We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sands of Kahana”
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is our second time we've stayed at the Sands of Kahana, first time was in 2005 and honestly nothing has changed since then. The resort is very clean, and the staff was very nice, but the condos need remodeling, new furniture and the noise was so loud it woke us up every morning around 6-7am. This is a very clean resort and it's in a great location but honestly I feel they need to start redoing the condos with new furnishings. Our shades in both our living room and master bedroom were broken and didn't close properly so the beautiful morning sun showed right through the blinds. Don't get me wrong, it's a great place to stay but VERY outdated. Lounge chairs by the pool need to be replaced. Nothings changed since 2005

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingpatti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our resort clean and our staff friendly. However, we regret to learn of your disappointment with our accommodations. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and regret this was not your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The place was clean and friendly staff. Beach was nice right in front and the had beach stuff to rent on site. Elevator was so very slowwwww but this is the islands. Room was nice and view was nice if you are in one of the front units or second set back. Lots of beach lounge chairs to use on grass and by pool. Overall good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a beach view or you might end up with a parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for staying at Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our staff friendly and our resort clean. We are glad you enjoyed being so close to the beach and appreciate the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

SOK Thank you for such an amazing stay. My family & I enjoyed our short vacation, A Special thank you to the young lady Jenny at the front desk who checked us in, thank you for your great customer service, and for being so friendly and kind to my kids when they come at the desk to borrow some equipments to play with. And also mahalo to all of the wonderful staffs at the Sands Of Kahana. We were hoping to be back nextyear!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheZed_1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay at the Sands of Kahana. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff and will certainly share your praises with the team. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful place any time of the year. Great beach. Pool is now heated. People working there are very friendly and helpful. Service is excellent. Paddle boards and kayaks available for rent on site. Go back every year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for sharing this complimentary review of your stay at the Sands of Kahana. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our accommodations and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for one week during Spring Break this year. We had a lovely time. We booked a 3-bedroom (on the 3rd floor) which accommodated 5 adults and 5 kids (3 teenagers and 2 little ones). There are elevators so we had no problems getting our luggage up. The unit was spacious with ample room to be off to yourself and have quiet time. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare meals. We purchased groceries at the local mart and like everything else in Hawaii be prepared to spend some money. However, purchasing groceries did save us in being able to feed everyone.

On site there is a restaurant with daily happy hour and decent drinks. Two pools that were well maintained, bbq grills from view of the balcony, volleyball, and basketball court. The property is only a few steps from the beautiful beach. We walked that beach a couple of times early morning and it was fantastic. I don't have any complaints about the property as it had everything you would expect. The kitchen water faucet ran low on pressure at one point but as soon as the call was made maintenance was there to repair it (at 10:00 at night). I felt extremely safe at all times and found out later that the kids were leaving the front door wide open while they ran in and out of the room :)

As a family we scheduled activities to include a ride in a submarine, a luau, a surfing class, and snorkeling. I must say there was something for everyone and the kids absolutely loved it. There are so many activities and things to do that you won't have any problems finding something you enjoy. We visited downtown Lahaina and you can walk for hours in the shops, visiting historical sites such as the Old Courthouse (which was great) and on the harbor. You can either book at the resort or call directly. If you like shaved ice, try Local Boys located downtown across from the Old Courthouse...it was the best.

In sum, we went to relax and have a great time since this was our first exposure to Hawaii and we weren't disappointed. There was no question that you do need a car for transportation but it is pretty easy to get around and to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a clear view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are thrilled you had a lovely experience at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy our condo-style unit perfectly accommodated your party of 10, and that our proximity to the beach was a convenience. We are glad you were pleased with our pool area, onsite restaurant and other facilities. We appreciate the information you have shared about our activities and the surrounding area, along with the feedback you have provided. Your comments will certainly be helpful for those who are planning a stay. We hope you will consider another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I exchanged my timeshare for a week at the Sands of Kahana, We exchanged for a one bedroom. We were given room 414 in building one which overlooked another hotel. We later found out that if you want a view of the ocean you need to exchange for a two or three bedroom unit. The room was very comfortable with a full kitchen, two TVs and an oversized Lanai. The onsight restaurant was very good and there are several good restaurants across the street. There are two local grocery stores and of course a McDonalds. All in all a good choice for the value.

Room Tip: Room 414 was very comfortable and quiet. A quick walk to the beach and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aferg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for exchanging into the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our accommodations comfortable and our onsite restaurant to your liking. The information you have shared about the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a visit. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a first floor unit with one bedroom in Building 4. The area was spacious. No air conditioning - but well ventilated. The kitchen was well appointed, and had everything we needed (we prepared most meals on sight.) Outdoor gas grills were also available and there is a restaurant onsite. The stackable washer/dryer was a great asset. Front desk and concierge staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mqrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our accommodations spacious and well equipped. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and amenities and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,639 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#8 of 43 in Lahaina
333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £214 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing