We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahalo!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved our time at the Napili Surf!! The staff was friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and we were only steps from the beach! My only complaint was the ants in our room but honestly - We couldn't have cared less... A small price to pay for a week in paradise and we hardly spent any time in our room anyway. We loved it! There was a Mai tai party and hula show on Wednesday and a coffee gathering on Friday morning - free of charge and worth it!! If I had the money, I'd buy a condo there and never leave! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToriBorialice63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Aloha Tori,

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf Beach Resort for your Hawaii vacation. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I also want to apologize for the ants which I will follow up on. Cleanliness is very important to us.

We hope to see you soon, A Hui Hou!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Napili Surf Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I did not give Napili Surf 5 stars only because of no a/c. I knew this ahead of time but thought the wind would make up for it but unfortunately our room faced the wrong way to take advantage of it. Due to loud noises coming from the resort next door mainly construction, we had to at times keep our lanai door closed. Our room was great, clean with a fully equipped kitchen. I was alittle surprised though that there was no shampoo, etc... supplied. I would stay here again but perhaps in a different building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to print our boarding passes in the office before our flight home.

Room Tip: A building closer to the beach and facing north/south would get better air circulation due to no a/c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would go back to the Napili Surf in a heartbeat. The room was spacious, clean and super comfortable. There was a full service kitchen, a great living room and dining space and a lanai from which you could see the water. The grounds were in great shape and kept up really well. On Wednesday there was a mai tai party with Hawaiian music and entertainment. What a nice way to meet other guests and the show was great fun. There was also a barbecue (not free but really good) right at your resort - a comfortable night! Another day we hiked the Haleakala Crater and happily did some takeout and enjoyed dinner and some wine from the relaxation of our space. The beach was terrific and only a few feet from our room! We had an
'oceanfront studio' and do not regret our choice in any way. The Napili Surf was a great place to stay and I would stay there again should we be so lucky to return to Maui. Don't look any further - stay here!

Room Tip: Loved our oceanfront studio ... could see the water from the lanai and we looked out onto a well lan...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha Deb G,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your impressions of Napili Surf. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the maitai hula show, the BBQ and hope to see you soon.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'll preface the review by saying if we had stayed in a tent at this location, I would give it 5 stars! Pictures can't do justice because the lens fails to get what the eye sees - as you look down the beach, Molokai looms in the panorama toward the left with towering coconut palms above you - very beautiful!

That being said, the two story condo units are all privately owned and built about 1966. They will be all furnished a bit differently. We stayed in studio 103 which the lanai directly faced the pool, beyond, two koa? trees framed the beach. It contained a kitchen (well accoutered), small bathroom, small, stall shower. The quarters were a bit tight but fine for a couple. There is no AC, but jalousie windows and doors allowed cross flow with the help of a ceiling fan. While we were there, the temperature was a bit warm and after a day in the sun, my wife and I felt a bit like characters in a Tennessee Williams play.

We enjoyed being on the ground floor because we could just walk out from the lanai to the grounds and beach without going all the way around the building. This left our unit unlocked. We did use the safe for any valuables but generally felt all the residents had the Mahalo spirit. My wife did have her sunglasses stolen from our spot on the beach while we were out SUPing and learned later this was common on Maui beaches. We don't believe it was someone at our resort. We will stay in a ground floor unit again.

The units that orient north-south do get the morning sun coming in at an early hour and can be bothersome. The sliding glass doors form the 'wall' that overlooks the beautiful grounds. This is nice most of the time except when you are preparing for bed and getting up from bed. To allow for ventilation, we left the drapes open by necessity and so we scooted in and out of bed pretty quick, not being natural exhibitionists. I would suggest the owners buying Japanese screens- accordion type - so guests could place them between bed and glass doors at night for those plagued with the burden of modesty.

The beach is nice, though steep. Snorkeling fine - we saw turtles every day. SUP boarding was fun. The calmest area in the bay was the far side which was generally the lee shore. We rented from Maui Surfboards on the main drag between Lahaina and Napili.

Buy your groceries at Costco near the airport. Get soap, shampoo also. We found Times grocery, I think the second light south of Napili, a great 'one-stop' shopping spot. The resort has a Luau once a month performed by student dancers that is a must see if possible. The instructor has a beautiful voice and explains the dances. We took in the 'Old Lahaina Luau' and Slack Key show. There are no on-site restaurants. Line was always too long at Gazebo and we had a bad experience at the Sea House- roach in salad. Off site, we loved eating at Star Noodle, Pineapple Grill, Hula Grill, and the lemon caper Mahi-Mahi at Honokowai Okazuya was nothing short of incredible. If your in the market for a ukulele go to Lahaina Music at 910 Honoapiilani Hwy. you might also schedule a lesson or two from brother Alex.

Our last night we had to move to unit 118 located in the east-west building, a bit back but still ocean view. We thought it a bit more secluded and the furnishings nicer. The view of Molokai spectacular. We've already reserved here for next year so you know my recommendation. If your looking for AC, room service, and high rise views of Maui, this isn't it. If you like nostalgic, quiet, old Mahalo charm with beautiful views and great beach access at a good price, you found it!

PS thanks Marissa and staff for our nice stay. Also Mahalo to the owners and long time visitors we had the pleasure of meeting and visiting!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Capn-Groggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Aloha Capn-Groggy,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide for Tripadviser readers such an accurate description of your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Your comments are very important to us. I am especially intrigued with your suggestion concerning providing a shoji panel for privacy. I am going to follow up on your idea.

Thank you for choosing Napili Surf for your Hawaii vacation and hope to see you soon,


Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Being going here for over twenty-five years. not like your "big hotel type condos." Great beach for everyone including families. Staff most friendly and accommodating. Very short walk to the beach and for those that need to stay out of the sunshine, a very nice elevated part of the beach underneath the shade of a big tree. Mai tai party every Wednesday evening and a coffee "get together" every Friday morning with local bakery items and hot coffee provided by Marissa of the staff.

No need to look for a better place to stay within a "moderate budget."

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in room 104 for 4 days in April. Just a perfect place to stay. Our room walked out onto the pool and then the beautiful beach. There were many green turtles and whales in the distance. Great happy hour bar on the beach. We will definitely be back. Of the three hotels we stayed during our stay in Maui, this was by far the best. The staff are friendly and very honest. My wife had left her jewellery box on the night table after we cheched out. They called us and arranged pickup. We were very grateful for the maid's honesty. Shows the high standards of customer service. The hotel room was perfect for 2 adults and one child, just a great sleep when the ocean is blowing into your room at night. Thanks, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: rooms 104, 105
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angus2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Aloha Angus,

Mahalo for taking time to review your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your post is important to our staff and the readers of Tripadviser.

We hope to see you very soon. A Hui Hou!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a small resort with a long list of rules but if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in a beautiful location this is your place. We stayed for 3 nights in a one-bedroom condo. The decor was perhaps a little dated but we couldn't have asked for a better equipped unit. It really was a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#24 of 32 in Lahaina
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#20 of 43 in Lahaina
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing