We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay - Beautiful Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay - Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Napili Surf. The staff was excellent and friendly, and they even refunded us a night of our stay when we checked out - realizing we had booked one night too many (even though they were surely not going to be able to rebook it). The beach was fantastic! The snorkeling was the best we found on Maui (we didn't go to Molokini or Turtle Town). My husband went out at sunrise and saw sea turtles feasting right on the rocks near the beach, and we went out with just our snorkels and masks (no fins or belts), and we found it perfectly comfortable to swim around and see tons of tropical fish, some eels, octopi, coral, and anemones. It was great to have it steps outside of our door!

The only reason we didn't give this place 5 rating is that our unit was the furthest from the beach, and it could be quite noisy with traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. For the most part, our neighbors were all quiet, and that's good, because it is very close quarters around the resort - which also wasn't very conducive to romantic environment. There was no AC, and I doubt it'd be a problem in a beach-front unit, but we didn't get a lot of breeze through the unit, because we were between buildings and backed up to a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clamms6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
96
198
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I am not young myself but I like to have a good time once in a while. I go to Hawaii to sit back and have a few drinks and relax with friends. We like to sit outside at night. During my stay I felt like I was being watched by all the guests. We were not loud but we got notices to be more quiet. Most of the people at this resort were much older than we were, retired, etc. We just didn't feel at home. We felt like we were staying at a retirement resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Armando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here 5 days and each and every day we had either sanding and grinding going on downstairs, near the pool or next door in any one unit. EVERY DAY.
Tough when there is no air conditioning and you have to have all windows open so you get air so you won't roast.
Nice locale but I can,t ever recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rickNewportbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach,CA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have been coming to Hawaii (all islands) for over 30 years. Maui is one of our favorite islands. We have never stayed in the Napili area so we decided to spend a week there August after two weeks in the Kanaapali and Honokowai areas. I had "checked out" the Napili area on a previous trip and decided after checking properties that Napili Surf looked great. So this is where we stayed. BEST CHOICE ON NAPILI BAY !!!!! We stayed in a studio 218 and had a fabulous view of the sea. Upon arrival (requested by my fabulous husband of 44 years) Napili Surf had waiting a beautiful tropical flower arrangement, champagne and a fresh cold sliced pinapple in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary. (No charge !!) The room was immaculate, view fabulous and right on Napili Bay. Walked right down to the beach, they even had beach chairs to use. The grounds were immaculately kept. Pool beach side to boot. A short stroll down the beach was the SeaHouse Resturant with a fabulous happy hour and the dinner was excelent also. (No need to drink and drive !) We asked Scott the manager for late checkout since we had a late flight. He said oh let me check the computer.....he said no one was checking in right after us and to stay as late as we want ! When I went to settle the bill I asked where close by was a internet place where I could print out our boarding passes for the flight, he said oh right here. Help yourself to our computer !! What ALOHA Customer Service !!! I would highly recommend the Napili Surf.......we will certainly be back. We want to take all our kids and grandkids. Great grassy area for kids to play, suffle board for older kids. Thank you Napili Surf for a fabulous beach.....including several turtles coming close to take pictures.....great view, friendly staff and super guest relations !! PS they even have a Mai Tai party on Wednesdays Sunset on the grass and a Friday AM, coffee and breakfast !! How great is that !! ALOHA

Room Tip: On their website they have weekly specials.....check it out every week you never know what deal you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a great time on Napili Bay and more than enjoyed our stay at the Napili Surf Beach Resort. This is truly an exquisitely positioned resort situated at the left side of Napili Beach. A great sandy beach sits directly in front of the resort with beautifully manicured lawn and gardens just up from the beach. A lovely pool with plenty of deck and lounge chairs are readily available. Views are stunning. Rooms are well-equipped all though design and up-dating varies room to room. We stayed 201 for 5 nights; it probably has the best view in the resort. The suite is well-appointed, spacious but a bit dated. Room 108 was beautifully furnished and updated for our last 2 nights. Lovely bathroom, shower and kitchen. Smaller but cozy and very well-equipped! Both rooms had great king size beds. Like others have said....the no air conditioning is absolutely no problem. Each room has fans and the breeze at Napili is always present making your stay wonderful. Highly recommend this resort and we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Napili is hidden away up the west coast of Maui, over an hour from the main airport in Kahalui depending on traffic on the coastal highway. The location was exactly what I'd hoped in terms of vista, amenities and the size of the hotel.

My welcome was friendly and they helped us sort out a double booking we made due to changedplans and did not charge us a fee. The room we got was 219, 2nd floor, with a balcony that faced the ocean. The twins beds were not fancy but we slept soundly. The kitchen was very well stocked, blender, coffee maker, etc. One day there was a fresh cut pineapple in the fridge, what a wonderful treat after a day out diving. We never turned on the tv, but the wifi Internet was free and reliable. I could even run Skype calls on it. There is soap, but no shampoo provided.

I feel asleep to the sound of the ocean through the open windows letting in the night air - fabulous!

The beach is shared with other resorts nearby but there are more quiet spots on the lawn by the hotel to be in the sun without too many people around. We came back from a dive trip to St Anthony and Molokini where we paid $179 each to see turtles and decided to do some lazy snorkeling off the beach. To our surprise two turtles had decided to explore the shallows right in front of the resort and the lava tubes just off the shore were filled with urchins in a really cool formation. Total bonus to a great spot.

The parking was cozy, so park carefully if you have a big car. It is right near the hot breakfast spot, Gazebo, which we didn't have time for, but is supposed to be worth the long wait. 

The resort is about 15-20 min from Front street in Lahaina. Watch the parking lots in Lahaina, I got a ticket when I missed the pay station. 

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank feintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

What wonderful things can I say about this property that haven't already been said? My husband and I along with our 11 year old daughter stayed at Napili Surf Beach Resort in April of 2012. We loved the location, the quiet, well-maintained facilities, the beach and the one bedroom unit that we stayed in. Our only hesitation when making the reservation was that the units do not have a/c. I can't say what the situation would be at other times of the year but during April it absolutely was not a problem, in fact, one of the things we loved was having all the windows and the slider open to the breeze all the time. Light sleepers might wake up earlier in the morning than they would like because although our neighbors were not loud with everything open you might as well be in the same room. I just closed the bedroom window and turned on a fan for some white noise and it worked just fine - our unit already had an extra fan in the closet anyway. The condo was very clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, had a well stocked kitchen, plenty of room for the three of us and a nice lanai with beautiful view of the ocean (even though it was considered a partial ocean view). The grounds were also very clean with lots of grass, beautiful flowers, plenty of trees for shade. There are 2 pools for the whole complex and the one we used was never crowded nor was there any shortage of pool chairs. We had more fun on Napili Beach than any of the other beaches we visited while we were there and it was so nice to just step right outside our door any time we wanted to go down to the water. We snorkeled around the point and saw lots of green sea turtles, saw whales from our lanai and even had a monk seal come up on the beach for a day. We walked to the Gazebo for breakfast one morning, had drinks one evening at the Sea House, made use of the grocery store (Napili Market) in the complex just as you turn off the highway, rented snorkel gear and boogie boards at Snorkel Bob's up the road - it seems like everything we needed was right there. The staff was friendly and competent - we did have an issue with the built-in microwave in our unit not working and it was resolved literally within 20 minutes. I can't see that we'll ever want to stay anyplace else in Maui.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WallaWallaGolferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing