We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visitor”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My favorite place to stay on Maui after 25 trips to the island. Clean condos, beautiful location, good service, fun place to stay. Snorkeling is my favorite activity and this is a good location. Step right out onto Napili Bay beach or walk south to Turtle Bay or walk north to Kapalua bay or drive 10 minutes north to best snorkeling on Maui - Honolua Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Napili Surf Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Took a weekend trip to Maui from Honolulu and stayed at this property in Lahaina. I would highly recommend Lahaina, it is one of the most economical areas of Maui. Still have plenty of access to the beach, trendy and chain restaurants, shops, stores, and plenty of shaved ice.

We arrived at the hotel after a grueling drive out to Hana. If you've ever driven the entire loop from Kahului to Hana and then back around to Lahaina you will realize what a workout it is. The staff was very nice and laid back. Asked how our trip had been so far and asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more accommodating. I believe we booked through either Hawaiian Airlines or another booking company (priceline, etc.), so all we had to do was pay the resort fees and leave a credit card on file.

Room was nice and spacious. We could run the AC or let the tradewinds blow into the room. Very comfy and it looked like they just went through an upgrade.

There are a lot of things to do in the area and its just a short drive to Wailea and other parts of the island. We were driving to Haleakala the next morning so we needed some rest. If you want golf there is a good course a bit further from Lahaina in Honoloa.

Great stay, lot to do, lot of fun! I recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at Napili Surf at the beginning of August 2013 but didn't write a review because I really had nothing to add to what others are saying. I returned almost exactly a year later (August 2014) and I think I can now provide some useful information.

First off, everything you read from other reviewers is true. The property is brilliantly maintained --one of the best managed places at which I've ever stayed. Good snorkeling on the beach and good swimming. The kitchens are very well stocked with pots, pans, plates, etc. and perfectly suited for self catering. The cleaning staff do a great job and all the staff are very friendly.

I rented a car but really, if you are just there for a relaxing beach vacation and are not interested is doing things like the road to Hana or seeing dawn on the volcano, and if you are content to self cater, you could skip the car, take a taxi to and from the airport, and make one taxi trip to the Napili market for supplies. There are local buses but really, if you want to see the island you will need a car.

For families with young children or older couples who want a relaxing stay on a great beach in an extraordinarily well maintained property Napili Surf is highly recommended. Younger couples may prefer the action of a resort along Kaanapili Beach/Whalers Village area. I do not.

The resort has four buildings, three of which overlook a very spacious lawn and have a full or partial view of the ocean. Of those three buildings two face North East and one, the Ocean View Studios building, faces North West. The fourth building, the Garden View Studios building, looks over a narrow lawn at a high hedge, and faces North West. I have now stayed, in August, in a Partial Ocean View room that faces NE, and in a Garden View room that faces NW

On the air conditioning issue: In the Partial Ocean View room facing NE the breeze did a great deal to cool off the room (prevailing trade winds blow from the NE direction) I was quite comfortable. In the Garden View room you get a lot less breeze and the room was definitely a lot warmer at night. The Garden View rooms are significantly cheaper and significantly hotter, at least in August. If you want to maximize breeze through the room NE facing buildings are better. If you are in a NW facing room you might be better off on the ground floor since the lanais extend out into the lawn a bit and you get more wind. On the second floor the lanais do not extend out, and the breeze is blocked.

On privacy: The ground floor rooms are obviously not as private as the second floor rooms, because people will be walking by all the time and you will have your drapes open for the breeze. If you have a ground floor room right in front of the pool in the Garden View rooms you will have people sitting around the pool just a few metres from your lanai. On the other hand if you have kids who will use the pool having a room right in front of the pool allows you to sit on your lanai and keep an eye on them. For privacy avoid rooms 121-124. Rooms 127-129 would be far more private. On the other hand to have the pool right in front of your lanai so you can keep an eye on the kids rooms 121-124 are for you. The other pool, on the big lawn, is not so close to the buildings so you don't have the same issue.I solved the privacy issue by asking for a room on the second floor.

On the noise issue: Sure, all the windows are open and people are sitting out on their lanais,so you hear other guests. I guess that from time to time some guests are going to be louder than you would like, but my experience of 25 nights over two years is that loud guests are a rare event. Most people seem to be repeat visitors and very respectful.

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FormerlyBCBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Although this was our first visit, many of the guests we met at the Napili Surf were there for their ninth, 20th, even 45th stay. We could see why. The staff is so friendly and solicitous, the views of Molokai and Lanai across the water are so beautiful, and the little beach below the resort is so pleasant that we could understand the lure. Oh, and there are also several pools, waving palm trees, and patios outside every room. The studio we stayed in (116), although a little on the dated side, had everything we needed, and the one problem (with the shower door) was fixed immediately after we reported it. Our only issue -- and we were aware of it before booking -- is the lack of air conditioning. (This is the reason for my four-star rating.) Perhaps at some times of year this is not a problem, but even with the louvers open and the fan on high, the room was pretty warm at night. The resort's staff almost made up for this downside. Our visit coincided with the threat of TWO approaching hurricanes, and manager Tano and his staff worked nonstop to make sure guests were safe, well-equipped in case of power/water outages, and reassured. Wednesday's mai-tai get-together still took place, and as did Friday morning's coffee and treats (although moved indoors).
Those who prefer large, full-service resorts with all the amenities should look elsewhere, but I would recommend the Napili Surf to travelers who prefer low-key and laid-back. I'd also recommend the shop next door (at the Napili Shores) for snorkel or SUP rental. Prices are very reasonable, and the employees are knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ElandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at the Napili Surf Beach Resort 5 times now over the last 7-8 years. We have continued to return given the following reasons: fabulous location (on the most beautiful beach), cleanliness of the condos with daily maid service, well stocked kitchen to help us save on meals out, and cozy beds. The #1 reason we have returned is the convenience of the beautiful beach, as we have little ones and it's easy to quickly run to the beach and back up to the condo. The beach is usually calm, so we feel safe swimming with the kids.

However, during our last 3 trips, we have continuously had trouble with noisy neighbors. Due to the lack of A/C, we need to have the windows open. This is great when you can hear the waves, the wind, and the rain; not so great when you have people talking in full voice on their lanais or on the grass when you're trying to sleep. There are quiet hours from 10pm-8am, and management says that they patrol around 10pm every night, but I've continued to need to call to complain that someone is extremely loud, such as families running around in full voice at 11pm or next door neighbors playing a ukelele and singing out loud, which means no one is really enforcing the quiet hours. This year we also had a smoker next door, even though the property boasts a strict no smoking policy. We have then felt like management is annoyed at us for always being the "complainers". When we decided to leave early on this last trip, they did nothing to stop us or express concern on losing out on renting out multiple units for several nights. Maybe they were happy that the "complainers" left...who knows.

I would love to say that we'll go back, and maybe one day we will, but for now I was very happy to move to an air conditioned hotel where I could finally sleep.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bedrooms on the parking lot side - these are awful!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachGirl026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

GOOD: The lawn next to the beach was my favorite spot! It had beautiful trees for shading (optional), plenty of chairs, and soft grass. It's the perfect spot for coffee/beer and a good book. I also thought the pillows were soft and the linens were nice. The granite counter tops were nice and the kitchen provided everything we needed (coffee filters and wrap). Thank you/Mahalo for providing a powerful fan for the room, Napili Beach & Surf Resort! Otherwise, I would have been uncomfortably hot. I was pleased to have a room on the second story so we could always leave our windows open and get a good breeze. The resort is a great deal for your money and you are a short drive to downtown Lahaina.

BAD: I really missed the air conditioning. I was too hot and not used to sleeping with fans, so I didn't sleep very well. Also, there were small bugs near the bathroom sink and kitchen area - very, very tiny bugs. I did not see them anywhere else or else I would have asked for another room. We stayed in 224.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Worldly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Napili for three weeks in July and this was our third visit.
Where to begin...... friendly staff, clean rooms, manicured grounds, pretty beach, excellent mai tai's, fantastic breakfast (my partner consumed at least four pieces of cornbread each time) and the no noise rule after 10pm suited us perfectly.
With the beach literally at your doorstep, a pre breakfast swim, a snorkel with the turtles or a leisurely paddle around the bay became our daily routine.
Drinks while watching the sunset, the sound of the ocean at night and the birds in the morning, was our idea of a sensational holiday.
The new general manager (Tonu - sorry for the spelling) is a gem, he is a knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming manager and takes the time to speak with each and every guest. The reception staff - fantastic, housekeeping - exceptional, grounds staff - friendly, obliging and oh so particular.
The only problem with staying at Napili is that you have to leave............ truly paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DSnMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#24 of 32 in Lahaina
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#20 of 43 in Lahaina
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing