We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Paradise Tucked Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Paradise Tucked Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

There is not much to see from the road when you pull up so we were thrilled when we walked into the Maui Guest House! It is a piece of Paradise tucked off the main Hywy. The website does not do justice to the size and quality of the house itself nor the beauty of the stained glass windows and the tile turtle floor in the center of the house. They offer free range of the kitchen and a huge selection of food for a continental breakfast and dishes and condiments for any other in house eating you decide to do. There is a side hallway with an available washer and dryer with cupboards full of laundry supplies, picnic supplies, and all assorted sundries that you may have forgotten (lotion, suntan lotion, polish remover, sunburn ointment,etc). The shelves on the other side of the hall are stacked with nice huge beach towels. Extra towels are also stacked in the bathroom of each room. The closets hold a fan, ironing board, laundry basket and enough hangers for a month's stay. The room has nice adjustable lighting and speakers for the huge wall attached TV next to each side of the bed which allows a nice level of sound without blasting out into the house's common area. The jacuzzi in our room was in a seperate screened in lanai with both a sliding glass and screen door. This room and the jacuzzi were spotless; the afternoon and night breezes were fantastic if you wanted to use this as a reading room and the screen door allowed the breeze to flow into the bedroom.
The deck area has tables and chairs as well as a grill if you want to BBQ and the sweetest salt water pool just perfect for a cool dip!
Beach chairs and all necessary snorkel gear as well as boogie boards are available; with the strip of beaches with in 5-10 min drive, these were well used.Snorkeling at Airport Beach was our favorite morning spot!
The help at the House while we were there were 2 of the nicest folks we have met: Barb and Jim were helpful without being in our way and yet always there to listen and share stories and information when we wanted to talk.
We truly were sad when we had to leave and if we ever get another trip to Maui will be sure to stay here again.
Highly recommended. Can't say enough about the value for your money and the quality of the Maui Guest House!

Room Tip: The back 2 rooms had the jacuzzi in the lanai. We preferred this set up to the other rooms we peeked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
273
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay in the Guest House was perfect. We had a dip in our hot tub in the evening and relaxed after diving in the salt water pool. We had privacy in our room and Lanai, or we could enjoy chatting while preparing meals with our fellow houseguests. Barbara and Jim were freindly and helped with everything from restaurant recommendations to jogging routes.
Do be careful that you are 3km from the town center and 10-15 min walk from food or shops.
Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am a return guest of the Maui Guesthouse. As before, I was not disappointed in any way.
We, as travelers, have our own comfort levels and desires. For me, the Guesthouse offers it all. I like the personal interaction and the "homelike" feeling. Tanna and the staff provided great service, funny stories and much helpful advice about life on Maui. As mentioned by other reviewers, all the beach gear you need is there, just bring yourself! You don't get that cattle herding feeling like that of a big resort. The Guesthouse allows one to meet and swap stories with others in a very casual way. Simply put, it is a jewel within a beautiful setting.
I would most definitely recommend the Maui Guesthouse and I will return.
Thank you Tanna, Barbara and Amanda, you made for another great memory filled trip to Maui.
Mahalo and Aloha....Jim

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabanaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Tanna and her staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Lots of extras!

Room Tip: We had the bamboo room - lovely decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Maui Guesthouse. This was our first trip to Hawaii and staying at the Guesthouse was one of the best decisions we made. The property is located in a vicinity of Lahaina which made everything easy to get to and enjoy. The Guesthouse can provide anything you need for your daytrips from beachchairs, towels, coolers, ice, snorkel gear, boogie boards, etc. Just ask Tanna, Amanda or Barbara and they will fix you up.

Each morning we were greeted with a delicious selection of fresh fruit, muffins and bagels. Tanna and her team made sure the house was kept spotless throughout the day. The beautiful stained glass windows throughout the house brought the tropics into each room 24/7. Several times we used the BBQ to prepare our own meals. This made a very convenient way of having an inexpensive dinner and we usually had leftovers for lunch the next day.

If you get a chance, ask Tanna about some of her diving stories, she has had some exciting experiences.

We do have one problem with the Maui Guesthouse. We want to return to Hawaii and visit the other Islands but there is only one Guesthouse.

Aloha from Greg & Colleen

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms in the back. Very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackMurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had the chance to meet Tanna, Barbara and Amanda while I spent 5 days in Maui. They are a great team. What I really enjoyed were:
-the whole house was spotless
-the room was big and confortable and the bathroom very nice and modern (lots of towels)
-the private lanai very welcoming and relaxing
-the pool and patio were great to take a drink or to do a BBQ
-they provide everthing you need to go to the beach (towels, chairs, boards, snorkelling gear)
-Tanna was helpful to book a whale watching excursion (she knows what she talks about)
-breakfast was easy and very good (everything is accesible when you want it)
-but what I enjoyed the most was their help to make me feel at ease cause my suitcase came 4 days late
-the price is worth the service
Mahalo
Ana

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent 6 nights here in February 2012. For the price you will not find better accommodation on Maui. The quality of the room, the friendliness of the staff, the relaxed laid back attitude, the helpful travel advice plus the location make this the place to holiday in Maui. When we had to deal with some urgent family business back home in Australia, Tanna was so very generous, allowing us full use of her office so we could access computer, printer etc. Another great advantage of the Maui Guest House is the use of free wi fi. And did we mention the sumptuous breakfast? We highly recommend this B and B. You will not be disappointed.
Greg and Rob, Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia

Room Tip: Any room is great - however, we stayed in the room that opened on to the front deck where the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing