We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Nearby Hotels
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
321
300
60
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
300
60
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgazebo restaurantupper poolocean frontmacadamia nut pancakeshot tubplumeria treesfull kitchenoceanfront studiothere is no air conditioningturtle baygarden viewlouvered windowslow keybody surfingminute driveevery morninggreat snorkeling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Quiet, well maintained, ocean view, nice cafe attached, north out of the busy Lahiana area, and has two general stores/strip malls with eateries within 5 - 10 minutes, Wife and I used this place for four nights as home base for exploring Maui. It worked out perfectly for us, especially with the kitchenette, microwave and coffee maker. Wouldn't hesitate to go back if given the chance.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the "B" building. Had a decent ocean view and was central to the resort.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffry P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Mahalo! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was my first trip to Maui and we will definitely come back to this property. The Staff was great. Our room was perfect right on the beach. Laid back atmosphere and I loved the fact that there was no air conditioning. You dont need it here. I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a clean safe and tranquil place to stay. I will be back again. Aloha

Room Tip: I would recommend the First floor condos
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Mahalo! We could not have said it better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This property had everything I had hoped for...........I wanted to share the weeks with my grown children and so rented the one bedroom. My daughter's family (two kids) came for the first week and we found there was enough nearby to explore without going too far. . Snorkeling was a short walk away and a bay filled with turtles was nearby as well. The beach at Napili was easy for the kids as the waves are gentle and yet fun. The next week my other daughter arrived and the accomodations were great for her gourmet cook husband and comfortable for drinks on the lanai and a swim at the pool. The green grassy area makes the property feel expansive and spacious and that allows for more relaxation. The people who work at Napili Shores are helpful and gracious. You can't beat the sunsets! We rented from the rental pool rather than from an individual owner and possibly the service improves when this is done.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_g0_lucky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our stay in September 2012 was our 14th at Napili Shores. Since our first visit in 1984, we have been charmed by the resort and have recommended it to others. Our most recent stay was not quite as pleasant, which was a disappointment. That said, here’s a fair and honest review to help others decide if Napili Shores is the perfect fit for the kind of vacation you’re looking for.

ROOMS/CONDOS: It would probably be somewhat misleading to describe these units as condos. Both floor plans (the one bedroom and the studio units) are on the small side. For more than two people in a unit, it could feel crowded. However, the lack of size has never been a compromise for the enjoyment we get (as a couple) staying in an oceanfront unit. Everyone has their own preferences in location, but in our opinion, the view from the ‘A’ building is the best seat in the house. Units are well kept but not upscale. Furnishings are modest. Don’t expect for appliances to be state-of-the-art. The kitchens are equipped for fixing most meals. There’s no A/C, but ceiling fans and leaving your sliding glass door open usually provide comfortable sleeping conditions. It’s good to note that often you have your sliding glass doors and louver windows open and the walls are fairly thin, so considerate neighbors are appreciated during quiet times! (i.e. TVs, voices, foot traffic to units, doors closing, etc.) Sometimes the waves can be ‘too loud’ in the oceanfront buildings. Garden view units hear people come and go from the parking lot. Ample free parking.

GROUNDS: The grounds are well maintained and very pretty. Wide areas of grass provide plenty of room for kids to throw a Frisbee. A giant checker board is tucked under plumeria trees. There are two well-maintained swimming pools (garden pool and oceanfront pool) and a Jacuzzi. Gas grills and picnic tables are available near both pools. A laundry room with coin-op machines is located under the front desk/lobby area. The complex has an “Old Hawaiian” ambiance that is peaceful and beautiful. Don’t miss taking a drink out to the oceanfront pool deck or grassy knoll overlooking the ocean for a fantastic vantage point for spectacular sunsets. You’ll have the company of other guests who enjoy doing the same and it’s also a good time to share or ask for tips about the island.

LOCATION: The location is one of the biggest reasons we’ve come back time and time again. Napili Bay is one of the best beaches on the island. (unless you are looking for something like Waikiki Beach with tons of people and lot of action!) Napili Bay is a beautiful crescent-shaped bay that is perfect for relaxing on the beach, swimming or floating in the waves, body surfing (or boogie boarding, depending on the surf) and snorkeling. Turtles can be seen in the rocks in front of the walkway that leads from the public access to the beach and from the second floor units in Building A. You can snorkel either in Napili Bay or Honokeana Cove (in front of neighboring complex Napili Point). Honokeana Cove is more of a challenge to get into -- but the snorkeling is among the best spots on the island. Most mornings (aside from bad weather creating poor conditions) the cove is crystal clear and you can see beautiful coral heads, colorful fish and if you take your time and look closely, at least 5 ‘resident’ turtles.

RESTAURANTS: The Gazebo is open for breakfast and lunch. It continues to be be a success, so there is often a line to get seated. (phone in orders for take out
are accepted) Favorites are the macadamia pancakes and omelettes. Help yourself to free coffee as you stand in line to be seated. Café O’Lei is an option if you don’t want to leave the property for dinner. Comments are that the food is affordable and good. This restaurant overlooks the koi pond. There is a restaurant at Napili Kai Beach Resort (at the other end of the crescent shaped Napili Bay) called Sea House. They’ve provided some competition for what people claim are ‘great breakfasts without the lines’, lunch and dinners in a pleasant atmosphere. You can walk down the beach to eat there.

STAFF: Unfortunately, here is where we were disappointed. Numerous times we (and other guests) had issues with the key card to get into our room and a majority of the front desk staff members we encountered were not understanding nor showed any empathy. The garden pool and jacuzzi were not in use for the first 3 days we were there and in the days to come the Jacuzzi was not heating properly. Again, the majority of the front desk staff members did not seem to care and everyone we spoke with had a different reason as to why it wasn’t working. Without going into detail, we encountered many of the staff members who did not have the “true aloha spirit” that other reviewers commented on. These employees were not pleasant or helpful, which reflected poorly on Napili Shores. To be fair, we DID encounter a couple of staff members as well as the general manager who were very kind and considerate.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the second floor of Building 'A' are the 'best seats in the house'.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Mahalo for this complimentary review of our resort. We try very hard to make sure all aspects of each stay exceed your expectations. We do sincerely appologize for the issues you encountered with key cards and the spa. At the time of your stay we had just purchased a new key card system which our existing key cards did not work well. We have replaced the old cards and all should now work well.

The spa did also develop a mysterious habit of shutting the heater off which our pool representative made a few failed attempts to resolve. This was the reason for the confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have been to this property several times and have enjoyed it every time. We usually book through outrigger and have been pleased every time. We decided to book through owner because it was a little cheaper. If you book through owner you do not get any of the room services provided by outrigger, meaning no towel service, room cleaning, no extra toilet paper etc. You gave to call the maid service and beg for to if you run out. This is a great property and we will continue to stay but will book through outrigger next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachtimeDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Mahalo for your complimentary review of our property! Guests who rent through Outrigger do receive a number of advantages that may not be available for an independently rented unit. They include, maintenance, housekeeping, free beach towel exchange, on site management, the ability to change rooms in the event a view is not to your liking or an issue develops with any given room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews