We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it looks like on the web”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This is one of the nicest resorts and best value for money on Maui. It looks just like it does on the web. It isn't very private, but the pools are nice. The beach is shared by numerous hotels and is quite crowded. This side of the island is very comercial and really just one hotel after another. Having come from an isolated cottage on O'ahu, with all it's lush vegetation, this was an unwelcome change. If I were going to stay on Maui again, I would look at around Paia.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

When we checked in, we were surprised by an upgrade to a suite; which was very clean and spacious.

There was no air-conditioning in our room, but we stayed in Maui when the weather was windy, overcast and cool, so we didn’t miss the air conditioning.
The dishes, furniture and bedding were in good shape. There’s also free parking and a free in-room safe. In one of the drawers, there’s a guest book where you can leave your thoughts to the condo owner. Nice touch.
On the property there are 2 pools, and a hot tub. The hot tub was roped off for a day for repair, but it was returned to service the next day.

There are two restaurants on the property, but we don' know what they are like. The Gazebo restaurant always had long lines, so we didn’t bother waiting around. The other restaurant on the property had high prices on the menu, so we never went in.


Lasting impressions?
The resort seems to be more of a Family oriented place than a Couples resort or a “Spring Break” place.
It’s a clean place and the front desk, housekeeping and grounds keeping staff are excellent.

We’ll stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We chose this resort as many reviews stated this resort was kid friendly.The kids we have meet are friendly, but the older bluehaired people are NOT! KIds are not allowed in the only hot tub on the premise which is located next to one of the pools. We( parents and kids ) were given dirty looks and glares if the kids showed any signs of having fun....ie being kids. The bbq area gets policed by the regulars and they don't give up much bbq space easly. Kids are told to "Keep It Down" at 5pm at night.,,,as the older folk are napping!The Maui Grill restaurant is not bad...no liquor license thou. Laundry room is clean and up to date! The front desk and expdeia staff are very helpful and friendly. The beaches are fabulous.The resort is great if you are traveling without kids,but enjoy kids trying to have fun around you.....less hassel as you won't have to be bad cop to your own kids on vacation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindyloo9596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This was our first stay at the Napili Shores and we had a great experience for the four days we were on Maui. The front desk was friendly and efficient. While checking in they provided beach towels, reusable shopping bag and they even gave my son a little kiddie backpack with binoculars, sunglasses and notebook which was a nice touch. This welcome set the tone for our visit. This is a very family-oriented place, there were a lot of families out on the grounds and at the pool which was to our liking. There were two pools (one of them had a hot tub) and Napili beach is right there. Not far away is Kapalua where there is another beautiful beach. The condo itself was very clean and updated. It looks like it was redone recently. There was a flat screen tv, free in room wireless internet, ceiling fan (no a/c), microwave, full size fridge, coffee maker, toaster, eating utensils and cooking utensils. There was maid service every three days. Parking was never a problem and there are two restaurants on-site. The Gazebo Restaurant is located at the pool and has an ocean view which is a popular place for breakfast, if you're hungry make sure you get there early because there was always a line . We were there during whale season and we could see whales from the pool which was really cool. If I had to give the cons about staying here that may be a problem for others but not for us I would say: 1) there's no a/c and if it was really hot or there wasn't much of a breeze it could be uncomfortable 2) if you want to stay at a place where you have a lot of privacy, this place might not suit you because as I said there were lots families with younger and older kids that spent a lot of time outside on the grounds (eg. playing ball, hanging out at the pool or on their lanai) 3) I wouldn't consider this a central location on the island. It is very close to Kanapali and Lahaina and it doesn't take long to get to these two areas, but for example if you want to go to South Maui it would take longer since you are all the way up north of Lahaina especially since the traffic can be bad. When we were staying there, there was road construction so it took a little while to get around. We have been to Maui a number of times before and spent time down in Kihei and Wailea so we didn't go down in that area this trip. We stopped off on the way to the hotel at the supermarket in Lahaina got our supplies and then pretty much stayed in this area This was a great place for us and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giramondo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

After 15 years we returned to Napili Shores. It is low key, quiet with nice accomodations. Everything worked well; staff and other visitors friendly. Room very nice as a studio apartment. Nice to grill out with others. Pancakes at the Gazebo were great even though the entire island wanted to come there. Both pools nice. Beach is great, but you can walk to 2 even better beaches. You can also walk to several other places to dine as well as a grocery store and 2 general stores, one with great breakfasts and lunches. What more could you want? Room service and a poolside bar? This is not the place for you. Birds waking you up in the morning; this is your place. NO elevators?;sign up today.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoeNWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Wonderful place to stay! We were in a garden view studio that was so clean and quiet! Maid service exceptional as was the landscape/gardner who was out raking our lanai first thing every morning. Pools were also cleaned and serviced daily. Appreciated the in-room safe to keep valuables. We kept so busy, we never got a chance to eat at the Gazebo...will have to try that next time...it was a very popular spot! We could see whales from the property which was cool. Nice shower and good selection of dishes/kitchen gadgets. The only thing I would add would be a non-stick fry pan. Beach access to Napili Bay great. Hope to come back some time soon! Aloha ! H & G

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Great studio apartments, own kitchen. With BBQ pits outside... Great breakfast place serving every kind of pancake you can think of.

Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank carifay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
3.7 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £134 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing