchase snacks and groceries to save some money rather than going out to eat for every meal. I became ill one night at 3:30 a.m. and my husband was able to make a quick trip there to purchase medicines, sodas, etc. Convenience has a price though ($9 for a gallon of milk) so be warned.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, abundance of living resources (i.e. cooking utensils, detergents, etc.)
  • Disliked — Lack of bar/poolside bar
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank absolutangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

After doing lots of homework on Trip Advisor, I chose the Mahana at Kaanapali for our 20th anniversary trip to Maui.
The Mahana was wonderful for our trip!! We weren't interested in the nightlife, or hotel activities because we were there to see the island!!
We didn't cook as many meals b/c it seemed we could dine out for our $$ as easily as buying groceries! But the kitchen was nice with a fullsize fridge, and stove. Loved the coffee---that Kona Blend was a highlight of the trip!
We walked just a bit to a nice, swimming spot, and enjoyed the fact that there weren't crowds on the beach. We did our snorkeling on our days out, and honestly, spent the majority of our days away from the condo exploring north, south, east and west! But having the Mahana to return home to was wonderful!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Windy, chilly pool inbetween the two condominium high rises
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hrpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

We stayed at the Mahana at Kaanapali during the Thanksgiving holiday. We stayed in room 113 and it was great. We were on the first floor right next to the pool and the beach only a few steps away. The room itself had an updated kitchen with all modern appliances. The only downside to the hotel is that it does not have an onsite restaurant, but The Village in Lahaina is only a couple of miles down the road. Overall the experience at the Mahana Kaanapali was great and I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Updated room with modern appliances
  • Disliked — No onsite restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

This is a relatively inexpensive place to stay on Maui. It's no-frills and nothing fancy but it is a nice comfortable place to stay. It It's off the beaten path, but you're not too far out from downtown Lahaina. I will definitely go back here when I go to Maui again..

It is oceanfront and the beach is not more than 75' from the building. Perfect if you like to listen to the waves of the ocean overnight and you like a really short walk to the sand. There is a small pool on premises and a community grill/bbq area adjacent to the pool. It is good for families although it is not a resort that offers things to do for the kiddos.

A good choice if you are on a relatively limited budget and would like the freedom to spend your cash without having to be tied into packages the hotel is offering with its accomodations.

A short walk out of this resort and across the street will get you to Java Jazz, a great coffee, r&b, and blues establishment, and a local grocery store to stock your fridge.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warmweatherfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

This was our 3rd visit to Hawaii and we decided to settle on Maui on the Kaanapali Coast. After reading reviews and getting prices My husband and I decided to try the Mahana. Traveling from the East Coast, Maui is a long trip and unfortunately I developed a very sick headache and by the time we reached Kahului around 5:30pm I just wanted to crash. The time change really throughs you off and the headache made me yearn for a hot shower and bed. When we arrived at the Mahana, I had planned on requesting an upgrade unit. We were assigned unit #402 and it wasn't great. Since I felt ill, we stayed and that was our mistake. The carpet was disgusting (very dirty and stained) and the kitchen was probably the original and space was extremely tight. The bathroom was newly remodeled, but very small. Beyond that the view was wonderful and I enjoyed sitting on the lanai and enjoying the view. The waves at night lulled us to sleep and were occasionally loud enough to wake us up. We never quite adjusted to the 5 hour time difference. Lots of wonderful things to do and see in Maui. Loved Haleakala (drive up is a little scary) and glad we did the road to Hana, but would never do again unless we plan on staying in Hana. Great restaurants, good food, love Lahaina and the atmosphere. Enjoyed the Old Lahaina Luau, and highly recommend Ulalena. Stayed on Maui back in 2001 in Wailea and loved it. Stopped back to visit and I would definitely recommend over Kaanapali. Beautiful beaches, nice walking paths along the beach, great shopping and restaurants. As per the recommendations on Tripadvisor, I highly advise anyone to go for breakfast at the Gazebo, a short drive from Kaanapali. There's usually a line, but it's well worth it! I would stay at the Mahana again if I could experience an updated room.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The stained carpet!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FehrLadyAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

After carefully researching and planning our 25th wedding anniversary trip, we decided to book the Mahana through Resort Quest for December 1st - 6th, 2008. We asked for a recently upgraded room, and were not disappointed. We were assigned unit 506, which was a one bedroom, and it was absolutely beautiful. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary, and our first trip to Hawaii!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aktumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing