We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing but the best. still”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nothing but the best. still”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

i just laugh at the rare, occasional negative review about the napili surf beach. stuff like "too many old folks," "too quiet," etc. i guess these come from folks who are looking for mars and wind up on venus. if they'd get off their butts and do a little research beforehand, they'd know all about NSB. we recently spent five glorious nights and what is there to add that hundreds of other folks have not already said about this gem on maui's west coast? well, for one thing when i went to the office and inquired about the check out time (noon) i was asked when our flight was departing. when i said after 11 p.m., the proprietor said he could let us use at no extra cost one of the vacant rooms until we felt comfortable about leaving for the airport. is that service or what? let me just add this. when you do come here, be sure to take a one mile drive to kapalua and motor right to the pineapple grill for breakfast, lunch or dinner. the food is as good as any you will find here and you won't pay the extra dough just because your restaurant of choice is in the nearby ritz. in fact, the food will be better at the pineapple and the gorgeous views of the Bay golf course are an extra dividend as is the always wonderful service.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the ocean front studios but next time we will stay in one of the one bedrooms be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank grambo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Aloha Grambo,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Napili Surf Beach Resort. We appreciate the time you took to share your impressions with us and the readers of Tripadviser.

A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
96
198
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were in Puamala wing of the resort in a garden view studio. Our room was very clean and tidy. Kitchen was well equipped from a pineapple knife to blender to glassware. They had everything in there to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was spacious enough to hold our bags and accommodate 3 people. Since we were on vacation for 12 days in Hawaii, we had a lot of luggage and our room could fit everything in. The half cut pineapple in the refrigerator was very welcoming.

The resort is very located on the Napili Bay and the beach access is marvelous. Beach here is one of the best I've been to, though I did not like snorkeling here. Since the beach is accessed by neighboring hotels / resorts, there were a lot of people in the beach and that way we felt safe with a kid. The shower stations are conveniently located on the property and very close to the beach.

Located near by is the Napili Market. This strip mall has some good restaurants and surf shops where one can conveniently rent / buy snorkel gears, etc. The market has a good selection of groceries / vegetables / fruits / diary, so everything that you might need is at a stones throw distance.

I couldn't think of any improvements that I could suggest, except the fact that they don't stock the bathrooms with shampoo. When asked, I was told that they don't provide "that kind of" stuff. Anyway that was a miniscule thing to mention.

I definitely recommend this resort to anybody visiting Maui. I can't wait to get back to Napili Surf. Thanks for making our stay so warm and welcome.

Room Tip: Paumala wing is where we stayed and we loved it. We preferred 2nd floor over 1st as it would give so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangaloreAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo (Thank you), for choosing Napili Surf beach Resort for your Hawaiian vacation. We appreciate the time you took to share your impressions with us and the readers of Tripadviser.

Unlike dish soap, paper towels or herbs and spices, shampoo and conditioners are a very personal preference. Because of the waste and our observation of a large number of our guest were bringing their own products, we elected to eliminate the practice of providing bath amenities. However, your point is well taken, as over the last few months several requests for these amenities have been made and we are reconsidering providing bath amenities. Thank you for your input.

A Hui Hou! (Until we meet again),

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We opted to have a ocean view room which is about a third more then a garden view. For us it was worth it. The Napili Surf has very comfortable units which are fully equipped. Our one bedroom was perfect for us.and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeeper comes in the Morning and cares for the room. The grounds are meticulously maintained and there is not a leaf blower in sight or sound. The Napili Surf is steps from the beach and Bay so the gentle sound of the surf is soothing. Right next door is the Gazabo restaurant so a truly wonderful breakfast is75 yards away. I was a little concerned because our room was so close to the pool but that was absolutely was no problem. The guest are peaceful, pleasant and respectful. Perhaps it is less peaceful in the summer, but in December it was just beautiful.

Room Tip: For us closer to the beach was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Aloha Kathleen,

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experiences at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your positive comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. I am very appreciative that you noted that the Surf does not use leaf blowers in order to keep the noise down. While more expensive to hand rake the leaves, we feel it is worth it.

A Hui Hou (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our first time with Napili Surf Beach Resort and we would definitely consider staying here again! The studio unit was fully equipped with everything one could think of for a cosy and worry-free vacation! Going through all the cabinets and we were completely surprised by the thoughtfulness of whoever came up with the idea. Excellent location to anywhere around Maui and Napili beach is just 5 minute walking distance. The beach was not so packed compared to many other beaches in Maui. Snorkeling visibility was not the best but good enough to try out, especially during noon time. Better places for other water activities were just less than 10 minute drive away. Free parking for guests was also an advantage when everyone else had to struggle to find packing space to get access to the beach. Wonderful place to relax without burning a big hole in your pocket.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randomtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Aloha!

Mahalo for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your comments are important to us and Tripadviser readers.

Though it is not often, the bay can have poor visibility especially in high surf. Upon your return, we will hope for better visibility as Napili Bay is excellent for snorkeling and swimming.

A Hui Hou! (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

On a beautiful beach, in perfect weather, it's hard to knock it. But,.......
No a/c - if there is no tradewind, buyer beware.
We were in three different units and all of them need upgrades to the beds. Really.
The closer to the ocean, the better. It will drown out some of the noise from constant gardening blowers and construction on adjacent property. A gardener was actually blowing leaves next door, in the rain. No wonder it took over an hour.
My husband really loves this place so I cannot bash it. And, in all honesty, it was our third time there. Quirks are easily overlooked if the wind blows and you hear the ocean all night long.
And, we love the staff.

Room Tip: End unit, second floor, ocean front, first building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marmalade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha!

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf for your families' Holiday vacation. We value your comments and appreciate your taking the time to evaluate your experience at the Surf for the Tripadviser readers.

A Hui Hou! (Hope to see you soon),

Scott Ullrich General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Napili Surf and would definitely visit again. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The apartment was lovely and we had everything we needed. I think this place is excellent for the price. We stayed in one of the cheaper studio apartments which didn't have a sea view. I was a little concerned about this as we really wanted to make the most of our trip to Hawaii and take in all of the beautiful sunsets but we really loved our garden view room and the beach is a very short walk away. Napili beach is perfect, not surrounded by big resort hotels, the sea was safe and we saw at least 8 turtles swimming by the rocks right in front of us. This place is truly magical and well worth the visit. The location is excellent and we couldn't have asked for more. If we're ever lucky enough to visit Maui again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuiceMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort . Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are contemplating returning to the Surf.


A Hui Hou (See you soon)!

Scott Ullrich General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've stayed here several time. Great location, and beach. This is not a party place. It is a great place to relax. Beach is perfect for anyone. Waves are small so anyone can swim and play. Has 2 small pools, BBQ grills, and free boogie boards (behind bamboo fence by office). Parking is free and there is not a resort/cleaning fee. It is recommended that you tip the maid at the end of your stay (which you should do anyways). The is no AC, but if you leave the windows open and put a fan in the window it's fine. This is full kitchen so cooking, snacking is easy. Patio/Balconies all have chairs and hooks (wet swim suits) and showers have lines to dry clothes. Beach towels are provided. Going to the beach if you are looking for sun all day long at the bottom of the stairs turn right and set yourself up between the stairs and the tree. Turtles daily. Close by is a small store, Pharmacy, coffee house and snorkel rental. There is a bus that can take you all the way to Lahaina. This place is off Napili Bay about 20 mins north of Lahaina and about hour from OGG airport. Breakfast at the Gazbo next door is a must. Also recommend R B Steakhouse for dinner. Most anything is comfy wear so leave the fancy stuff at home. Buy your take home chocolate at Safeway its cheapest place and gas at Costco near OGG airport if your a member. WIFI not so good, but your here to relax so leave laptop at home. No restaurant,gym or elevators. If 2nd floor will have to walk up stairs.

Room Tip: If you can afford it do 2nd floor ocean. 1st floor garden stay 122 or 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 327055kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to evaluate your experiences at Napili Surf, especially the details of the resort, the beach and environs. I absolutely cannot agree with you more about our poor WiFi reception. Almost the day of your departure, we have upgraded our system for better coverage and signal strength. I look forward to your return and comments on our new system.

A Hui Hou ( See you soon)!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing