We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but alittle out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Miichigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place but alittle out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Found our second floor room to be very comfortable. We were worried about no air conditioning but it was never a problem. The room always cooled off enough so sleeping was fine. We enjoyed the Gazebo Restaurant, and our first morning there, as we walked down to have breakfast, we saw a couple of whales jump. Great way to start a vacation. Most morning as we enjoyed a free cup of coffee we would see whales. The other restaurant on site also had good food. The Napili Market is very close, so picking food for the room is not a problem. Snorkeling in Napili Bay was not very good, would recommend the next bay to the north or drive to Mile Marker 14.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    282
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
181
321
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Many first floor units were flooded in recent storm. Our second floor ocean front was lovely, but having witnesses the clean up in the units below us, I would not want to stay in them. The carpets were soaked with rain and storm drain run of (muddy with the Maui red dirt). The other thing to know is that the property is in the midst of major roof work (independent of the storm). During the week, workers were on our roof starting at 8 and lasting most of the day. The work was loud but the workers were even louder, shouting to each other from the various roof tops. We woke to one calling out "patch the rat holes while you're up there." Yes, I know it's the tropics and these things are unavoidable but a little discretion would help! All said, we would come back here. It's a terrific beach and the hotels is (usually) comfortable and a god value.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mkb0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napiliinokaoi, Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
On January 11th Maui the Island of Maui received a torrential rainstorm amounting to a 50 year storm which did result in minor water damage to 2 of the units. Both units were immediately cleaned, resorted and back in service within 3 days. There was no other damage to the property and no problem with rodents of any kind.

In December we began the installation of a new Solar Electric System which will power the resort. Work on the roof is very light duty and will be complete by February 2, 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed a first week in January in Napili Shores. We enjoyed a free upgrade to a ocean view room and a free yummy pineapple. Also staff and manager were very friendly and they did accommodate our requests quickly. Hotel itself is located very close to beautiful Napili Beach. Having said that, there were few issues that spoiled the fun. Unfortunately the least waves and best snorkeling on Napili beach appears to be to the very right end of the beach and there there is no pedestrian pathway around the beach - this meant walking in ankle deed sand entire length of the beach and back every day - not fun at all! Also the road next to hotel has no pedestrian pathway, and unless you have a rental car at your disposal at all times the road itself is not pedestrian friendly (it's downright dangerous to walk due to razor sharp curves and no pedestrian walkway).
Hotel itself is very quiet so don't expect any night life. There is not much to see or do on the property itself. It does not have a gym, which would be a nice addition. It does not have air conditioning but there was plenty of trade winds that kept us cool during our stay. Hotel has two pools which were clean and well kept. Hotel has internet access which was broken in our room and staff referred us to outside provider for help (which was not very helpful).

Overall it's a good hotel in excellent location, but beware of the access to the beach and lack of pedestrian pathway around the beach or even to the other hotels. We rented before in Kahana and found this to be less expensive and more fun than this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raid2light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

I booked through VRBO like i usually do. C-117 was the best value for the money. We weren't disappointed. The condo is comfortable, clean, conveniently located on the resort (in the lower mid section) The owners were super nice and responsive. We fell in love with Napili Bay for it's excellent snorkeling, soft sand, swimming turtles, easy access, not too crowded, and so beautiful at night. Very romantic at night. The grounds are immaculate and park like. The grassy area between the buildings is so wide that you don't feel like there is even another building there. The other tenants are friendly. The plumera smells incredible. The blossoms fall like snow and scent the air, but are raked up each day so as not to become brown. I'm looking forward to our next trip for our 15 yr vow renewal. We've invited a dozen friends and recomend Napili Shores to all of them.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napiliinokaoi, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
This unit is in no way affiliated with Outrigger Napili Shores and refers to an Independently Operated Unit. It is not indicative of the quality of accomodations nor the services offered units by Outrigger Napili Shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This is a nice hotel beside the Napili bay, two minutes walking without crowd. Two nice restaurants in this hotel. You even do not have to rent a car. The bus stop is located at the entrance of the hotel. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udothemath1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We have stayed here 3 times with our kids, as they grow we have "outgrown" the rooms as the suites are a bit small, but great ocean views and 2 nice pools. Staff is very friendly and Gazebo restaraunt is a must. We like that this is north of the fast-paced and crowded Lahaina and Kaanapalli, the Napili small town atmosphere is private and mellow. A hidden jem! - Tropical Island Radio

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalislandradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

We got an upgrade to an ocean front room and the view was great.Sitting on our lanai everyday was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muscheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing