We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved our stay here! We stayed in #207. Great views and beautiful balconies all around the condo. It was amazing to walk out the door and be at the beach in seconds. Loved sitting by the pool and playing shuffle board. Great location to everything with some great places to eat nearby. Eating breakfast at the Gazebo next door is a must!! Overall our stay was amazing we felt at home in paradise!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
95
197
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The location could not be better. Right on the prettiest beach of Maui, with turtles swimming around you as you snorkel. The rooms are comfortable, with a complete kitchen and all the appliances you could wish for. It's clean and well maintained. The gardens are beautiful and lush. Friendly staff all around. There is no airconditioning in the rooms, but we found this a plus. No noise and if you leave your windows open there is a very pleasant seabreeze to cool the room.
We will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Seat_0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, oh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days in late June in an ocean view room. Walked 100 feet to the beach, another 50 and your in the bay. Built in the '60s, no air conditioning, jalosy windows (you hear everything) but well maintained and the staff was great! Lots of other people from other properties come to Napili Bay, so it was always crowded; parking is tight. Snorkeling is great - sea turtles congregate right where the motel beach is. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose the Napili Surf as the place to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary and made the right choice! When we opened up the door, to our surprise, there was a beautiful flower arrangement with a congratulations card waiting for us on the table. In addition, there was a bottle of bubbly and two glasses in the full size refrigerator along with a freshly cut pineapple. The suite was very clean and it's apparent that cleanliness is a top priority for the staff. The kitchen was loaded with new appliances and a vast array of kitchen gadgets. The bed was cozy and good night sleeps were had every night. There is a small but very useful safe in the closet. The lanai and it's furniture was clean and comfortable and they even had a pair of binoculars for some whale watching. The staff was friendly and the grounds were maintained and very well taken care of. Lots of beautiful flowers and plants made the outside more like a tropical paradise instead of a commercial hotel. The view was awesome and the beach was relaxing. The ceiling fan and tornado type desk fan were a big help since there was no AC, but mornings were hot. I couldn't imagine what it would cost to run AC all the time. If you stay here, remember to sign the book in the room. We thought that was a really nice touch and haven't seen that done before. Don't know if we'll get back to Maul, however if we ever do, we'll be back to the Napili Surf!

Room Tip: Stay on the ground level if you don't like steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved our time at the Napili Surf!! The staff was friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and we were only steps from the beach! My only complaint was the ants in our room but honestly - We couldn't have cared less... A small price to pay for a week in paradise and we hardly spent any time in our room anyway. We loved it! There was a Mai tai party and hula show on Wednesday and a coffee gathering on Friday morning - free of charge and worth it!! If I had the money, I'd buy a condo there and never leave! ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToriBorialice63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Aloha Tori,

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf Beach Resort for your Hawaii vacation. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I also want to apologize for the ants which I will follow up on. Cleanliness is very important to us.

We hope to see you soon, A Hui Hou!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mead, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I did not give Napili Surf 5 stars only because of no a/c. I knew this ahead of time but thought the wind would make up for it but unfortunately our room faced the wrong way to take advantage of it. Due to loud noises coming from the resort next door mainly construction, we had to at times keep our lanai door closed. Our room was great, clean with a fully equipped kitchen. I was alittle surprised though that there was no shampoo, etc... supplied. I would stay here again but perhaps in a different building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to print our boarding passes in the office before our flight home.

Room Tip: A building closer to the beach and facing north/south would get better air circulation due to no a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would go back to the Napili Surf in a heartbeat. The room was spacious, clean and super comfortable. There was a full service kitchen, a great living room and dining space and a lanai from which you could see the water. The grounds were in great shape and kept up really well. On Wednesday there was a mai tai party with Hawaiian music and entertainment. What a nice way to meet other guests and the show was great fun. There was also a barbecue (not free but really good) right at your resort - a comfortable night! Another day we hiked the Haleakala Crater and happily did some takeout and enjoyed dinner and some wine from the relaxation of our space. The beach was terrific and only a few feet from our room! We had an
'oceanfront studio' and do not regret our choice in any way. The Napili Surf was a great place to stay and I would stay there again should we be so lucky to return to Maui. Don't look any further - stay here!

Room Tip: Loved our oceanfront studio ... could see the water from the lanai and we looked out onto a well lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha Deb G,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your impressions of Napili Surf. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the maitai hula show, the BBQ and hope to see you soon.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#6 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing