We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a hotel.”
Review of Napili Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napili Village
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great find. Our room had a full kitchen (not sure if all rooms have this), a real plus given how expensive it is to dine-out in Maui. Available for use is a pool, BBQ, laundry facility, and an open-air over-sized room for group gatherings (and a once-a-week complimentary breakfast). Wifi is $2/day extra (do you really need this on vacation?). No charge for parking. Quiet hours are from 8pm to 8am which is wonderful: no screaming kids or loud vacation drinking. The front-desk person was most gracious as was Milise, the housekeeper. A good beach is a four-minute stroll away. Help the housekeepers by rinsing off your sandy feet with the hose.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both "rows" but prefer "B" rooms: close to parking (grocery ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Those expecting a $500/night room for $150 better go elsewhere. Napili Village is nice but it was built around 1967. You get what you pay for. If you want right on the beach then Napili Sunset or some of the others on Napili Bay will give you a similar room for $290/night or more. As stated, it is definitely the best bargain on Napili Bay but it is not 'right on the beach'. Having said that...it is less than a minute walk to the beach.
Well after our 14 hour flight from east coast of Canada we finally made it leaving the -20F weather behind. Weather is constantly between 70F at night to 85F in the afternoon... WOW.
We had a bit of rain which was mostly at night. The trade winds kept things comfortable most of the time so much that we hardly used the air conditioner.
You do need a car to get around the Island and I found Discount Hawaii Car Rentals guys to be the best. They have discount contracts with most of the rental companies. We paid $465 total for 2 weeks with a compact. I ran into a bit of an issue when trying to fill the car using my Canadian credit card. Some of the service stations require you to input your Zip code before you can use the pumps. Being Canadian we don't have Zip codes so I tried to use 'any' Zip. The pump must do a match between your Canadian credit card and the zip because I could never get gas at a station that required my zip without having to go in and see the cashier, etc... not worth the trouble for me. Crossed those stations off my list (Ohana gas was one). Once I found on that worked without using a Zip I went back there.
There are great hiking trails along the coast nearby (walk to them in the morning) and they wind up into the Kapalua area which is just beautiful. North Pacific Humpback Whales are very easy to spot as you walk along the trails. There are roughly 12000 - 13000 of them that come to Maui every winter so they are easy to spot in the channels.
Napili Bay is full of life. We saw turtles every day. There are many colourful fish perfect for snorkelers and we had a Hawaiian monk seal come up on the beach beside us for the afternoon.
We spent one week in a one bedroom (7a) older unit that needed some upgrades but it was ok. 7a has the best view of the ocean. Second week was in a studio (11) with many upgrades. Both units were on second floor with the lanai or deck facing the ocean. There is some road noise but not that much and after a day or so you don't even hear it in my opinion.

The roosters do crow a bit but around 5-6am but it was not a big issue as I was always up before them (five time zones crossed getting to Maui) so I thought I might go over one morning and crow at them before they got up just to even things out...LOL.

Get your groceries at Foodland (2 stores in Lahaina). They are quite a bit cheaper than Times supermarket. Ask Foodland to set up a discount account for you. All you need to do is give the cashier your phone number (from any country) and you get a sizable discount.

Brian Jenkins the front desk guy (manager) was great and could not be more helpful. He lives in the hotel and is around most of the time even if the office is closed.
We book for next year before we left. Hope this helps.....

Room Tip: 7a has the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Cute and Quaint were the words my wife used to describe this great little place. It was perfect for the two of us but would be tough for three or four as it is small. However, the space is utilized very intelligently and the units are incredibly well stocked. Everything works perfectly and we never had to use the AC once as the cross breeze and ceiling fans were excellent. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is wonderful. There is coffee in the Ohana every morning and even continental breakfast on Fridays. The pool and bbq area are small but adequate. The charcoal grill was simple and was a fun throwback. A barefoot walk onto the beach takes literally under one minute. Staying here was fun and gave us a different experience than our usual large resort experience, (at less than half the cost). We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor unit on the beach side and you will have perfect access to the pool and Ohana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambyclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent one week in November at Napili Village. We were delighted with everything. The room was clean, spacious and had a well-stocked kitchen. The prices were very good - in fact this was the best deal that we found after searching the internet thoroughly. The pool was lovely, as well as the grounds were beautifully kept. We had a nice complimentary breakfast on Friday morning which was fun. The Napil Bay beach was about a one minute walk away. All staff were friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline and Al... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We've been to Maui several times and love Napili Bay. Selected this condo complex because it is a 2 minute walk to the beach and a great low price. The resort is an older property made up of individually lwne units so each one is unique. Unfortunately we got a small one bedroom unit but the livingroom had two twin beds rather than a couch and coffee table. There was a window unit AC in thw front room but not in the real bedroom. Our lanai was small without much of a view. My wife left her sunglasses on the lanai table and they were gone in the morning. The grounds are very pretty with a beautiful pool. We ended up leaving early and the staff was very nice and understanding since they could'nt put us in another unit. Great location, just stay away from 14B unless you have 4 in your party and don't plan on spending any time in the room. I think the upstairs units wold be nicer

Room Tip: Make sure you get the details about the room location and how the roomsare configured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I REALLY wanted to love this place. The price and location are what brought me there. Super close to the beach at Napili Bay. The staff was very helpful. Gave us boogie boards and beach chairs to use. The pool was very closeby to our room. But there were problems that will keep me from ever staying here again.
This is a very OLD property, and it's obvious the minute you walk into your room. The rooms are tiny. It's billed as having one bedroom, or divides into one bedroom with king and 2 twins. We got a room that was waaay too small for 4 people (1 adult, and 3 kids.) Tiniest bathroom I have ever seen in any hotel. SInk with NO counter, toilet squeezed next to the shower stall. We stayed there for 2 weeks, and had 3 days when the maid never showed up, and this was not counting her usual announced Wednesdays off. On day 12 we had a mouse running around in our room. NO AC really....just a window unit that the maid will turn off if you are out of your room for even 5 minutes, so you come back to an oven. Laundry room not open after 8pm, and it's $2.50 to do a load and dry it. NO icemakers in the fridge, and no ice machines. Parking around the hotel almost nonexistent. People constantly smoking outside the next door market = super smelly and annoying.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else on Napili Bay, if you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sjksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I go to Maui every year. We stayed in kanapali before and drove to napili to snorkle. This time we stayed at napili village condo which we really enjoyed. The room with full kitchen was really fine. The beach was 75 feet to napili a little farther kahana. Great snorkeling , great food, incredible reasonable cost. We stayed at unit 25, which had good internet access. Very beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar. Room 25 good internet Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jerryandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Lahaina
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
399 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Village

Address: 5425 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napili Palms is one of the best kept secrets on Maui. This privately owned condo is only a few steps from the famous Napili Bay Beach. This property is a garden setting with local orchids, plumeria, hibiscus, bananas, mangos and papayas. Relax by the pool viewing the gracious palms. Dine on your private lanai or poolside. Stroll to the beach and enjoy the breathtaking sunset at Napili Bay between the islands of Lanai and Molokai. Napili General Store is on site to meet your every need for an island vacation. Snorkel Bob's is also on site to arrange all your island activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Village Hotel Lahaina
Napili Village Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing