We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
BARCELONA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We were there in our honeymoon. Great place. Quiet but/and well located. Just a few meters from the beach. Staff is friendly and will help you with suggestions for activities. The apartments are big, clean and well equipped. Very good atmosphere in all the premises, just felt like home. Just what we were looking for, we even extended our stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUNA044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
96
198
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This place deserves its rating. Having been in Honolulu for 8 days it was great to go to a place that has such a relaxed attitude. The room was much bigger than anything you are going to find in Oahu, while dated the room was quite comfortable with unlimited internet and cable TV.

The beach was better then expected, it turned out to be a great place to snorkel. We got deep sea turtles on at least 3 days, the rocks and reefs also have a lot of tropical fish feeding so you are going to get heaps to look at.

The resort being geared more to adults is an added bonus. It was great to be able to relax by the pool without kids running round making noise.

Two issues do affect this place. Having to pay cash is crazy! I had to carry close to $2000 australian around with me for 8 days, it would be much better for this place to take credit card and charge a fee. The other issue is the location, I loved being right on the beach but I didn't like the hike to Lahauna shops (or the 50 minute drive from the airport). A hint for anyone going to Maui, get a car otherwise you won't be able to get around!

When I return to Maui I will consider staying here again, we had a great time! The shuffle board courts rock!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We'd 'discovered' Napili Surf on trip advisor and then found other reviews on the web and in guide books. It sounded perfect for our 4-night Maui stay. We checked for the website specials and also called prior to booking to make sure we got the best rate for a garden view condo. Since the resort doesn't take credit cards, we made a $300 deposit and were able to pay our balance upon arrival.

The room was beautiful and had all the comforts of home. The garden view was lovely - for some reason I thought our view would be of the parking lot - NOT!! The grounds were beautifully maintained and the beach was convenient. We were traveling around Maui a lot and the weather wasn't cooperating so didn't spend a lot of time on the premises. But we did enjoy a great afternoon on the beach and at the pool on the one warm sunny day we had! Beach blankets in the room, as well as bamboo mats available outside were convenient

We ate breakfasts in our room since we were heading out fairly early each day and also brought in dinner - purchased at the Napili market a mile or so away. Convenient and far more reasonable than we were finding Maui restaurant prices. The fully outfitted kitchen was more than adequate!

We highly recommend Napili Surf for a home away from home in Maui!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed here for 10 days in unit 115 for our 25th anniversary. It was absolutely great. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. There were people working every day cleaning, fixing, and generally keeping the place up. Our unit was on the ground floor. All we had to do was open the sliding door walk across the lawn and we were on what the locals call Maui's nicest beach.

The units are very well cared for. While I wouldn't call them 'luxurious', they are very comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen had everything we need and lots of stuff we didn't. Most importantly it had a good coffee maker. We originally thought we would be eating out much of the time but we ended up eating in the condo most of the time because it was so comfortable and relaxing. There are numerous bbq's around the property.

The service was very good. We arrived late after the office was closed but there was an envelope waiting there to welcome us and give us all the info we needed. Our unit was cleaned every day. On the one occasion we had a minor complaint (the light outside our door was very bright) the owner took care of it right away. There was ice in the freezer for us on arrival (very important for that first drink!).

Before arriving I was concerned about the lack of A/C. Turns out it was not needed at all. Both end walls have slats which can be opened for very good cross air flow and it was very comfortable sleeping at night....and I'm a warm sleeper so having it cool is important. As an added benefit you are lulled to sleep by the sound of surf and gently woken in the morning by the birds. The resort is far enough from the main road that it is very quiet....no sounds of traffic at all.

The resort is located only 15 minutes from Lahaina and there is a market just down the street (Napili Market....walking distance) and another 5 minutes away (Star market).

I can't think of anything this resort could do better....wait.....maybe a hot tub would be nice. I'd return for another stay in a minute. Thanks Nipili Surf!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoCoPixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, Va.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The Napili Surf was recommended to us by our neighbors who have stayed there several times in the past. After spending a little over a week there, I can see why they, and so many others go back time after time. The beach is one of the best and was great for snorkeling. There are two restaurants within walking distance (The Gazebo and Sea House) and both are excellent. The grounds are well maintained and the units are reasonably priced. We have stayed at other locations in Maui, including the Westin at Kaanapali, and have found the Napili Surf to be the best value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed 4-nights at this wonderful property. The resort is located on a quiet bay with gentle surf perfect for small kids. I stayed in room #109 and it was very well kept, squeeky clean, roomy, nice new appliances in the kitchen. The grounds are relaxing and impeccably maintained. Host Scott U. takes immense pride in the property and it shows in the way he maintains it. On Weds, he hosts a mai tai gathering for all guests. He makes a wonderful mai tai too !! I will defintely return on my next visit and easily reccomend the Napali Surf to all.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiccardoMora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2009

After reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to choose the Napili Surf for our honeymoon and were not disappointed. The room (204) is well-appointed and the kitchen is very well equipped. Being so close to an uncrowded beach has been a wonderful bonus. We have been able to watch turtles playing in the surf and have sighted several whales from our balcony. The resort offers ample parking which is helpful as a car is definetly required to get around the island.
We have been delighted by the attention to detail shown by the ground staff in keeping the gardens, BBQ's and common areas meticulously manicured and cleaned. We have also been impressed with how all the guests, old and young alike, have respected the quiet times and we have thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful and relaxed honeymoon after all the build up to our wedding.
The only downside is the Resort does not accept credit cards so for international guests that do not have an american cheque book, carrying around that much cash whilst travelling to pay for our stay was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing