We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Napili Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Madison ,WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Napili Bay”
Reviewed 25 November 2005

The Outrigger Napili Shores has beautiful grounds and awesome views of the ocean and other islands. I was somewhat nervous about booking this hotel because the people I talked to that had been to Maui told me I should stay in Kaanapali. I was so glad that I booked a hotel in Napili Bay. Very pleasant and low key atmosphere to come back to after exploring the island. The only issue we had was that for 2 full days of our 5 day stay, the maintenance crew was power sanding/grinding the tile of the upper pool which our room overlooked. When we asked to be moved the only room they said was available was only one building away so we didn't bother.
I would recommend walking over to the Napili Kai Seahouse restaurant for breakfast. They said that they also had entertainment at night but we never got back to hear it. It was right on the sand and gives you a different view of the bay. The Gazebo was also terrific and we loved watching the sea turtles in the waves.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maddy2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    287
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
184
331
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2005

We have been to Maui 11 times and have always stayed at Napili Shores. Haven't considered staying anyplace else! If you are looking for a high-rise luxury hotel in the hub of the action, this is not the place for you. If you'd like the intimate feel of "true Hawaii", come here! Where do I start? The staff at the front desk is friendly. There is a laundry room (coin operated machines) down below the lobby. They also have a nice restaurant adjacent to the lobby, but we haven't eaten there. The oceanfront Gazebo restaurant serves delicious breakfasts and lunches. Their macadamia nut pancakes are a must! The line that forms there each morning is a good indication of how good their food is. (The line moves fairly fast -- just bring a cup of coffee to sip on as you enjoy a poolside and oceanfront view.) The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There is a giant checker-board and shuffle board. There are two pools; one in the garden area (with a jacuzzi) and one oceanfront (next to The Gazebo). There are well-kept BBQS and picnic tables near both pools. The units we've stayed in have always been neat, clean and accommodating. Both studio units and the one-bedroom units have fully equipped kitchens. There is a good-sized grocery store in the Napili Plaza only a couple of miles away. Keep in mind that the garden units' bedroom windows face out toward the two (side) parking lots, so it can be a little noisy if people are coming and going before you arise. The two oceanfront buildings are studio units, only. Building "A" is rated A1 with it's view of the ocean AND beautiful Napili Bay. Speaking of Napili Bay -- this is another reason we stay here time after time! It is a short walk out the side gate and down a palm-tree lined sidewalk to the beach. The crescent beach is the perfect place for just about any beach activity...whether you want to just plunk down in the sand under a palm tree, go boogie boarding or body surfing, float on an air mattress in the 'softer' waves (toward Napili Kai Beach Club), or snorkel. You may never want to leave the 'neighborhood' -- but if you do, DEFINITELY save a day or two to stay right here!
Napili Shores has a rocky shorefront with gorgeous sunsets over Molokai. It is perfect for kids (of any age) to go exploring in the morning during low tide. Off to the right of this rocky shoreline is the pure white sand of Napili Bay. If you walk around to the left side, you will find Honokeana Cove, which is a wonderful little snorkeling spot. The coral heads are beautiful and the tropical fish AND sea turtles are plentiful! The only drawback is getting in and out of the bay, which can be tricky. We call Napili Shores our 'home away from home' and would go back there in a heartbeat! It's far enough away from the touristy areas of Kaanapali and Lahaina, yet close enough to make the short drive to their restaurants, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon. We were impressed with the cleanliness and even though the studios were nothing fancy they were well equiped. Th lack of a/c was a problem, but it was nice to have your own lanai striaght out to the BBQ and pool area. There are two pools and the bootom one overlooks the ocean and it's great to sit here and watch the sunset and watching turtles bobbing in the water. We enjoyed the outdoor gas BBQ's as it gave us a chance to meet other people, and we enjoyed the happy hour in the bar! Our main problem was that it is a few miles away from the main restaurants and bars. While we enjoyed the tranqulility of this area we did spend a lot more money to get taxis to the lively area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EnglandKelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2005

My second trip to Napili Shores in less than a year (lucky me!), this time with a toddler in tow. My husband & I were impressed with the place when we stayed in Nov 2004 and when a bundle of frequent flyer miles were due to expire, we couldn't pass up the chance to go again. We returned to this location because we found it to be very family-friendly and wanted to bring our 2-year-old this time. Great location for kids- the garden pool is heated and the beach is perfect for little ones. Waves are gentle and there's snorkeling right off the beach. The kitchen really comes in handy when traveling with kids.

We mostly ate in the room and used the BBQs in the common area, but did have a few great meals while visiting. Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina has a great view and reasonably-priced, good food. Komi's (also in Lahaina) served a beautiful sunset dinner. Maui Tacos (right near the Napili Market) had good food also at reasonable prices. The Gazebo (on the grounds) is a good coffee shop in a fabulous location.

Our room was an ocean view (and there was a view, spectacular sunsets) on the second floor (building B). And in August it is HOT! The angling of the buildings does not allow for a good breeze to come through, but the staff provided a fan and we survived. The heat was not as much of an issue during our Nov stay, but we did move from a 1st floor to a 2nd floor room then so we could sleep with the windows open.

Resort staff are friendly and accomodating, but I did find the "activities director/ concierge" to be unfriendly and unhelpful. Her suggestion for what to do on the island with a 2-year-old was a helicopter ride (at $150 each). Right. Instead we went to the Maui Ocean Center (where the director did not earn a commission for our visit!) and found it to be a world-class aquarium and a perfect place to spend a less-than-perfect beach day. The restaurant on the grounds there is excellent. Highly recommend a visit there for adults and kids of all ages.

Rooms are in need of some maintenance. Dated decor doesn't bother me, but the toilet conking out in the middle of the night was a problem. Other repairs in the unit also needed to be done while we were there, but the staff responded quickly.

Great place for a low-key, family friendly vacation. Would return, but will also consider some of the other resorts in Napili Bay that front the same beach.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tinkleflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoast_Girl
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I stayed here for 2 nights this month with my mom. We booked our room through Travelocity[...] for a good rate. Upon arrival, the front desk could not find our reservation, but they immediately upgraded us to a 1 bedroom garden (from a studio garden), so we were happy. The room was spotless, and had everything that we needed. No air conditioning, but with the ocean brezzes and ceiling fans, it was fine. The 2nd night, they gave us another option of upgrading to a 1 bedroom ocean view, which we glady accepted. The staff is very nice and so friendly which gave a warm first impression os Maui! We never ate at the Gazebo restaurant but it was always full and I know it is highly recommended.

We had a full kitchen so it was nice to buy groceries and eat breakfast on the lanai. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with 2 pools, and all amenities were very nice. Napili Bay is adjacent and a 1 minute walk over some rocks to get to. If you are looking for an elaborate resort, this place is not for you. It's a smaller, cozier stay. I would definitely return.

The only downside is that the 1 bedrooms have an open window (up high) facing the parking lot, which can be a bit noisy. Otherwise, a great stay!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2005

Napili Shores was what I expected. A fairly quiet, serve yourself piece of paradise in heaven. At time the pool area can be loud, so if you want quiet, ask for a room away from the pools. Other then that, everything is spotless. The condo has everything you need to make yourself at home. The BBQ grills are plentiful, clean and great to use. It is also a nice place to meet new friends and share ideas for cooking. Seeing the turtles in the morning out in the bay was a great way to start off each day. While the maid service was every three days, that worked out very well. Full time around the clock security walked the hotel giving us a very safe feeling.
This condo is not the Westin or the Marriott. You are about 5 miles for a grocery store and 8 miles to Lahaina, but that is one of the beauty parts. Very little if any crowds. What Napili Shores is is a very wonderful place to come home to each day with a great view, clean park like setting, your choice of two very nice pools and wonderful people. If that is what you are looking for, you will find it here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PeterV54301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2005

Stayed in studio for one night. It was fine, although no bargain. However, the front desk staff were extremely nice. The resort is right on Napili Bay, which we loved. Calm, warm water, and the best snorkeling withouth going out far. The reef is easy to swim to, tons of fish, and enough sea turtles to make seeing at least one pretty likely. Having discovered this, we wanted to spend as much time as possible at the beach on the day of our checkout (and flight back to the mainland). Although late checkout wasn't availble, they provided a "hospitality room" for one hour in the early afternoon so that we could shower and pack our stuff. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dabbler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing