We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We have always stayed in Kihei so this was new to us. We flew in a day early and stayed at a motel just a few minutes walk down the beach the 1st night. The next day we checked in early and then toured around Lahaina until our room was ready. We stayed in the Napili Tower on the 3rd floor Island side. It was a great room. The parking kind of stinks because the parking by this tower is almost always full and the bigger garage is a little bit of a walk to this tower, but what's a little walk while in paradise. I dropped off my family and any bags we had and then went and parked.

We have 16yr old daughters and our 14yr old nephew and the only decision we struggled with was whether or not to swim in one of the pools or go to the beach. The pools are awesome! Every morning we would go snorkling down by the Black Rocks. I've snorkled in a few different places in Maui, even Molokini, and this is one of the best places. I even cancelled a snorkel trip to see the turtles, because we could see all we wanted at the rocks. We swam with 3 different turtles, stingrays, and plenty of fish almost every day. The beach is nice, but a little rocky once in the water. It gets better if you walk down towards Whalers Village to swim.

We are somewhat conservative spenders so we bought most of our food at Safeway in Lahaina, and just ate dinners out in Lahaina or Whalers Village. I did order the Moonfish from Longboards one night to go and it was expensive but great. We rented our snorkeling gear from a local place which was much cheaper for the week, bought inexpensive boogie boards at Safeway and gave them away when we left, and went to a timeshare presentation to get free tickets to a show and it was the lowest pressured presentation I've ever sat through and only took about 45 minutes.

To keep it real, the only things I didn't care for were that you have to pay for internet service in their computer room (unless you brought something with wireless), and that you have to rent beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. Just seems like they nickel and dime you a little bit with all the small stuff. Some of the places we've been before offer all of that for free.

I was a little worried when I read some of the comments on here before we left, but my family would go back in heartbeat. Overall, it's Maui, paradise, make the most out of it, and you won't regret it and there's no need to complain :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

We traded our Marriott Arizona timeshare for a 2br villa in the Lahaina & Napili Towers (not knowing which tower we would get). Having never been to Hawaii, we wanted to experience what we love in the Caribbean, but on US soil. Our son and future daughter-in-law would be joining us the next day. After 12 1/2 hours of flying, we picked up our rental car and drove the 40 minutes to the resort. We did stop at Safeway to pick up some supplies. We, along with others from the mainland, had sticker shock over the food prices but, hey, you're on an island, everything has to be flown in. So we arrive at the resort around 6pm. The front desk clerk was very helpful. We were given a corner 2 bdr oceanfront unit in the Napili Tower, 3rd floor. When we walked in, we were blown away by the view and a magnificent sunset. The villa itself was interesting, as we were to find out. It was very clean, well stocked, great kitchen, pretty furniture. However, the living room furniture was so uncomfortable we never wanted to sit there. We actually brought in the chair and ottoman from the master bedroom to switch with one of the chairs. The sofa was hard, low back, something you might find if you were staging a room and didn't care about comfort. The balcony was very small as a previous reviewer wrote. The 4 iron chairs and table were not comfortable at all. The maste bedroom was nice but I still don;t understand why they insist on a large Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Hey, this is Hawaii! Why would I want to sit in my bathroom with no view and take a bath? Be careful of the shower in the master bedroom. It's very slippery when you first walk into it. My son had the lockoff unit and said there were two problems. One was the short shower curtain. If it's not all the way in the tub, the bathroom will flood. The other was the lack of a nightstand on one side of the bed. There was a floor lamp but no table.

The parking is horrendous. That's the only word that can be used to descibe it. It's free unless you want valet which is $12/day. Part of the small 2 story parking garage by the Napili tower is used for valet. Not very smart. If the lot is full, which is always is after 8pm, you have to use the 12 story parking garage by the Lahaina tower. It's a very very long walk. The garages have narrow lanes and narrow parking spaces. You need your electronic key to get in the Lahaina garage but, even though it says for registered guests only, anyone from anywhere can use the Napili garage. There is nothing to show that a car belongs to a registered guest..

It sounds like I hate the place. Wrong! This place is heaven! Everything I just mentioned are minor inconveniences. The lobby, the gound, the pools are gorgeous and very well maintained. Great location, less than a 10 minute walk to Whalers Village and less than a 10 minute drive to Front Street. There was no problem getting chairs at the pool. Shade was another story, Yes, some people put their towels out early but , with 3 pools, it wasn't that bad. One night we bought some steaks and chicken and sides at Lahaina Farms (in the shopping center across the main street from Safeway) and had a bbq. They are a bunch of gas grills around the property and we ate while watching the sunset.

I kept pinching myself hoping that I wasn't dreaming. Maui is heaven and this resort was our own slice of paradise,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

First ocean front, 2 bedroom suite, they gave us was dark and smelly and on the ground floor. They let us look at another one (luckily there was another one to look at), and it was much better. However, fridge was not working, it didn't seal right so it never got cold, and the couch was full of disgusting food stains. They also never provided extra blankets and sheets for the pull out couch and it took forever to get some. Some of the elevators smell like a boys locker room. Hotel itself is in need of an upgrade. Very ugly in the hallways etc..They also used to have a restaurant open for breakfast and a Japanese restaurant as well. It's all gone. There's very little to eat right on the premises. A real pain to keep going out for meals. Service and people are just o.k., nothing special. Pool water is cold, and forget getting a seat under an umbrella unless you stake your claim early and don't leave all day. Not my idea of a vacation! The timeshare sales people are swarming everywhere you go trying to get you to buy more or upgrade. Maybe they should get a life or sell cars instead. It's really annoying being constantly asked to listen to them about their time-shares. Unfortunately, we are already stuck with one.
Big mistake to buy a time share with Marriott. Promise you all kinds of trades and places to go when they can't deliver and keep changing the rules. BEWARE!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank marlalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Marriott Ocean Club offered a fabulous view, great amenities, the beach was amazing. Plenty to do. Longboards has the best calamari appetizers and the servers are wonderful. The long beach walk offered many sights and shopping venues. Highly recommned.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I booked this hotel because of the great location (and my loyalty to the Marriott brand as a Platinum member), but that's really where the excitement ends. Hard to believe that Marriott is proud to brand this property with the rather cursory room remodel they did in the 'older' part of the vacation club property. I was in an oceanfront room in the Molokai tower, and again, the view and location were fantastic, but the room was about the caliber of an un-remodeled TownePlace Suites. I had higher expectations of my Marriott property, but I guess I should've booked the one in Wailea or ensured I stayed in the newer tower.
Having stayed at many Marriott resorts, from the JW Collection to the business properties, this isn't the crown jewel in the chain. If you want to stay in Kaanapali, I can recommend the Hyatt and Sheraton as much better than this Marriott having stayed at both within the past year. Oh well, next time I know better.
For families, this is a good place. There are a lot of childrens activities and the pool is quite large to keep the kids entertained. This is definitely not the property for a quiet or higher-end/higher-clientele stay. If you have descriminating tastes, you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We are owners at MOC and upgraded to the Napili Tower a couple of years ago. We had stayed at the MOC a couple of times before and didn't care for the interior blase interior hallways, not having a full kitchen or wash/dryer in the unit. The Napili Tower has all those appliances, plus easier and nicer entrances. The beds are very comfortable and the units are spacious, although not as spacious as in the older MOC. We were hoping that the pool in front of the Napili Tower would be more quiet with less kids as in the main pool, but not such luck. The jacuzzi was always filled with splashing kids, it was not very inviting. Luckily, the lawn area between the pool and beach was ideal for reading and napping, a place to catch some peace and quiet. There was quite a bit of sand in the Napili Pool because the rinse off showers were placed in the far corners of the pool, people didn't want to bother walking that far, so in they went from sandy beach into pool. Someone didn't plan the showers very well. There should be one at each entrance, at least a foot rinse.
Back to the unit - 2 small balconies with heavy iron furniture. 2 chairs and small table on 1balcony, the 2nd one barely fit 4 chairs and a eating table. It was a struggle to open the door and squeeze around, we ended up using the slider from the bedroom rather than the door which swung open the wrong way from the living room. The outdoor furniture is way too heavy, hard and too large for the size of the balcony. Cold to sit on too. We ended up taking the living sofa pillows and putting them on the chairs for comfort. Again that wasn't thought out well. Should have just stuck with the same MOC balcony furniture.
But the worst is the parking situation for Napili Tower guests. Extremely limited because it is mostly used by valets. The design is poor as well, once you're in, there's no way out except backing out. The parking structure over at the Lahaina Towers is a hike, was totally unacceptable. Self parking is complimentary for owners, but valet isn't until we complained and ended up getting comped for the valet as well. At least they acknowledged the problem and accommodated us. There is also little, if no control of who does park in the 2 story structure, even people that use the beach. No parking sticker, no gate, anyone can basically park there.
There are a few other annoyances with the units at the Napili Towers, but we learned to live with them for a week. And yes, people put their towels on the chairs by 6:30-7am and didn't use them for hours. No staff member came by to control the towel reserving of chairs which is something that they could have done a better job of. Housekeeping came in for the 'mid-week tidy' even though we had paid for a full clean. Apparently wasn't on their sheet. If we hadn't been in the unit at the time to be able to ask the maid, we probably wouldn't have gotten it yet paid for it. Came back again the following day for a full clean even though we only had 2 nights left.
Other than that, we love the location and enjoy Maui. Especially Mama's Fish House, watching the windsurfers, the Slackkey concert at Naplili Kai, Cirque Polynesia was entertaining, snorkeling at Honolua Bay, Slaughterhouse and N. Kaanapali Beach, breakfast and lunch at the Sea House and the casual, right off the beach, Castaways. The drive up to Julia's Banana Bread stand in Kahakuloa was quite the white knuckle experience, worth every scary mile. Kids even hiked down to the Olivine Pools for a swim , but not good if wearing flimsy flips. The week went by too fast - as always.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cleeclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We've decided that Kaanapali Beach is our favorite location on Maui. I feel the Marriott and Westin are in the ideal locations. The beach is long and wide in front of the Marriott. There is excellent snorkeling straight out from the Marriott once you get past the wave break. However, similar to many Hawaii beaches, rocks and coral are found near shore - bad for walking into the water, good for seeing fish. At the Marriott, there are 3 buildings (1) the old Marriott hotel (2) the Lahaina tower and (3) the Napili tower. We own an every other year timeshare week in the "old hotel" and have been there many times. If you trade-in or rent, everything is relative. The rooms in the old hotel that are not ocean view will probably be very disappointing (unless you paid very little and weren't expecting any view). Any room designated as "ocean view" will be very nice and give you a good view of the ocean. Any room in the Lahaina tower or the Napili tower will be new and very nice. The Marriott is within walking distance of the Whaler's Village, which provides you easy access to nice lunch/dinner choices. The sidewalk allows beach strolls from the Hyatt all the way to the Sheraton. The town of Lahaina is also close by and has many more dining options. The weather at Kaanapali tends to be a lot drier than Kapalua although Kapalua has the best golf course (the Plantation course). Go in the winter to see whales from your balcony. There are also some nice hikes on Maui. Favorite foods, Hula Pie at Leilani's and mac pancakes at the Gazebo, in case you were curious.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £304 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing