We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Point Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,093
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,053
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
280
93
14
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
280
93
14
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgazebo restaurantsea turtleshonokeana bayturtle coveocean frontdonna benderrocky shoreminute walktide poolssmall baydownstairs bedroomlocal girldaily maid serviceboogie boardsthese condosgreat snorkelingmacadamia nut pancakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We stayed here the middle of January though the middle of February. We booked one of the A-units directly through the owner afterreading several offers on line. Since we booked over a year in advance, we had no problems getting the unit we wanted. In fact our unit was guaranteed. There are three categories of A-units: point ocean front (A 1-12); ocean front (A 13-19) and ocean view (A 21-27). The point ocean front units are the most expensive, with view of both Moloka'i and Lana'i, while ocean view units have the lower pool in front of the turtle cove and glimpses of the two islands. The ocean front units, like the one we stayed in, overlook Lana'i and the turtle cove. With only nine feet from the grassy knoll, these units are ideal for lounging, gazing at the windsurfers/surfers and the turtles. If there is any drawback to these units, it's that many people choose to linger in awe of the turtles while standing directly in front of the lanai.

There are other units, to be sure. In fact, there are 120 units altogether. B units and C units are located by the upper level but a ways back from the A level unitls. (Photos give the erroneous impression that there are three levels--there are only two).
The C-level units are two-bedroom units and are fine for families or two couples. The loft-level bedroom has no door to ensure privacy. Access to these room are from the parking lot only. One must take a connecting path to the pools and beach walk.

What I find amazing about the A units is that one cannot hear conversations from inside the neighboring units. Unless a nearby units is chatting outside, these units are usually quiet. Be advised that strollers like to talk and this sound reverberates into the A units. At night, this isn't much of a problem. Outdoor gas grills are spaced apart on the grounds to allow grilling. On Monday afternoons, the management hosts a mai-tai party for everyone. Maids will drop a note to remind guests! Also in the reminder slip is a note that resident Nani likes to "talk story" while showing guests Hawaiian vegetation and also to learn the proper way to choose and cut a pineapple. Check the in-unit reminders for times and location.

Why am I giving this property four circles instead of five? Many of the units cater to massive turnover and the units do show wear and tear, although with limited maid service, these are usually clean. Other units are reguarly maintained with their owners constantly updating and replacing fixtures and furnishings. These are ideal units and while small (A units are 600 square feet) they are supremely comfortable.

There have been so many fine reports about nearby restaurants that to repeat them would be redundant. The newly renovated Ritz Carlton (Kapalua) has a magnificent $27 breakfast buffet "plus." I say "plus" because the servers will serve oatmeal, fresh mahi-mahi (yes, at breakfast!), and even bowls of fresh berries. I find the quality very high and certainly justifies the high price tag. Besides, this will eliminate the need to go out and splurge later! The Sea House restaurant, in addition to serving what I consider a first-class breakfast, offers a special slack key guitar program on Wednesday evenings. Expensive at $45, it nevertheless presents authentic island music and often features the Ukulele Boyz, an island treasure. (What used to be Fish & Poi at the Island Surf is undergoing a name change; the management has already changed.)

A stay at this resort is uncommonly satisfying. I am confident most will find this medium -end lodging worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We stayed in condo C-20, a 2 bed/ 2 bath unit. The condo is just a bit worn but otherwise very nice and clean. The kitchen was well equipped. The upper level condos at Napili Point provide fabulous views of the ocean and cove. You can watch the whales from the patio! In the 2 bedroom condos the upstairs bedroom is a loft style and open to the lower main floor. There is no a/c but the open windows and ceiling fans provide plenty of moving air and we were never uncomfortable. The open windows also allow you to listen to the ocean just below. Our condo had a very large wall mounted HDTV with many channels of digital cable (you won’t use the TV a lot, but it’s nice to have just in case).

Snorkeling is very good in the cove outside your condo and several sea turtles are always around. Also, it’s a short walk along an unfinished path to a very nice beach next door. If the ocean is not your thing, there are two clean and well maintained pools on property.

We had our kids along (boys, ages 6 & 9) and they loved Napili Point. There were not many kids here during our stay but that could have been due to our traveling during a time when schools are normally in session.

There are many restaurants within a short drive; several grocery stores close by; very close to Kapalua Resort; and about a 10-15 minute drive into Lahina.

Overall, Napili Point is a very nice place to stay and the prices are very fair for what you get compared to other properties on Maui.

You can Google this specific unit (C-20) for photos and information on how to rent directly from the owner. We rented through the resort.

The previous review of Napili Point by "belltravelers" is an excellent review with information we consider very accurate.

In the area we enjoyed eating at The Gazebo (yes, it's worth the wait), Roy's, Hula Grill, and Lahaina Grill. The kids really liked Roy's.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnorkelRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed in unit C3 which is a 2 bedroom point oceanfront category. Awesome view but I was disappointed in the unit itself. We have stayed in a 2 bedroom oceanfront (C12) and the square footage was greater. When we return we will stay in the oceanfront category. Each unit is individually owned so some have better amenities then others.
There were a few things that needed improvement, where the carpet met the tile the carpet tacks were sticking out and actually stuck my friends foot. The blinds in the upstairs vanity are approx 2 feet too narrow. The fridge took a long time to cool off but we put tons of warm sodas and beer in it so that was part of it but the filter for water didn't work either. We don't watch TV on vacation much but there was no TV in the upstairs loft. The bed was VERY firm and was great for me but may not be for others=). The shower in the downstairs bathroom was either firehose or dripping out.
Now for the positives...the view was AMAZING! From this unit there was nothing blocking our view of the whales breaching (Nov-Apr). This unit is very close to the walk way that leads to The Gazebo for breakfast (get in line by 7am and they open at 7:30). There was never any wait for the BBQ's and they had gas and coal ones. The turtles are great of course in the cove in front of the condo. Our favorite beach in Maui is the Napili Bay and it's a very short walk approx 150 yards from the door of our condo. On Monday nights they do a maitai party at the pool which is fun.
We went whale watching on Captain Steves and it was phenomenal! (6yrs and up) It is a hard bottom zodiac type boat. It was so great I went again while I was there=) and it's only $39 per person.
Our friends stayed in unit B28 a 1 bedroom ocean front category which was awesome because the kitchen and tiles in the bathroom at recently been renovated. You could walk right onto the lawn from the lanai which was nice and since it was a end unit no one walked in front of the lawn so it was like an extension of the patio/lanai. The view from B28 was great too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norcal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

When we visit Maui, we prefer Napili for the relaxed atmosphere.

We prefer renting a condo in Napili (vs a high-rise resort elsewhere) because:
** Space to spread out for everyone
** Dining Area with full kitchen/fridge for bfast &/or lunch
** Laundry facilities for small jobs in middle of stay
** Separate TV and sleeping areas to accomodate people
** Can get multiple bedrooms in one unit for families
** Napili condos are lower-rise buildings = lower people density, better views, generally more sq footage, quieter & more relaxing

Re: Napili Point
We stayed for 2 weeks in #C-13, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the top (C) level of the complex. Upstairs bedroom was a loft style area with king bed, & bathroom with shower only. Downstairs bedroom has 2 twin beds & bathroom with full tub & shower. Living area has table 4 chairs, sofa, side chairs. Lanai has small table & chairs, lounge chair & side table. Full kitchen/fridge w/ micro, blender, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, etc. 3 full sized closets; pool noodles, in room safe, foam ice chest, and small up/down closet washer/dryer (dryer vents into room... not a problem for us as we did small loads and dried at pm.)

Gorgeous ocean views from our condo include the cove just south of Napili with swimming sea turtles, rocky coastline with breaking ocean waves & surf towards Kahana (we've watched surfers & whales & sea turtles on the surface) and the view from the sofa is rather southwestern out to sea and includes the islands offshore. We look through 2 tall swaying palm trees at the ocean below & beyond - just lovely!

Outdoor facilites here are well-maintained, pretty pool on B level, mature landscaping, easy parking just outside the entrance to the room (always spaces in lot.)

The snorkeling in the cove adjacent (south) to the resort is rewarding when sea conditions are calm - the cove is full of tropical fish & sea urchins of several colors, we saw a large black octopus on the sea floor, many huge sea turtles swam with us throughout the cove, and several small schools of fish resting in the sandy bottom between the coral outcroppings. The rocky area leading into the water could be tricky for young children to navigate - I'd suggest that kids under 10 or so go to the sandy beach just north of the complex and snorkel/play there under adult supervision, as conditions are much safer. There's street parking and a public access area to that beach, including a fresh water faucet to wash the sand from your toes as you depart. We rented snorkel gear from Maui Dive Shop in Kahana Ctr by the week - they even had rental Rx masks for those with glasses; and they were as aloha-friendly as ever!

Re interior of #C-13: appliances were ok - newer fridge, older stove/vent/dishwasher, partially working toaster was cheerfully replaced. Air flow was great and high temps were in low 80s; the 2 bedroom units have windows on 2 sides for ventilation and ours had 3 ceiling fans sprinkled throughout. The kitchen could use a re-do as it's tired and the cabinet opening areas are greasy from many years of hands using them; the large bath/tub combo needs to be replaced as the grout is worn, stained & gaping where it meets the tub, with several large caulk patches also gaping; the plastic tub has surface scuffs/crazing; the upstairs shower floor tiles could use a scrubbing with degreaser/soap scum remover; and the ceiling fans need to have their blades thoroughly cleaned (black dirt on edges). The carpets are newer and clean, hard floors are ceramic tiles, wiped clean daily by maids. The upstairs king mattress is old and hard - we bought a 4" foam/poly mattress pad at Costco and new pillows (the ones in the condo are dreadful) - and we slept in comfortable luxury!

The resort staff are aloha-friendly and helpful; maid service was delightfully performed each morning. We bought internet access for our room (equipment already in place including connection cables - we plugged in the laptop and voila! connected!)

For food = bfast at Gazebo next door & in room (Napili market 3 blocks away; large Safeway in Lahaina); take-away lunches from Mamas Ribs & Napili Smoothie (they have good grilled panini sandwiches) also Subway & Maui Tacos (we couldn't find the fish in their fish tacos) in same Napili Plaza center.

Dinner = we were pleased with the places nearby in Kahana Center, 1)Outback was consistently great, and welcomed us with warm aloha our first night after unpacking. 2)Maui Brewing has excellent pork ribs & salads & microbrews & Maui grown steaks; 3)the ice cream shop had terrific island ice cream flavors from a local Maui ice cream co (Roselani?) (lilikoi, coconut, cherry, chocolate macadamia)...there's also a Roys Restaurant & Shell Gas station & McDonalds & Maui Dive Shop in the center.

To our delight, we found many excellent, high-end restaurants on the beach for sunset dining in Maui this time... Mala, Pacific'o, i'o, Hula Grill and others in Lahaina. We found Sansei's sushi in Kapalua to be both over-rated & over-priced, even with the 25% discount. We avoided Wailea restaurants because of mixed reviews on this site and elsewhere... and why bother when there are many to choose from in Lahaina/Kahana/Kapalua areas?

We also enjoyed Hula Grill's casual Barefoot Bar several times for dinner (live music & hula dancer 6:30-9pm), with validated parking in the whaler's village pkg garage.

We used several discount coupons provided by Napili Point's mgmt - kudos to them as they saved us some money and we appreciate it.

Would we stay here again? Yes. With kids? - only when they're 10 & up. For families with younger kids, I'd choose a different Napili condo resort right on the sandy beach where the access to the beach & snorkeling is safer.

Overall, 2 thumbs up to Napili Point Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Belltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Stayed in Unit A2, on the point. We have stayed there in the past and the stay has always been a delight, and this was no exception. The unit was in great shape, with relatively new appliances. The views are special indeed -- the two islands, the sunsets. Turtles were in the bay, and the Napili and Kapalua beaches retain their charm. We spend most of the time at Kapalua, sitting under a tree, snorkeling off the beach, and having fun watching the people. We also walked every day along the coast, hugging the Kapalua resort property -- great vistas, little company, what more could one ask for. Traveling to Maui also means Lahaina, trips to Hana, good restaurants, dancing, singing, etc., and we were most pleased with all we did on the trip. Remember, when you land go to COSTCO, the prices on the island are high -- join the locals in getting a good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews