We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Acton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is my 2nd visit and again had a wonderful stay. You can overcome the lack of air conditioning by buying a fan at the Big K just outside the airport. Stayed in the penthouse ocean view and the view was incredible. Very little delay with the elevators this time

For those that are divers I recommend diving at Malay Wharf. Go with Mike at Maui Dive Center near the McDonalds in Lahaina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana! We are delighted that you always have a wonderful stay. We are glad to hear that you loved the ocean view, and enjoyed interacting with our staff. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    272
    82
    41
    48
See reviews for
320
183
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are currently here at the Sands, checked in today. We were told at check in that we were being given an "upgraded" room. I have stayed in some bad places, and sadly my dad wasted his points letting us come here for our anniversary. We were told that condo we are in is much better than the one booked for us. If this is upgraded and much better I hate to think what we would have been put up in. The furniture is very 80's and not very clean, the carpeting is disgusting, it has taken me 3, yes, 3 hours to dry one load of laundry! Yes, no air conditioning and when we got to the room it was terribly hot. Why in this day and age would you NOT have air?? Back of the complex gets traffic noise and every other thing you can imagine. Anyone who thinks they are getting a bargain here needs to rethink seriously.

I hate to give negative reviews, but I appreciate any help from others that do reviews and I will not lie about it. I will be getting ahold of RCI and Interval and let them know what they are offering up their customers. The condo that this one traded points with is luxurious and beautiful and updated . They are just taking your money here plain and simple. Don't believe the pictures on their site, it is NOTHING like what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WvTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your exchange. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Our resort frequently receives high marks on RCI surveys from satisfied exchange guests. We are sorry your visit did not reflect the experience of many others. We also apologize for the housekeeping issues, which fall below our standard for cleanliness, and for the dryer difficulty. We are happy to address any functional issues while you’re with us and will certainly investigate the problem. Numerous Hawaii properties do not have air conditioning owing to the temperature climate and trade winds. At the same time we understand some people prefer central air, and we are sorry for the discomfort you experienced. We thank you once again for your visit and wish you many more years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Hawaii. We stayed our first week at the Sands of Kahana in Maui and unfortunately while we fell in love with Maui, the same cannot be said for this resort. I don't like to write negative reviews, but I felt like others should be well informed before staying here. POSITIVES: very spacious rooms, great location, nice little beach in front of the hotel, beautiful and well maintained grounds. NEGATIVES: Our room had an ant infestation in one of guest bathrooms. We discovered it our first morning and called the front desk and asked to change rooms. They said the manager would arrive later in the morning and would call us then. We never heard from the manager, so we went down to the front desk, only to be told that ants were a typical issue because it's "tropical" and that they'd send someone to spray the room. No one came until the following day. We followed up multiple times, just to be told "we're sorry", with no action taken. Is there really only one person they have to spray for ants if it's such a common problem? The ant infestation was fixed in the guest bathroom, only to move into the master bathroom. It was gross- we were killing up to 15 ants a day- and we were shocked by the lack of customer service in wanting to fix the situation. Other negatives: rooms while large, were outdated (the decor was stuck in the 1980's), we were locked out of our room one day because maintenance was there to fix the blinds, even though it turns out they had the wrong room, our sliding screen door was broken and maintenance didn't really fix it (continued to be a problem), and there is no A.C., which we knew in advance, but is just kind of crazy.

Room Tip: Face the ocean if you want a breeze at night- it gets hot with no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EastSidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your visit. We wish your positive assessment of our spacious guest units, convenient location and beautiful resort grounds had extended to our customer service. Please accept our apology for the slow response to your ant problem and for not following up on your concerns. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We own at Sands of Kahana and have stayed about 4 times. Our last stay was December 2013, it was wonderful! We had a beautiful ocean front view unit! Even though the units don't have air-conditioning, Kahana gets the wonderful trade winds so it never seems to be an issue. When it is really hot in Lahaina you can't wait to get back to Kahana. This Sands Of Kahana might be a little outdated but it is sooooo well kept, and very clean. The units are especially large, our 2 bed room
Unit is 1700 ft. When we stay there it feels like home. We walk down the street to the farmers market on Wednesdays every time we come! It's just a very comfortable place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We greatly appreciate your ownership and thank you for taking the time to review your last experience. We are delighted you enjoyed a beautiful oceanfront view from your unit, and that you found our accommodations clean and well kept. We love knowing our owners and guests feel right at home and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sands of Kahana. Shout out to Brad who organized our vacation in no time flat. The grounds and beach area were great. We did not have an ocean view but did not struggle with the lack of air conditioning or any noise. My only "issue" is the units are old. The wood finishing were worn or discolored. Half the drawers in the kitchen didn't open properly and need repairs. We didn't even try to use the dressers in the bedrooms. When one drawer opened, they all did. But the accommodations were nice enough and worked for us.
My only complaint is that for the entire island......who in the world paints the lines for parking!!!! There was not one parking spot made for cars designed in today's world. We had a compact car and could barely park in a spot.
I would certainly return to the Sands. I thought it a wonderful place to stay to enjoy Maui!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiea376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our resort grounds and the beach great. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, which will help to ensure a pleasant stay for all guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a first for me, I don't write bad reviews, I prefer to write positive reviews that might help other readers on this site. However, we had such a bad experience staying at the Sands of Kahana, I wanted to provide other time share owners with additional information that might help them to carefully consider whether to exchange for this resort. First the good... the grounds are beautiful and well kept. The resort is right on the beach and the sunsets were beautiful. Also, for the most part, the people who worked here were really nice. That's about it. The bad quite outweighed the good. The condo, while large, doesn't have air conditioning. We knew this however, I had no idea how very bad it could get if there aren't any trade winds and because the condo we stayed in was located at the back of building 4, we never got a breeze. We had no view of the ocean except for sliver and we asked multiple times if we could move to another condo. We were told we should have called in advance and asked for condo on the beach front. We were also told we were placed on a 'list' so if something became available we could move. Well, half of the resort checked out on Wednesday (we were staying Sunday to Sunday) and my husband checked with the front desk multiple times to see if we could move and we never heard from anyone. In the meantime, the units across the hall from us that had ocean front views, stayed empty and were still empty when we left on Sunday. And lastly, if you are unlucky enough to stay in a condo in the back of the building, it's very noisy. Garbage trucks, delivery trucks and cars come and go...diesel fumes wafted up into the condo and because it was so hot, we couldn't even close the windows and doors. Not a place I would recommend to anyone nor will we ever stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millercolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you found our resort grounds beautiful and well maintained, and that you enjoyed our sunsets. We are also happy that our staff met your expectations for courteous customer service. Conversely, we regret to learn of your disappointment in your condo location. As you’re probably aware, we do not guarantee specific room availability. Ocean front views are our most requested suite type and fill up quickly. At the same time, we are not sure why our front desk did not contact you when one became available. We are happy to grant room change requests if we can, and are sorry that you were not accommodated. We will definitely look into the issue in order to improve our procedures. We appreciate your feedback and once again extend our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This resort is fantastic!!! On the beach with everything!!
Gorgeous views, restaurant on site, tennis courts, volleyball, golf putting, koi pond, equipment rentals, pool , hot tub, Toddler pool and hot tub separate. Fun family activities planned each day and the beach is right there. Great activities desk for tickets. Two exercise rooms.
The units are some of the biggest on Maui, very roomy . Washer and dryer in the unit. Completely stocked kitchen, lanai's, nice furniture. Maid service if you would like. Wifi in units and a business center.
I highly recommend this resort for two and three bedroom units!
The one bedroom units are not well placed, with two exceptions, so I cannot recommend those.
We have stayed there often and will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views or ocean fronts are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for sharing this complimentary review of your stay at Sands of Kahana. We are thrilled you enjoyed gorgeous views, our onsite restaurant, pool area and other facilities. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and accommodations, along with your recommendation. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#11 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Property: Sands of Kahana
Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing