We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 301 is grim, nothing like website pictures.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Noelani Condominium Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unit 301 is grim, nothing like website pictures.”
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We booked into unit 301 based on the web site and reviews, but were greatly disappointed by:

-clothes dryer that vents heat and steam into bedroom area
-broken closet and bathroom doors
-moldy master bath
-wiring and wall switches that flicker and arc
-unglazed floor tile the color of dried mud
-heavily marked up walls
-multiple stained living area rug
-inadequate lighting in bedrooms and no night stands
-non-functioning phone and doorbell
-jalousie windows in master bedroom need to be open at night, allowing in dazzling all-night security lighting from adjoining home
-lumpy hard mattresses
-skimpy amenities (1 broken beach chair?)
-pool had vegetation in it

This is not the place to stay if you want to relax and rest up. And we left feeling tired and stressed. Nice staff, but they're up against an aging and randomly maintained property. Frommer said everything here was first class, nothing could be further from the truth!

  • Liked — Nice staff.
  • Disliked — Tired and broken down.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank mainetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaNoelani, Resort Manager at Noelani Condominium Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2006
Aloha! Iam the manager and one of the friendly staff mentioned in this review. Condo #301 just went through a 70k renovation. The unglazed flooring is rose quartzite. Very expensive. The washer dryer is located in a closed closet and the dryer is vented to a water filtration setup. The nearest bedroom is across the hall. Both of the beds are within 1 year old. This condo is located on the very south (quiet) corner and has breathtaking views and quality deluxe amenities. I encourage you to review the other reviews and pay a visit for your self. You will find as others that Noelani is No Ka Oi - the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    144
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
198
307
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Our family stayed at the Noelani in May of this year and couldn't have been more pleased. Our group consisted of six adults and four small children (under age 4). We had two condos: a three bedroom (303) for our daughters and sons-in-law and their children, and a one bedroom for my husband and me (209). Both condos were exceptionally nice and had all the amenities we needed (I did peek at some of the other condos and they were equally as nice). Plus, the managers were wonderful to work with.

Noelani is the oldest of the condo groups in the area but enjoys one of the best ocean-front locations and is extremely well maintained ... the grounds, especially, were quite lovely. Another real "plus" is the barbecue area which we utilized almost every night. Just be aware that Noelani has no beach (a surprise to some of the guests). It wasn't a problem for us as everyone used the pools and, if we wanted to visit a beach, we just drove a little bit down or up the coast. We would definitely stay there again.


  • Liked — Location and value.
  • Disliked — No beach for the kids ... but that wasn't even a problem.
  • Tips/Secrets — You can book many events through the Noelani concierge.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O.C., California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

I initially found the Noelani Condominiums through tripadvisor.com. Not only are the prices right (Studio cost $111 with AAA discount), it was in an awesome location with a wonderful view. The staff was friendly, the condo was right on (2) pools and a jaccuzi, there was a public barbeque and outside bar area, herb garden to help yourself to. Our condo (#114 (which I WOULD stay at again)) was a studio with a rather uncomfortable queen sized bed, yet it had an (almost) fully stocked kitchen, sofa couch, a closet complete with a safe, a cooler for your adventures at the beach, beach chairs, a fan, etc. etc. etc. There was a celing fan, but no A/C. We needed to leave the door open at night to stay cool. Also, don't bother paying $5 a day for Wireless internet (at least in 114) because you really can't get any accept for out on the Lanai where it's slow and sketchy to get. We had an attack of mini-ants (there weren't that many) in the kitchen... just be careful where you leave open bags of food... I was munching on some wasabi peas, and my fiance realized that they were covered in these tiny ants (seriously, no big deal just be careful with food). We went to the orientation, and I definetly recommend you going. Bruce, the Concierge, has an awesome knowledge of the island and will help you navigate your trip without getting ripped off, and help you find the best bang for your buck. He also as an "in" with many of the places and can get you reservations sometimes for the impossible. He got us on the door list for the Feast at Lele 2 days before the show (Which is usually sold-out at least 6 days ahead of time) and they escorted us to the front and center table! It was amazing! He will definetly be our activities planner whenever we go to Maui. The only thing is, his speech is long, though informative, and there wasn't enough food for everyone at the breakfast. Just eat something beforehand so that you don't starve, but you'll surely learn a lot and want to be there for the duration. One of the most important things that I learned was that when you go and park places in front of tourist attractions, make sure you put your valuables in the trunk beforehand, because the robbers might be watching. Also, places with broken glass on the ground are spots that they are likely to hit. Out of Sight, Out of Mind comes into play anywhere. I wouldn't really worry about the Noelani though, they have a patrol at night and the area is very safe. The snorkeling in front is great, the water is like a bathtub, and there are TONS of shells, etc on the beach all around (just make sure that they aren't housing any crabs, they hide well). I will definetly come back, and wouldn't be opposed to staying in the same room.

  • Liked — Very Quiet, Great View, Wonderful Location, Bruce the Concierge
  • Disliked — Internet Service, Uncomfortable bed (too soft).
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the orientation Noelani offers, but eat beforehand.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cathyameel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

My husband and I honeymooned in Oahu and Maui during September 2006. We stayed 5 nights at the Noelani.

The stay at Noelani was all we had expected, we had booked it based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews. Our condo (deluxe oceanview studio #116) was located on the first floor, near the pool. We enjoyed great ocean views and across to the Molokai Island. We would have preferred a condo on the upper level because it seemed that every person who walked past our lanai would peek into our condo. Nevertheless, our condo was comfortable and tastefully furnished, complete with a stereo system and a DVD player. It was lovely to hear the soothing sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks and feel the ocean breeze as we slept.

The orientation breakfast on our 1st morning was informative. Bruce, the activities organiser was helpful in booking the Hana tour and the Molokini snorkel trip for us. He also highly recommended the Sea House Restaurant (located right by the water) at the Napili Kai Resort. We dined there on our last night in Maui. The food and the ocean views were absolutely divine!

For the lovers of aquariums, Maui Ocean Center at Maa'lea Harbour is a must. We spent a good half day there and were impressed with the sheer variety of fishes, etc.

All in all, Noelani was good value and we had a wonderful stay. Thanks for the wonderful memories.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the orientation breakfast, hire a car to get around
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CHAN2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Like many we booked our room based on Tripadvisor reviews (we had originally planned to spend all 6 nights at a B&B in Kihei but ultimately split 3/3 in order to experience the Noelani). Everything was perfect. We arrived to our names on the welcome reader-board, and immediately fell in love with our condo (217, which we would beg for again!). The rooms are wonderfully furnished, the kitchens well equipped, and there were some extra nice touches which we weren't expecting (laundry soap for the self-service machines, the herb garden free for the picking to spice up dinner, and a fresh flower lei on our door the day of our departure). The community gas BBQ grill ended up offering great social time AND a great excuse to eat in for the evening, as who could stand to leave the wonderful lapping ocean and frockiing turtles? The only downsides of our stay were the Lahaina traffic (S. Maui scored much better in that regard) and some hairs in the shower drain upon our arrival (mark that down to human error). We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Spacious suite; full kitchen & access to outdoor BBQ; closeness to ocean and turtle activity
  • Disliked — Lahaini traffic
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan to eat in as the community gas BBQ, herb garden, and outdoor (condo) lanai seating make for a perfect dinner adventure.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank caj00827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

This is a hidden jewel just north of Ka'anapali. It's not much to look at from the outside (3 cinderblock buildings) and my condo (#117) was showing its age in some ways (broken levers on louver windows). But it was well worth the reasonable price I paid. The staff is very helpful and on the first day orientation, you get a lot of help in signing up for the Maui activities you want to enjoy.

If you want a base of operations on West Maui, this is the place. If you just gotta have a "resort" experience, then go down the highway to Ka'anapali and pay a lot more. But even at any of the Ka'anapali hotels, you're not going to get a room as close to the ocean as any condo at the Noelani. One of the memories I'll have of this trip is listening to the surf at night as I slept. And every morning I was greeted by a great view of Moloka'i across the strait.

I was afraid that traffic noise from Lower Honoapi'ilani Road just outside my condo was going to disturb me a lot but I could hear the traffic only while in the kitchen and the bathroom. In the bedroom, I could hear only the sound of the surf.

One bit of advice: if you can, wrangle a condo on an upper floor because it gives you more privacy. My condo was on the first floor and it seemed that almost every person walking by my lanai couldn't resist looking into my condo. I could have closed the curtain but then I would have cut off that nice breeze that always seemed to be blowing through.

  • Liked — Close to the ocean and fantastic view
  • Disliked — Condo was a little old and Honokowai is far from Lahaina
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid first floor condos for privacy reasons
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Oceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

My fiance and I both love this place. The condos are clean both inside and out. They have all the cooking materials for you to cook. We both saved a load of money cooking and having fun at the same time. They even have a little herbal garden for the resident to enjoy. Nice touch. I love the view overlooking the litted pool and the ocean. Just breath taking. As for the staff, Krystal, thanks for sending my wires.. free of charge.. back to my home. You guys are great.

Be aware that staff only comes every other day to clean your place and the office closes at 6 p.m. Didn't know that. didn't care.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank joedfdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
2.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noelani Condominium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noelani Condominium Resort

Property: Noelani Condominium Resort
Address: 4095L Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Noelani Condominium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maui Vacation You've Always Dreamed Of........ Away from the tour busy crowds of high rise hotels and overdeveloped resort areas, there is a unique, private haven where you can still enjoy all the peace, tranquility and Aloha Spirit of Old Hawaii. Maui No Ka Oi! All of our Maui vacation condos for rent are oceanfront, not just ocean view, like so many other Maui vacation condo rentals. Enjoy the best of Maui in our oceanfront resort condos. Relax in our swimming pools, Jacuzzi, private lanais and tropical island setting, just steps from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Noelani Condominium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noelani Condominium Hotel Lahaina
Noelani Maui
Noelani Condominium Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing