We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for you if you need air conditioning.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not for you if you need air conditioning.”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The only bad reviews talk about the lack of air conditioning. We loved it and the ceiling fan and the large screen door kept the room cool enough to sleep comfortably at night. This is laid back place where down to earth people can enjoy. Bring your own beer or glass of wine out to the pool area or BBQ your dinner on the many Grills available close to your room. If you are the kind of people who like to be waited on don't come here because we don't want to hear you complain. We enjoyed the nightly ritual of watching the sunset from the beach front pool area. (We even saw the "Green Flash" one night.) Great beaches within walking distance from our room. Snorkel with the turtles at the bay 200 yards away or enjoy swimming and snorkeling at the beach which is 100 yards from the complex. They provided a 25' wire for the free hard wired internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnanneontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Mahalo for your kind words about our resort! While we do not have Air Conditioning in our rooms, most people feel that it is not necessary with our nice breezes and good airflow in the units. It also allows our guests near the ocean to hear the waves as they break on the tide pools below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    287
    58
    22
    9
See reviews for
185
331
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, HI
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Staff excellent, from front desk to maintenance. Room immaculate, amenities outstanding. This is a wonderful place to stay. Reminds me of hotels in Hawaii when I was a child, no A/C, just lots of sea breezes, and ceiling fans. So relaxing.

Little cove great for swimming and tide pool exploring. BUT watch out for current that will take you down the coast if you go out too far swimming or paddleboarding...we had to call 911 as an inexperienced couple was getting nowhere trying to paddle their stand-up boards back to shore...they kept drifting toward Lahaina. They had to be escorted in.

Room Tip: no room service, no fitness center. BUT, if you can spend a few extra dollars, get the ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Mahalo nui loa! Your comments reflect exactly what we strive to provide in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I've stayed at the ONP twice in the last month. First time was with my wife. It was so nice that I brought my friend back here to stay a couple of nights three weeks later. This hotel is very cozy and located next to one the best bay beaches in Maui. Soft sand and lots of turtles in the afternoon. The staff here is wonderful and have true aloha spirit. The way we have been treated here ensures that we will stay nowhere else when we return in a few months. I want to give a special Mahalo to Paula, she went above and beyond to make both of my trips here the best we've had in our five trips to Maui. Looking forward to staying here and swimming with the turtles again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polarbear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The research through TripAdvisor really paid off. We stayed at the Outrigger Napili Shores August 2012. It was very clean. It had a well stocked kitchen with EVERYTHING we needed! The hotel staff was pleasant and very, very courteous! Nice resort and quiet. Two pools!!! And the Gazebo Restaurant was first rate for a great breakfast. Usually a little bit of a line to get in, the line starts before 7AM for a 7:30AM open. This was a fantastic experience for our first time there. Parking was good, room was so comfortable. We liked everything about the experience. Did I mention how nice the staff was? Gas grills were nice and cleaned everyday. Timers for lights and to turn on the gas was very well thought out! They clean rooms every fourth day to give you time and a little space. We liked that.

Beautiful gardens with koi ponds!!! And we felt really secure. There's no air conditioning in the room, but they have big windows to allow the sea breezes in. We left the HUGE sliding glass door open to allow flow-through ventilation. This was a well thought out condo-like setting.

Check into your room and go to Napili Market to get supplies! We got some steaks, couple of lobster tails, potatoes, salad fixings and had a wonderful relaxing dinner. Redbox is there also, rent a movie and just relax! Your still close to everything else on the island. But there may be some nights you just want to sit on the patio and talk/laugh.

We HIGHLY recommend the Outrigger Napili Shores as a great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Check into your room and go to Napili Market to get food supplies! The Gazebo starts taking phone or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at Outrigger Napili Shores in July 2012. I wouldn't exactly call these rooms condos. They are one room hotel rooms one queen bed, a small pull out sofa bed, a chair, dresser with a tv and a small kitchen at one end. The hotel area is small, only two floors and has rooms on either side of a center pool area. The first floor rooms have a small patio and the upstairs have a small balcony with a table and chairs. They are kept clean and you can tell they have been remodeled quite recently. The area is nice if you do not want to be around crowds and do not care if you do not have the fancy pools and big amenities. I will note that there is no air conditioning. Napili gets cooler temperatures than Lahaina but if it got much hotter it would have been very uncomfortable. Only ceiling fans cool the room and we had to keep the windows opened all night to get some air through the room. If anyone (not just your neighbors) staying on the site decided to get a little noisy at night you could not escape it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraTrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We rented a condo on our first trip to Maui. We did alot of research through TripAdvisor eliminating many places around the island. We felt we would have everything we needed at Napili Shores. We were not disappointed. The condo was very clean, comfortable and up to date. We had reserved a unit with an ocean view and the place delivered. Of course Maui's weather was a big part of our memorable trip. Warm sunny days with a constant gentle breeze to cool you down. Having the ocean just steps from the complex didn't hurt either. There was a wide variety of renters at Napili Shores. Older couples ( we're included ) to families with young kids. Alot of activity during the day but remarkable quiet at night. The staff at Napili Shores was very friendly and helpful - we will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their strengths. Best for ocean view are upstairs in buildings B & H. Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatH2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Mahalo ui loa! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just got back from my wedding trip to Maui and after a few sarches we decided to stay at Outrigger Napili Shores. We loved everything about it and of course we cannot wait for our first anniversary so we can return again... We stayed at partial ocean view room, where we could see the gazebo restaurant, the garden and of course the amazing view of the ocean. A short walk to the turtle bay and the beach. A short drive or walk to Kapalua Bay (where we got married), all these great places where you can relax, enjoy the sunset, snorkel, swim, sun-tan and meet great people... Loved Napili Shores!!!

Room Tip: B213 (partial ocean view room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Mahalo,

Napili is quite a destination for those seeking a more traditional Hawaiian experience! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,073 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing