We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2006

We loved our week at Napili Shores! Best things about the property are the proximity to Napili Bay (great for swimming and boogie-boarding), the quiet (despite lots of kids being onsite -- including our own :) --, it was VERY quiet in the evenings, which we loved), the grounds (lush and beautiful), and the 2 onsite restaurants (the macadamia nut pancakes at the Gazebo are well worth the long lines). I liked being away from the hustle and bustle of Kaanipali -- it would have driven me crazy to be there all week.

We picked a garden-view 1-bedroom (#241) and were pleased by the size of the unit and kitchen amenities (blender, dishwasher, spatulas, etc.). Despite there being no AC, we were fine with just the fans on and the lanai doors open. Also, the other people staying at the property were all very nice and we chatted with a number of the other families. I liked that the property was so multi-generational, with everyone from the very young to the very old hanging out by the pools. All in all, it was the perfect choice for our little family.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Calgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    282
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
181
321
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Outrigger Napili Shores from May 17-22 2006. We had a good time. The room was very clean and nice, the resort is just to the left of Napili Bay (as you look out towards the ocean).

Food:
The gazebo restaurant is nice for lunch and breakfast with a good view. The banana macadamia nut pancakes were definitely good, however from all the rave reviews I expected more. I had the same pancakes in Kihei at a little diner in a strip mall (can't remember the name) that were just as good. There is a line every morning. So if you don't feel like waiting in line, walk up the beach to the North. At the other end of the bay is another resort with a nice restaurant which is also on the beach, and not crowded. Breakfast was reasonable ($8-10 each roughly) considering it's a resort.

There is also Maui Tacos and Napili Market in the Napili Plaza, which come in handy being so close by. Maui Tacos is like a Roberto's Mexican Food. They have pictures of many famous people on the walls that have visited the place, so that was cool to see.

We also ate at Cheeseburger in Paradise in Lahaina for the view (food wasn't bad either, just not a huge selection as you can guess by the name), as well as Subway (trying to stay on a budget).

We ate out at Hula Grill in the Whaler's Village in Kaanapali one night. It was expensive but the view was spectacular and the food and mixed drinks (banana mac) were very good. You can see some pics of the sunset in the attached photos.

Activities:
We didn't do any tours, we just went to various beaches and snorkeled. Napili Bay was ok, however a couple days the waves were a little rough and it made the visibility bad for snorkling. However it most likely was like this in other beaches facing the same direction.

We had the best snorkling experience in Wailea Beach. It's a public beach in between expensive resorts (the Four Seasons being one of them). Get there early or on a weekday to get a parking spot, otherwise you're out of luck. At the south end of the beach are some rocks. It looks like nothing is there. However a boat or 2 offshore from them should be your first clue. As you get out there past the rocks, there's quite a bit of coral and fish.

We didn't get a chance to try Kapalua Bay (next time!).

We did do the road to Hana, we went early to avoid the traffic. It worked. It's a nice ride, however bring your mosquito repellant if you want to get out and hike up around some of the waterfalls! I also got bit a couple of times sitting outside our room at the resort, which was a bummer, we couldn't really eat outside our room like we wanted to (another excuse to go eat out at the beach restaurant though ;).

Once you've done the road to Hana, you don't really need to do it again. It's a long drive, and there's nothing really there! I had more fun snorkling =).

Shopping:
Favorite shopping was in Lahaina. Whaler's Village in Kaanapali is nice but a little expensive. Lahaina Cannery Mall is a small mall with some interesting shops, as well as a food court with greek, chinese, etc food.

Flight:
We took Aloha Airlines, straight flight from San Diego. It was great, no complaints.

Overall:
Positive experience at Outrigger, the staff were nice, I would recommend this hotel. I will probably not stay here again, only because I want to try Kaanapali this time (it was always sunny there it seemed) or Kihei, someplace closer to the great snorkling we found in Wailea. It is nice and uncrowded here though, as you can see from the attached pictures.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Back96ws6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

When planning our 25th anniversary vacation we had no idea if Napili Shores was going to work out or not. I'm happy to say that Napili Shores met all of our expectations. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat!

No stress from crowds or waiting on elevators. My vehicle was mere steps from our room. The beach was a 2-3 minute stroll and made for a convenient walk every morning.

We were in buiding B, room 111, an oceanview lower level 1 bedroom that worked out ideally for us. A nice breeze blew from the rear bedroom through the length of our room and out the lanai windows. Both of our ceiling fans were on all the time and we were never uncomfortable. My wife would get a little cool at night but that is not unusual for her.

We never had the chance to do a lot of cooking on the grills but will take advantage on our next trip.

The food at the Gazebo and Fish and Poi restaurants was excellent. i enjoyed the complimentary coffee every morning at the Gazebo.

If I had any wish it would be that the rooms had a washer and dryer. It was a minor inconvenience to trek to the laundry facilty under the front lobby.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank davebil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

Firstly, the Napili area of Maui is a great place to stay on the island. The Outrigger Shores is only a 15 minute drive to Lahaina and walking distance to many other resorts and shops. Our unit was very clean and spacious (I highly recommend the one bedroom unit over a studio & get the 2nd floor). The one drawback we found was no air conditioning. Unfortunately, the trade winds were not blowing most of our 12 days, so it was very hot. Even with the fans at full speed & with all the windows open, it was still uncomfortable for sleeping. Having your windows open means you deal with car alarms going off, luggage being wheeled across the parking lot (the rooms back on the parking lot), talking and cat fights! We didn't get one decent night sleep the whole time. Bring your earplugs and expect to be uncomfortable sleeping! That was our only complaint. The units themselves are equipped with everything you need and the grounds are spectacular. We never had a problem getting a bbq & ate dinner on our lanai every night. The two pools are very clean and the ocean pool is very quiet (kids seem to use the other pool more, so it's noisy). Have breakfast at the Gazebo at least once! The line ups start at 7:00 and continue right until it closes at 2:00 (after lunch). You can rest fresh towels daily, otherwise, the rooms are cleaned every third day, which we found was sufficient. We walked to the corner store often, to buy fresh fruit & other groceries. The mall also has many other facilities, including snorkel/boogie board rental. The resort faces lava rock, but the beach is just off to the right of the resort & it's beautiful. We never had a problem getting a spot on the sand & there was great snorkeling as well! I think the resort is good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FLAMESFAN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

I just returned from a blissful 10 day stay at the Napili Shores resort. The resort is a collection of nine two storey condominium unit buildings situated in a quiet oceanfront section of the community of Napili. There are two pools, two whirlpools, a koi pond and numerous gardens and palm trees throughout the grounds. There is a beachfront restaurant, the Gazebo, which serves lunch and a restaurant in the front complex building of the resort, the Fish and Poi, which serves dinner and lunch. The Gazebo is known for its Macademia nut pancakes and there are line-ups for breakfast beginning at 7:30 am.

The resort has access to the crescent shape beach around Napili Bay. The beach is clean and composed of golden sand while the bay offers calm waters due to the presence of a coral reef. The coral reef offers terrific snorkeling opportunities. I went on snorkeling trips to Molokini, Lanai and Napili Bay and found the variety and frequency of ocean and reef life greater in Napili Bay. Snorkel Bob's, a snorkel gear shop located down the road from the Napili Shores resort, rents snorkel gear on a daily or weekly basis. Daily rentals range from $ 5 - 9.00.

The resort offers a daily beach towel service, a condo cleaning service every third day and has an on site laundry. There are also 5 gas barbeques where you can grill your dinner or lunch. The resort's clientele is composed of older couples or young families primarily drawn from the U.S. West Coast. The atmosphere is quiet, laid back and quite friendly.

I enjoyed my stay at the Shores and hope that I can return again. If you're looking for a piece of tropical paradise and want value for the money, this is the resort for you.

Aloha.

Helpful?
9 Thank Budzhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2006

My fiance and I just returned from a week long stay at Napili Shores.....Like everyone else, we did a loooot of research but with the help of a travel agent and all the reviews here, we decided on Napili Shores.
This truly is a beautiful property, the grounds are immaculate, yes the rooms are a bit dated and the beds could be better but everything else was so perfect that those were minor in comparison.
Pros:
-Full Kitchen and grocery stores within a couple minute drive (kitchen has stove, microwave, fridge, blender, dishwasher, dishes, silverware, and cooking utensils)
-Quiet private, safe property
-Amazing Beach ( I feel that its not mentiond too much here but the beach is beautiful, private, easy access, great for swimming and great sunsets)
-Can see the ocean from most rooms, even garden view
-It is in a more private area away from the high rises and 5 stars but they are within a 10-15 min drive if you want to eat, shop or drink there
-Free Parking!!!
-Two pools, one jacuzzi, great gas grills

Cons
-Beds are a little hard, but they are manageable
-outdated decor
-we could hear people/kids from our room but wasnt too disturbing

If you are looking for a romantic, private, beautiful, affordable getaway, Napili Shores is fabulous..there are about 5 hotels along Neapili beach that are all condos/low rise. You will not find spring breakers looking to party here, it is more geared towards couples and families. I recommend this hotel highly and will definitely be back!
PS Dont Forget to sign the guest book in your room

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KAL717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2006

The facility was well maintained and the staff helpful. There are about eight 2 story buildings in a "U" configuration. The rooms are exactly like the Candid Pictures.Oddly, our room (A104) had a piano. The kitchens have everything you need to prepare a meal and, since we don't believe Hawaii is noted for it's culinary art, we ate breakfast and most dinners in, enjoying the view and the sounds of the surf. There are 2 sets of very well maintained gas grills near the oceanside pool and the pool at the other end of thecomplex. Our rooms did not have A/C; the cool winds -and they really blow- are more than satisfactory to keep you comfortable. We stayed in 2 rooms: G156 and A104. Building G had an Ocean View. We decided we wanted an Ocean Front room (buildlings A & I) and enjoyed being 50' front the crashing surf. It's a very short walk to the pool, seaside cafe, and the beach at Napili Bay. We saw a whale from the cafe! It's a great place for kids and there are kids of all ages. Parking is secure and ample. We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant, Fish & Poi; better than Roy's at 2/3 the price. Personally, I prefer smaller, intimate hotels like this than the high rises where you have to walk forever just to get to the pool, beach, or the car

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnnyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing