We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort great, individual unit OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Resort great, individual unit OK”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked an oceanview unit through their website and with the 5th day free felt I was getting a good deal. Wanted the proximity of Napili Bay and the ability to see turtles in the bay. Family of 5 including 3 kids, ages 13, 11, and 7.

First, the resort. Loved it. Great location. Relatively quiet. Beautiful grounds. And lots of turtles in the bay. We snorkeled every day with a family of no less than 6 turtles who appeared to live in the bay. Very easily walkable to the beach at Napili. Sunsets are spectacular just sitting on the lanai or out on the grounds. Every unit looks like it has a view. Staff was great. Parking was no problem. Absolutely nothing bad to say about the resort (would be a 5-star rating were it just based on the resort itself and not the unit...)

The unit we stayed in was C-44 and we were pleased to see that it was an end unit, which meant that instead of having one bedroom downstairs and one upstairs loft, it had two full bedrooms on a single story (the second floor of the building) and a larger lanai than the other units. The picture on TA for this resort looks like it could have been taken from our balcony. The interior was furnished nicely and there were beach chairs and boogeyboards in the closet for use (could have used an umbrella, too, but that's getting a bit picky!). The biggest complaint with this unit was the road noise. The master bedroom is on the end of the building, and the windows look like they're 30 years old (the old louver-style windows), so even with the windows closed, you're listening to cars/trucks/motorcycles going by while trying to sleep. Some units had upgraded windows, but this one didn't. You end up getting used to the noise a bit, but I'd rather listen to the ocean when going to bed rather than motorcycles. If I were to do it again, I'd step up to the 'oceanfront' category and add a little bigger buffer between me and the road. Would definitely stay at the resort again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms immediately adjacent to the road (i.e some in the 'oceanview' category). Try to...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

With regard to your comments on the road noise, the bedroom windows that face on to the road have double pane windows to help with the sound. All of the other windows on the property are jalousie style which are very popular in the Hawaiian Islands, because when open allow more air flow.

We were glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    84
    14
    15
    6
See reviews for
164
139
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and I love it more each time. All of the amenities of home with wonderful service and close proximity to all that Maui has to offer. Two gorgeous pools overlook the bay, a great retreat at the end of the day. Also a few wonderful restaurants within walking distance, try " the gazebo" for breakfast but get there early or you will wait! Wonderful trip, looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauimama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our property and for being part of our ohana (family). We are happy to hear that you love staying with us more each time you visit!

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be soon.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great spot to relax! Turtles a plenty. Close to other great beaches. Don't forget to reserve the old lahaina luau. Find the gazebo for breakfast, and enjoy the macadamia nut pancakes. Definitely will return for some chill time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kr0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Napili Point Resort! Thanks also for your recommendation/tips on the Old Lahaina Luau and Gazebo Restaurant.

Just a quick reminder for everyone to check out our “Napili Point Resort” Facebook Fan Page to view all of the amazing Maui photos to include may honu (turtle) ones. You don’t need a Facebook account to access our page. Once there, click on the Photo button and “View All” to view all albums. (There’s also a photo posted of those macadamia nut pancakes you wrote about!)

We hope that you come visit again very soon – Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rooms are a little dated but clean. No air conditioning but surprisingly we were able to sleep with it being a little warm. Pool is small but the view from the condos is AMAZING!!!! Snorkeling is great!!! There are turtles ALL THE TIME!!!!! The turtles and snorkeling is what makes this place so great. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley.cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Mahalo for your comments – we agree that the views from the condos are amazing. Our location is spectacular!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our units are “naturally” air conditioned by the Hawaiian trade winds which allows our guests to enjoy the sound of the ocean just steps outside their front doors!

It never ceases to amaze us just how enjoyable the honu (turtles) are to watch! We hope that you are able to come visit us (and them) again very soon. (We have lots of honu photos on our Facebook page (click on Albums and the "View All". You don' t need a Facebook account to enjoy our site.)

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 6 great days here and were very happy to find that the whole place lives up to the claims on the website! We stayed in Unit C1, which is on the upper level on the far end of the Point Ocean Front building. We had requested this unit after looking at the interactive map, and were extremely grateful to Keith for honouring our request. Being an end unit, there are extra windows on the north side to allow superior air flow thru the unit. We did not need to use the fans at all during our stay!
The whole complex is well maintained inside and out and the unit was in top condition. The kitchen was great and all furnishings were comfortable and clean. We spent the most time out on the private lanai overlooking Honokeana Bay and across to Moloka’i. The sunsets afforded many great photo opportunities and we could star gaze with ease due to only strictly necessary security lighting being used.
We appreciated the fact that Napili Point is not a resort and we could just do our own thing! There are lovely gardens to walk or sit in and it is an easy walk to the beach next door. There is ample parking available.
We would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: It is worth going to the Point Ocean Front building - you get all the ocean breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandrincruzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property and your recent stay with us. We have passed along your comments to the unit owner and our staff.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is very soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a great place to let everything drop and just watch the sun arc across the sky. It's certainly not a nature preserve with condos occupying every perch above the water, but you're going to see plenty of turtles as soon as you submerge in the cove out front (or is it the back?).
The seaward view is sublime with islands and, well, ocean, and if the whales are there, you'll see them.
The unit we stayed was well-appointed...not luxurious, but low key, clean, workable. Exactly how I'd decorate mine if I owned one.
The front desk staff were friendly and fun to talk to - overall it had the vibe of some of the best KOA Kampgrounds I stayed in as a kid, but it's right on the water, you're staying in a condo, you can fill your fridge with tropical drinks or whatever floats your boat, sip 'em on the patio, amble down to the cove for a swim, walk around the corner for some beach time, hit the pool if you like, BBQ on your own or walk to a BBQ restaurant...
We will be back...and I'd keep it a secret except that they were just a little slow, business-wise when we were there in Feb 2013 and I want it to be around when we come a knocking to buy one of the units in a few years.

Room Tip: I don't think you can really go wrong - we stayed on the true ground floor, but every room we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review on our property and your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you visited familiar places and enjoyed the beauty of the island, and agree that Napili Point Resort is a very restful and beautiful place.

Your compliments on the staff have been passed on to them. We look forward to your next visit as a return guest (or new owner!) and hope that it is very soon.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

First the good: Every unit in this condo complex has a lovely ocean view. The units are all individually owned so decor varies. We were in C-39, on the second level. We had two bedrooms (one a loft), two baths, a large living room, and a nicely upgraded, well-outfitted kitchen. Plenty of room for our family of three. C-39 is rather close to the main road, however, so there was noise from passing cars. Requesting a unit away from the street would solve that problem. Also, the daily maid service is friendly and efficient.

The grounds are well-maintained. There are two relatively small pools and several bar-be-cues. This is not a big hotel-like resort and it is very quiet. The clientele tend to be couples and families.

There is no restaurant on site. However, the Napili Shores next door has two, including the Gazebo, popular for breakfast and lunch and highly recommended.

The shoreline outside is rocky but offers excellent snorkeling for those willing to brave the rocks to enter and exit the water. The condo to the south has stairway access, but, unfortunately, restricts it for the use of their guests only. Just on the other side of Napili Shores to the north, however, is a sandy beach very popular for both snorkling and swimming.

Now the not so good: The interior of our unit was overrun with geckos - small and not so small lizards the Hawaiians consider good luck. They appeared suddenly in the evening and crawled up and down the walls and on the raised ceiling mostly out of reach. This might be a positive for some, (and I certainly have no objection to outdoor wildlife), but I was not thrilled about paying $315 a night to share my living space with lots of reptiles. Just personal preference.

All in all, a good mid-range property for those looking for relaxation in Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkttoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time in paradise!

With respect to comments on the geckos in the unit, they can be seen climbing the walls of buildings in search of insects that are attracted to porch lights or interior lights – especially in the evening hours. They usually tend to stay outside however will go inside when given the opportunity. The most common occurrence is when we leave doors and screens ajar.

Napili Point Resort is a beautiful place to stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo again for your comments,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
On-site Rental Program, Napili Point Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
3.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Property: Napili Point Resort
Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing