We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 205, No longer comfortable”
Review of Nohonani Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nohonani Condos
Diamond Bar, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unit 205, No longer comfortable”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our third consecutive year staying in Unit #205, and for decades before that we stayed next door at the Kulakane, so obviously, the Honokowai area is the only place on Maui we will ever stay. The check-in arrangements for Unit 205 are simple, there is ample parking at the Nohonani, the grounds are well kept by the new on-site property manager, and the unit itself offers a fair variety of supplies.

The owners, Tip & Angela Tyler, have always been very helpful during all of our past stays and respond immediately to our email if there is any problem. On this trip I did need to contact the owners a few days after our arrival to let them know there were leaking fixtures in the master bathroom that needed to be addressed. They offered to send a repairman right away, but I asked them to wait until after we had checked out to have the plumber in, and they agreed to do so without any trouble.

There were a couple of issues the owners could not remedy on this particular trip, and we definitely hope changes happen before we start making next years vacation plans. There have been no changes in the living room furniture in the past three years. This is a popular unit, regularly occupied, and with the amount of use the couch and love seat get, they are in serious need of rehab or just total replacement. They were so uncomfortable we dreaded coming back to the unit at night since there was nowhere we could enjoy just hanging out to watch TV or read. Our other issue was the living room rug. It was so filthy we put towels down to walk on rather than keep our feet on it. It would also be nice if the master bedroom could have a king size bed. There is plenty of space for it, and it would only add to the vacation comfort. We would enjoy returning next year to Unit 205, but not in its current condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiFoodies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    47
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NORTH CAROLINA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in june 2013 in #202 which is a 2 bedroom unit. We rented through Maui Lodging Properties as the onsite management had no availability for our dates.
First of all we loved everything about the Nohonani Complex and the Honokwai area where it is located very laid back definitely our style.
The unit- Nice unit all tiled floors which is great IMO I don't like carpeting at the beach. No AC but we were fine with the trade winds. Comfortable beds and nice updated kitchen that had everything we needed.
Pool area- Pool is saltwater and very nice no nasty chlorine smell when you get out. The pool and pool area were kept very clean by the resident manager, he also cleaned the grills every day.
Beach area- The beach is small but perfect for us we snorkeled with the Humuhumu's and the rest of the fish in the am and the Honu's after lunch time. The Honu's also came up on the beach at least 3 times at night during our stay. The beach also has loungers for guests to use there were never more than 10 people or less on the beach any time we were on it.
We loved it so much we are booked for next may this time in a 1 bedroom as it will just be me and my honey next trip can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UNCMOM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After spending 2 nights at the way over priced Kaanapali Beach hotel we were fortunate to find this condo and "Blue" ( Marga Robinson) We had a great 2 bedroom condo right on the beach where we were able to watch the turtles and manta rays right from our deck. We will definitely be back. It was fantastic and Blue was so accommodating!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaMaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My family of four had the pleasure of staying in unit #301 at the Nohonani condo complex in Honokawai in Aug. 2013. The condo was furnished with everything we needed and exceeded our expectations. The complex is located right on the beach with a delightful pool and nice reef for snorkeling. As others have posted, the local turtles love the area right in front of Nohonani and you get great sunset views from the lanai.

We loved exploring Maui during our visit and it was great having a comfortable condo to relax in after a long day of snorkeling, driving around and beach hunting. Blue Robinson was a pleasure to work with when I had initial questions and making our reservation. Mahalo!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved that we were steps away from the ocean. Listening to the waves hit the shoreline every night was wonderful. Condo was very spacious and had everything that we needed. Every nite a huge Hawaiian Sea Turtle came up on the beach right in front to rest. Just magical! It is a little noisey if you go to bed early due to the fact that it also is poolside. But the resident manager kicked all the kids out at 9:00 every night. I know that's not late but when you're out in the sun and doing activities all day ... Well lets just say we never saw 10 pm any night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon before headed out to Hana. West Maui was beautiful with lots to do and explore and a lot more shopping (more commercial than Hana). We were told that we came during the low season (July) so it wasn't as crowded either, which is great for us. Nohonani Condos is conveniently located in West Maui with easy access to lots of different activities. If you prefer more shops and stores (like on Front Street), then West Maui is the place to be. We only stayed two nights but it was good enough for us to see and experience different spots of West Maui.

Room Tip: If you like to listen to the sounds of the waves 15 feet outside your room, then this is the room yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kartah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Condo 403 is a great place to stay. I traveled with 2 other adults, as well as 2 teens and a child. The 6 of us fit very comfortably in this unit. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms spacious and nicely decorated. The kitchen is small, but the kitchen has everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) you could possibly need to put together any meal. The cupboards are stocked with all the things you don't bring on vacation, such as salt and pepper and coffee filters.

From the ease of booking this room online, to the helpful and informative emails from Chuck about the rental, to the gorgeous spacious room right on the ocean, there is no place I'd rather stay on my next trip to Maui.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the beach for turtles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nohonani Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nohonani Condos

Property: Nohonani Condos
Address: 3723 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9389
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Nohonani Condos Hotel Lahaina
Nohonani Condos Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing