We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Can't Wait to come back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Granite Falls, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Can't Wait to come back!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Before departing for Maui, I found four coworkers who had stayed at the Mahana, and they all had high praise for their stay. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very warm and gracious clerk at the front desk who got us into our room in less than 10 minutes. We had a studio unit, about the size you would expect, but the room was very clean, had granite countertops and a marble-tile two-person shower, and a comfortable bed. The view from the 12th floor was spectacular! Exactly the view you find on the virtual tour site, except no palm tree trunk, and the room was pretty representative as well. Beautiful blue ocean and sky, with a nice breeze and 82 deg. The balconies are staggered and designed such that you really can't see anyone else's balcony, so I assume ours was private too(hope so...). Just you and the ocean, and a couple songbirds at times. The first morning my husband was treated to a humpback breaching offshore directly in front of the Mahana during his morning coffee on the lanai. Incredible site the first time you see it. Soon you realize that you can see many whale spouts in the channel, and this was late April. Must be really busy in January! We experienced very little noise from other units or the pool; just the sound of waves breaking on the shore 60 feet from the bldg. The Mahana is closer to the water than any other hotel/condo we saw during our stay. And the beach was not crowded like Kaanapali south beach( a handful vs hundreds, no kidding). Many guests appeared to prefer lounging around the pool, which meant there was always a lounger or beach chair available on the grass or the beach; and little green lizard friends to keep you company if you look closely. The beach really isn't as nice just a short distance north of the Mahana, we wouldn't recommend going farther north in Kaanapali unless the beach doesn't matter to you. We enjoyed using the BBQs available near the pool on two occasions, and they seem to be popular with many of the guests; but I only waited 5 min one night for a grill. They are really nice grills too. The smell of steaks cooking at dinner will draw you in from the beach. The whole property looks much newer than it's age, being well-maintained, updated, and clean.. We found that the WiFi worked very well in our unit, as did the cable TV, airconditioning and laundry. In the afternoons the breeze is off-shore, which will ventilate a hot room in just a few minutes with the front and balcony doors open. The beachwalk ends at the edge of the Mahana property which is a nice way to check out some of the nearby restaurants at some of the hotels, or walk all the way to Kaanapali south beach if you're up to it. There are many shops and small restaurants within walking distance, and it's a five minute drive to Lahaina. The sunsets are incredible in west Maui, and the Mahana is front and center. We found that the guests were mostly adults looking for a calm place to relax. Families who want alot of activities for the kids onsite may be happier at one of the other resorts, yet a family still might find the Mahana a good base from which to explore Maui. We toured the entire island, including the road to Hana and beyond, so although not centrally located, it is still doable. We recommend renting a convertible to see the island, we went everywhere with the top down and got a great tan! Don't be afraid of the road to Hana or the road north of Kaanapali, the drive isn't as bad as some make it seem, and there is fantastic scenery the faint-hearted will never enjoy; like discovering private jungle waterfalls within walking distance of the road to Hana. We loved everything about our stay at the Mahana. The room was very nice, the grounds were nice, the staff was great, and the room rate is a bargain compared to other 4-star properties in Kaanapali. And while we were once offered an opportunity to attend a breakfast timeshare meeting, we didn't get a high-pressure sales pitch and it wasn't brought up again. We plan to visit Maui again, and already know we will be calling the Mahana our home-in-paradise again. Ahuihoi Mahana!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countingmyblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    479
    99
    50
    12
See reviews for
438
1,051
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We spent a week at the Mahana and it was absolutely wonderful. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 6th floor in a 1bedroom condo. The ocean view was superb and watching the sunset everynight from the lanai was amazing. Most rooms are newly renovated. Ours had a very modern kitchen, granite counters and everything. The king size bed was super comfortable as well. It is very affordable for what you get. Now granted, it doesn't have a restaurant, small pool, and small beach area. Don't let this bother you. The best restaruants are not attached to hotels anyway,plenty of great food around maui. While the pool may be small, you don't go to maui to lay by a pool. As for the beach, walk 50-100 yards in either direction and you have some great snorkeling and much larger beach area. All in all the Mahana is an excellent place to go if you are looking to relax, want an oceanfront view, and don't want to pay a premium for it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spork_1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is gorgeous place. Hotel - I assume private apartments to rent is located almost on the beach. My apartment was so spacious and nice with everything you would need for your vacations. Full equipped kitchen with a grill for a barbecue - downstairs in the pool area or outside the hotel. Great beach. Amazing sunsets.
There is no restaurant at this place - the closest is Duke - 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
This hotel is located quite far away from the airport so if you want to fly a helicopter tour you need to rent a car - there is no pick up from the hotel for this activity.
There is an Expedia stand in the lobby - so you can book and buy all sightseeing . I had one Circle Island Tour which was one of the best in my life - going to the Hana rainforest and beautiful waterfalls.
I am wondering if all apartments are so nice - mine was gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Stayed here with g/f for a vacation, we are an active couple in our late 20's and we booked a 1 bedroom suite for a week. Its an alright hotel, the ones closer to blackrock provide more amenities and have a bit more life about them. The places in Wailei are probably the most up-to-date and have amazing beaches (Big Beach) and more local places to eat and great places to snorkel. Its also a lot more central if you are planning to head into Hana or do any activities in upcountry Maui. This place is pretty barren, just your basic place to sleep and you'll need to walk down the beach for actual places to swim. You'll also need to drive to get into Lahaina (which is ok for a day, but gets to be very touristy and crowded after a while and especially when cruise ships dock)

Good:
- Location near the beach
- Free parking
- Views are nice
- Sheltered Lanai - so nightly gusts of wind don't really affect you
- Nice compact pool area (albeit a little small)
- Good if you are planning to just post-up in a hotel and take long strolls on the beach and read a book or generally just enjoy life. Probably more appealing for an older crowd...not many young couples or families around there.

Bad:
- Not much activity going on around here. You absolutely need a car to get around, otherwise, you'll be stuck in a land of nothingness
- Couldn't swim in front of hotel, lots of coral reefs and the surf was extremely rough
- Units are extremely dated and desperately needs an upgrade. Furniture looks like it was from the 90's and was really worn in - good if your trying to reminisce about your childhood, depends on what your looking for
- Loud on Lanai, you can hear full conversations of people above and below and all of the footsteps and chairs creaking.
- Screen Doors were pretty broken up, really annoying to try and open and close a door that kept falling off the hinges
- Bed was not that comfortable despite being a king.
- BBQ's were set way in the back of the pool area so its far if you are trying to bring food closer to the ocean
- Internet was worse than garbage, you had to literally sit next to a screen door to get any connection. Its hard to research up on places to go see, eat and visit without a good connection (I have a brand new laptop too).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

After an initial mix-up with our suite, we were upgraded to a beautiful two-bedroom condo overlooking the ocean. Very roomy and comfortable. Had all of the comforts from home. We sat every night on our lanai and watched the sun go down. Most nights we saw a pod of humpback whales crusing by. Nice beach to walk along but not a good beach to swim, as there was too much coral, etc. The pool was kept clean and was a nice size. Very close to groceries and restaurants. Just a short drive to downtown Lahaina.
Worth a try!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimljackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed at the Aston Mahana for ten nights in April. Our unit (1006) was lovely, had every amenity we could ask for - blender, hair dryer, iron, lots of dishes, cutlery, pots and pans, etc. The owners took great pride in their condo and had done some fairly recent renos. We slept with the sliding doors off our bedroom open (with screens) every night to hear the ocean waves lull us to sleep. Watched the whales play in the daytime and saw beautiful sunsets each night! Lots of space in the condo, couldn't ask for more. Staff were friendly and accomodating, pool and grounds well cared for. Lots of BBQs that we put to good use. Travelled with two other couples who stayed at the Mahana, their units were very nice too. Would definitely recommend the Aston Mahana to anyone who wants a very comfortable "home away from home"!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pa
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Mahana and it has more than exceeded our expectations both times. The condominium unit(s) 219 and 319 offer outstanding views of the beach and the ocean and are very comfortable and relaxing. (One mild complaint [actually more of an issue than a complaint] is the inability of the Mahana to guarantee the specific unit requested.)
The amenities (pool, beach, hot tub, barbecue facilities, towels) and the staff are all top notch contribute to a very relaxing and enjoyable environment.
The location is perfect in that it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina to offer uncrowded beach areas etc. yet close enough to grocery shopping etc. to be convenient.
With the Grace of God - we will return in two years or with the Grace of God and a winning lottery ticket - much more often.
Mahalo for a gret time.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
3,998 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing