We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time even better !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cantù, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Second time even better !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

well, it was our second visit at the Napili Surf . What can I say, this time it was even better than the first one we were here three years ago. We got room 210, with an ocean view. It is on the second floor which I do like very much. We were 5 people and had enogh space for everthing. There is a bedroom , antoher room with a king size coach and a queen size coahc. A big kitchen and a nice bathroom. The Napili Surf makes you feel immediatly at home, from the moment you arrive to the moment you have to leave. We arrived after reception hours and found an envelope with the key and instruction and as soon as we got in the apartment there were beautiful flower on the table with a welcome card...those things makes you feel immediatly comfortable. The Napili Bay is just gorgous, never to croudy and just two steps from the apartment. The managment is always very helpful and we only can say thans again to Scott for his kindness.
I like the atmosphere you have at the NApili and would never choose anything else in Maui.
Just hope to be able to go back for the third time as soon as possibile !

  • Liked — makes you feel like home, Location, cleaness, spacious apartment...everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
96
198
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

My family & I stayed here for about a week. We had a ocean view condo that was very nice. It was quiet and on the beach. Our place was well equiped and very nicely furnished. They even had a cut pineapple as a welcoming gift ready to eat. If your looking for a great big resort , this is not the place but if you need a laid back place with lots of great atmosphere I would recommend Napili Surf. Our daughters got to snorkel and swim every day and see the turtles up close. The beach was just steps from our condo. Condo does not have AC but we did not need it while we were there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasTxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usf97j4x4
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a few nights to save up some cash for some of the nicer hotels. It was very inexpensive and the location isn't too bad, 15 minutes or so from Lahaina. Our room was very comfortable (no AC but it was fine). Definitely the best place to stay if you want to save money.

It is only 10 minutes from Honolua bay, the best snorkeling (HANDS DOWN) in Maui and equally close to Sansei Sushi (AMAZING).

The place has the feel of a retirement home though, many of the people staying here were a lot older so I wouldnt recommend it for honeymooners. But, as honeymooners we were not even there much so we didnt care.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank usf97j4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

We've been lucky enough to have stayed at Napili Suf twice in the past year and do not think we would stay at another place in Maui if we could avoid it.

We had a garden view studio on the 1st floor, same one as we had last year. It was very clean and had everything for a comfortable stay. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was spacious and clean. It had a balcony which although did not have a seaview, had a view of the gardens and swimming pool and it had alot of privacy. Since last year, the carpet has been replaced. The gardens are well maintained and someone is always doing some maintenance to keep them itidy. There are barbecues around the property for the guests use and a coffee morning on a Wednesday and a Mai Tai evening another night.

There are laundry facilities so you can pack light(er), there is free parking too and none of the cleaning fee nonsense that other properties seem to have (the ones that charge it but fail to clean it for your arrival).

Napili Surf are very flexible with us, since we are not from the US and they do not take credit cards, so arranging prepayments/deposits in USD can be costly, also with the arrival time being after the office closes, they make arrangements for the key.

On top of that, the location of Napili Surf is fantastic, with a beautiful beach where turtles like to swim in the evenings and you can see whales in season from the beach. The water is lovely and you can snorkel. Some days it is rough and others it is like a lake. Next door is another condo unit (Napili Point?) where you can take breakfast if you don't mind standing in line and they have happy hour plus full service restaurant. Napili market is nearby for supplies although Safeway in Lahaina was our best supermarket. Lahaina is not far away for dining options and evenings out, so too is Kapalua for Sansei's.

  • Liked — Location, facilities, cleanliness of the unit, gardens, proximity to beach and Lahaina,
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2008

We were looking for a nice place to stay for a base and found Napili Surf via Trip Advisors. It is a complex with many accommodations. We were in the 1 bedroom units not on the beach but with a pool. The units for $139.00 per night were a bargain for what we got. Harry at the front desk was most pleasant and helpful. Actually everyone seemed helpful. The units were very clean, efficient and well appointed. In the full kitchen frig they provided a fresh pineapple and all the necessities to make tea or coffee. Nearby is a wonderful restaurant right on the beach. We even saw whales during our breakfast. All in all I highly recommend these units for the either a base station or a longer R&R stay.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, value/price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

The Napili Surf is a great, affordable place to stay in Maui. The unit we stayed in - rear-most building (not ocean front) 2nd floor -- was VERY clean, well kept, and met my expectations. Keep in mind, these are privately owned units, and from what I could see passing by other rooms, the conditions can vary. For example, ours had a nicely expanded and updated bathroom but others did not. Party-going types will not like this place. It's very quiet. No air conditioning, but there was sufficient breeze to keep us comfortable (though the noise from the pool area can be intrusive at night with the windows open- had to get up and close them). It's a great 'home base' for exploring Maui-- i.e. not a "destination resort" that you'll never leave, but a nice place to come home to and from which to plan your adventures.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, affordable, very home-y feeling
  • Disliked — pool noise with windows open, but this only happened one night
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaDrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

We just returned from one of the best resort experiences we have ever had, and we hesitate to share this review because we don't want Napili Surf to become so popular we cannot return. The deluxe accommodations in our one-bedroom condo with daily maid service, included full kitchen with dishwasher, newly remodeled bathroom with thick, fluffy towels delivered daily, and wonderful staff ready to assist with any request. The louvered window above the shower let the trade breezes float through as we showered after coming in 20 yards from the beach....the accommodations could not have been better. All hours of the day and night there was a breath-taking ocean view from the lanai or the bedroom windows, framed by palm trees. The living room with large, flat screen tv. also wired for Sirius FM radio. The large bedroom with king bed and excellent mattress as well as a pull-out couch and twin bed/day bed in the living room made this apartment just about perfect for a couple or a family. The apartment is not air conditioned, but ceiling fans and cool breezes did the trick. There is a 9 p.m. quiet rule since all the apartments have open windows. There is a high proportion of returning guests and owners who come for the beauty and serenity, many of whom have been coming for over 40 years, so we had no problem with noise. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool was placed just between our apartment and the golden crescent beach that is Napili. The sun sets over the open ocean each evening in colors so gorgeous they defy description. Best of all, the humpback whales make their way up the channel between Maui and Molokai and provide entertainment morning and night. Binoculars were not necessary to see the constant parade of spouts, tales, and completely breaching and spinning whales.....all viewed from our lanai! Napili Beach is a jewel and we hope they never succumb to the development craze in the rest of western Maui, including at the adjoining Kapalua Bay property, where the cranes and tall development with loud construction noise (our only complaint during this stay) are taking away from the peace and beauty in this magnificent part of the island. Get to Napili Surf as soon as you can....it is too beautiful to be missed!

  • Liked — location on the beach and view
  • Disliked — noise from construction on neighboring property
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing