We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING VACATION”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was a wonderful resort! I had read the reviews on the resort and tried to keep up with the most resent ones up unti it was time for my trip and I was not dissapointed. The place was just like the majority said about it. It was clean and what we asked for and wanted. I have heard before when you ask for a "Ocean view" room the view you get is a tiny little glimpse of the ocean as you lean all the way over your balcony...but not with this place. I could clearly see the ocean right from my room. We didnt need A/C..the breeze was perfect. We had wonderful snorkeling right next to us at the "turtle cove" as it seems to be known. We got amazing photos as well! Everything was amazing. We were only a 2 mintute drive so other great beaches. The place was nice and quiet. There were times when we had the pool(the one located towards the lobby) all the ourselves!

THe only thing I would complain about is the lobby restaurant at the hotel. We made the mistake of going there one night for dinner and it was awful! The food was over cooked and expensive. I paid $15 for a burnt burger! If you go into Lahaina you can get normal food prices! Other then that the place was great and i would recommend it to anyone. We were there for our wedding anniversary and it was perfect! :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenmiller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    286
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
183
327
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I went to Hawaii and stayed 3 days in Oahu and 4 days in Maui. After checking in at Napili Shores Resort, I wished I had spent the whole vacation there. Although the reviews were good, this is one of the cheaper hotels in the area so I honestly didn't expect it to be as nice as it is. It's about 20 minutes away from the shopping/dinning strip, which provides for a more intimate and tranquil setting. The one bedroom unit we had was BEAUTIFUL with plenty of room for the three of us. It's been updated all the way through with granite counters, plantation shutters and a flat screen television. As I watched the sunset, I was in awe of the paradise around me! The beach has an area of lava rocks with little black crabs and fish which my kids loved exploring! The only draw backs were the ridiculously over priced dinner restaurant (the poolside restaurant was great for breakfast or lunch), and every morning they seemed to weed eat or use their walkie-talkies right outside my window. Not being able to wake at my own leisure got really annoying! Check a map when setting your GPS because mine was set for shortest route and directed us to Hwy. 340 instead of 380 which was 24 miles of insanity!!! An adventure to say the least, but there is a nice 4 lane highway that is soooo much easier!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hthr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have been on the island 4 times... this, by far, has been the best hotel we've stayed at! Let's start with the staff, amazing they all made you feel like "ohona", they were on top of every request we had... while being friendly! Room cleaning was every 3 days (including towels)... but we requested that our towels be changed daily, and they did! Beach towels are also available at the front desk and are changed when ever you ask. The rooms were great! We stayed in a partial ocean view garden room (we were upgraded, originally booked as a garden view room). Our room had everything we could possibly need, our only complaint was the bed (one person in our party had a bad back), it could have been more comfortable... worth suffering through! We were right next to the recycle... totally quiet no noise what so ever, we woke up to the birds chirpping every morning! The Gazebo... so worth it, we suggest the macadamia nut pancakes and fried rice! We didn't go to the Aloha Grill... it looked delicous but more of a dress-up expensive place. Food wise we would suggest the farmer's market... and if you like salad, Round Table, had a delicous fresh salad bar way cheaper than the grocery store! There are two pools we suggest the heated... (next to the main office) the ocean-side pool is nice but... brrrrrr! As for the beach it is amazing, the beach looks just like the pictures so nice... this hotel is on the windier side of the island... but that just makes for a nice afternoon! If you go to the beach around 4:00 p.m. there are tons of turtles right outside of the hotel... it's like a dream! I could go on and on more than I already have but you just have to go there and see for your self! I hope you have a great vacation just like we did! I LOVE this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushipopstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This was our first time staying at an Outrigger resort, let alone Hawai'i. We'd read a lot of positive reviews here on tripadvisor.com and decided to book. We were not sorry. The resort is super accommodating, is well-located near some great snorkel spots (Honolua Bay for one), and the guests are pretty friendly.

Wifi is free, but wired access only. If you've got an iPod Touch, be prepared to wander around the grounds to find an active connection. We decided to leave the laptops at home, so we were left moving around to find wifi access.

Breakfast at The Gazebo is definitely worth doing at least once, and if you're turned off by the lines that form at 7:30, you can call in and place an order over the phone. Breakfast is ready within 10.

Only negative is that you never know who'll you'll get as a neighbour. We had a great couple on one side and a few days later, a couple of people booked in and parked their rented mopeds on the lanai! Crazy! Anyway, it's a very active, social environment, so if you're looking for solitude, it's not that kind of resort. As well, avoid school holidays if you want it a *tad* quieter during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arianec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were forced to leave our first choice hotel due to an extremely rowdy and loud family that had booked several rooms. After 3 nights, we gave up and spent the 4th morning of our trip looking for somewhere else to stay. The folks at Napili Shores came to our rescue with an oceanfront studio. Clean, comfortable, and right on the beach. And did I say, "QUIET"? The staff is great, invisible until you needed them. They also offered a hospitality suite to use on our last day since we were on a red-eye, this is a great perk.

We never did go to the Gazebo restaurant as the lines were always crazy long - we thought they might be giving away breakfast to draw such crowds each day.

Our one suggestion would be to change the hours of sprinkler operation - 4:00 am is a little early and they are noisy.

Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San DIego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This was my first trip to Maui and my wie's second. Our son who lived on Oahu recommended we stay at Napili Bay. We took his advice and are we glad we did. We did not rent from the resort but through a private owner. But this review is about the resort and not the rooms.
The resort was fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The resort grounds were manicured to perfection. Everything was cleaned cleaned daily. The Gazebo restaurant offered good food and reasonable prices. The suggestion to call in for carry out was a great one. Rather than stand in line, which did move quickly, we would call and order and have our food within 10 minutes which we then ate while sitting over looking the bay from our condo
One thing that could be improved is beach access. The trek to the sand is through lava rock and for the elderly might be difficult. Other than that, we were quite happy with our selection.
During our stay, we did tour the other resorts on the bay and in our opinion, the Outrigger Napili Shores was the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Excellent condo - great bed, kitchenette, pool, beach, garden, cleanliness. Room size average. Location very quiet and private, in the best part of western Maui. Excellent breakfast cafe on site, but evening meals no good for vegetarians, as we are (Lahaina not far away though). Highly recommended for a quiet stay of good quality. No night life.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasuki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing