We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better than this.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Being going here for over twenty-five years. not like your "big hotel type condos." Great beach for everyone including families. Staff most friendly and accommodating. Very short walk to the beach and for those that need to stay out of the sunshine, a very nice elevated part of the beach underneath the shade of a big tree. Mai tai party every Wednesday evening and a coffee "get together" every Friday morning with local bakery items and hot coffee provided by Marissa of the staff.

No need to look for a better place to stay within a "moderate budget."

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Napili Surf Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in room 104 for 4 days in April. Just a perfect place to stay. Our room walked out onto the pool and then the beautiful beach. There were many green turtles and whales in the distance. Great happy hour bar on the beach. We will definitely be back. Of the three hotels we stayed during our stay in Maui, this was by far the best. The staff are friendly and very honest. My wife had left her jewellery box on the night table after we cheched out. They called us and arranged pickup. We were very grateful for the maid's honesty. Shows the high standards of customer service. The hotel room was perfect for 2 adults and one child, just a great sleep when the ocean is blowing into your room at night. Thanks, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: rooms 104, 105
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angus2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Aloha Angus,

Mahalo for taking time to review your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your post is important to our staff and the readers of Tripadviser.

We hope to see you very soon. A Hui Hou!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a small resort with a long list of rules but if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in a beautiful location this is your place. We stayed for 3 nights in a one-bedroom condo. The decor was perhaps a little dated but we couldn't have asked for a better equipped unit. It really was a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I just got Maui'd recently. We had our family and friends stay here with us. This place was wonderful and so charming!!! Great and easy access to the beach, there was always parking space for hotel guests. The condo rooms were well stocked with "home" supplies and the staff was friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious; made us feel like it was our home as opposed to staying at a fancy small resort. Napili Surf Beach Resort is the way to go! We will be back!! :) :)

Room Tip: We went during an off season. Quiet hours started at 10pm. For the most part the property was pretty...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Aloha Tina,

Congratulations and thank you for choosing Napili Surf Beach Resort for your honeymoon. Your comments are important to us and are very helpful to the Tripadviser readers. Mahalo!

Hope to see you soon. A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked it, and made my decision primarily based on other Tripadvisor reviews, I was not disappointed. The grounds are immaculate and the office staff and employees were very nice and extremely helpful to us. Like others have stated there is nothing particularly amazing when you first arrive, there are certainly "fancier places" you could choose to stay. However, the rooms are very clean and home like, the location is superb, and the staff and grounds are excellent. We stayed in a studio Garden View room and I think I would honestly prefer it to an ocean view in this case. The Garden View rooms in the Puamala building were my favorite as far as being more secluded and a little more private than those closest to the beach. The entire time we were there the pool was like a personal pool and there is a very small walk to be on the beach and Napili Bay which is just amazing in and of itself. Just steps from our room we were able to snorkel with turtles everyday we went. The management hosted a cultural celebration and Mai Tai night which was very nice and worth our time, and on Fridays they serve coffee and breakfast items, they seem to take care of owners and guests very well. You are a short drive to Kaanapali Beach and Front Street but far enough away if all of the hustle going on there isn't your thing you don't need to get involved. Several days we walked along the Kapalua Coastal Trail leaving from our room and that was very enjoyable. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Maui. Personally Napili and specifically Napili Surf is the place for me.

Room Tip: The Puamala Garden View Studios were quiet and more secluded if that is what you are looking for. Yo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nvanbeuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have lost count of how many times I have visited this slice of heaven but it is probably somewhere around nine or ten. Typical of resort areas, this is a condo/rental property and you will find two things in common with all of them. The first is that individual rooms can vary in terms of renovations. The second is that you are almost guaranteed to find a mix of owners with renters. Personally, I have always enjoyed that interaction but admittedly, sometimes owners can give the impression that they are looking down at the renters and consider them more of a nuisance. This trip as always, we met some terrific owners. Great folks that hide their wealth so skillfully that you would be forgiven for taking them as part of the army of staff that care for the property on a daily basis.

There are two basic parts of Napili Surf, Ocean View and Garden View. The first is really self explanatory so I will address the second. This separate part of the complex, looks out over its own pool and private gardens. All the rooms face to the back of the Ocean View suites however, they are hidden behind a massive organic screen. This makes the Garden Suites appear to be in their own separate space and time. From experience, these rooms tend to be quieter. Having said that, this property is not for party goers as the pools close at 7:00pm and by 9:00pm, there is a wonderful quiet that covers the area, making the pounding of the waves feel all the more powerful. This beach has been written about so many times that I will not try and add anything other than, it is magnificent! Remember to pack a flashlight as strolling through the property after sunset (usually around 6:30pm) on your way down to the ocean, introduces a plethora of little night time creatures.

Other than different room styles, my family has loved all of the rooms that we have occupied. All were clean, comfortable and carefree. The property does not have air conditioners but the ocean breeze and ceiling fans, do not make this a requirement in even the hottest of seasons. The sea turtles are permanent residents and are easily seen while standing on the beach. The bay is also home to the large population of Humpback Whales that use these waters as their nursery. Cavorting porpoises will sometimes leap playfully from the water as you focus on whale watching (bring binoculars).

This is wonderful location for families and with the Napili Market just a short trip away, groceries are easy to pick up on a day to day basis if you are just leisurely unsure of food until the thought hits you. There are two barbeque stations and all of the rooms I have been in, have dishwashers. Eating out in Maui can be expensive so having the ability to eat in, lightens the drain on money that seems to accompany tropical vacations with family. The staff are all wonderful and they are very quick to resolve anything that might pop up. Staying at Napili Surf is what I would consider a Hawaiian vacation should be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank baudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Aloha "Baudley",

Mahalo for taking the time to share with the readers of Tripadviser your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. I could not have composed a better and more balanced description of the Surf, especially, if you will, the personality of the guest and owners.

On behalf of the staff and owners, thank you and we hope to see you again soon,

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We are a family of 5 and really wanted a more laid back Hawaiian experience. This place is perfect. We had am amazing room on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach. The rooms are super clean, it is very quiet and perfect for a relaxing getaway. The rooms are a bit dated yes, but I found that added to the charm. I understand they are individually owned and managed by a management company. All the staff did a great job and were very helpful. The place is spotless. If you want the hustle and bustle, Kaanapali is just a 10 minute drive. Went there one day and so happy we chose Napili for our vacation. There are barbecues with a little herb garden, gardeners and staff taking care of the pool daily and beautiful tropical flowers all around. We watched breaching whales from our balcony, swam with the sea turtles and watched rainbow after rainbow. Don't miss any sunsets! They are wonderful. It did rain a bit but would not take long to clear up and most of the time we just sat and let the warm hawaiian rain cool us off. There is a waterfront trail we almost missed and glad we didn't. At the opposite end of the beach, there is a trail on the other side of the hotel there. Take a walk there and enjoy the beautiful views. On the one beach there were 3 weddings going on at the same time. A really special spot. At the Napili Surf, there was a Hawaiian Show on the lawn, so perfect. I understand this is done monthly which includes a Mai Tai party. Weekly morning coffee and fresh pastries and fruit for guests. \What more could you ask for. If you are going expecting room service and all the amenities, wrong place. If you want to take in a little piece of heaven and enjoy one of those special spots that you don't find very often, you have found the right place. Just hope they have room for us when we go back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Camplake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#20 of 43 in Lahaina
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing