We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in West Maui”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay in West Maui”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Maui Guest House. It far exceeded our expectations, which are high. Our very spacious room had a private lanai area and private hot tub. The shared areas of the house are fantastic- we especially appreciated the large kitchen which was stocked with spices, good knives, bbq grill and other cooking implements not always found in a condo rental. The staff really made us feel at home. There is an endless supply of beach towels as well as beach chairs, coolers, and snorkel gear to use.

The house is spotless and meticulously maintained. It is in a very quiet neighborhood in Lahaina.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
277
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at Maui Guest House. The place was well-kept, room was clean (they even provided toiletries like shampoo, hair conditioner, body wash, soap), towels were sufficient and of various sizes, and their service definitely made us feel like we were home. The indoor jacuzzi definitely made our stay even more relaxing!

It's a pity Hawaii passed a bill on B&B inns restricting them from cooking our breakfast but the spread of food (ranging from cereal to muffins and assorted fruits) provided was sufficient and enjoyable. The location is about 2 miles from Lahaina Town and 1 mile to the nearest Laihana Cannery Mall/ Safeway Supermarket. Unless you don't mind spending 30-45 minutes walking or booking a cab (approximately USD11 to town), we strongly recommend this place to people who drive.

Tanna, Brad and the staff at Maui Guest House were very nice to talk to and they gave us lots of traveling tips around Maui. There is a nearby beach where you can swim and snorkel around (loads of turtles!). The best part is, Maui Guest House offer free rental of snorkeling equipment (unless you lose or damage them) and even an underwater camera!

If you are thinking of a B&B in Maui, DON'T HESITATE ANYMORE! They are really deserving of being the top 3 best B&B in Maui! :)

Green Features: They practice recycling and have bins allocated for specific waste!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Maui Guest House was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were welcoming and helped us with any questions and the room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The deck was comfortable and the pool was refreshing.

We really appreciated the use of snorkel equipment and tips on where to go for snorkeling and other adventures on the island. The staff also arranged our tickets to the nearby Old Lahaina Luau prior to our arrival so we didn't miss out on the popular event - it was fantastic!

Room Tip: Our room had a hot tub which was a pleasant surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FX123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Staffed by friendly folks who know the area and gave great recommendations for places to eat, snorkeling spots and must-do tourist-y activities. Our guest room opened out on the deck with 24hr pool and BBQ, came complete with mini-fridge, hot tub and AC. Spacious and clean throughout, the three nights we spent at Maui Guesthouse were comfortable and relaxing. We didn't make use of the laundry (with free soap!) or the kitchen, but certainly made the most of the snorkel/flipper sets! Location was awesome, it felt great to be away from the tourist hordes. Continental breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh fruit and plenty of coffee. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We are very happy that we booked the Maui Guest House as it is the best B&B we've stayed at. The staff are great and it is in a good location close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The staff are friendly, helpful, full of local knowledge and made us feel at home right from the start. The rooms are very comfortable and the facilities are excellent. You can do your cooking in the well equipped kitchen or the BBQ on the pool deck. Guests can also do their own laundry and they even provide with washing powder.The Guest House is well organised and super clean. We stayed for 6 nights but should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colesville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked her for a full week due to the reviews on TripAdvisor and they were certainly spot on! I would highly recommend this B&B for most travelers, especially if you don't mind a short drive to the dinner or snorkeling locations. The ambiance and outfitting of the rooms was awesome and they are fully stocked with everything you need - beach chairs, snorkel gear, coolers. We even grilled up some fresh fish on the BBQ and shared with our hosts. Awesome location, a short drive into the Lahaina downtown area. Be sure to visit the Aloha Mixed Plate while you are there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Maui guest house is a unique alternative to resort life. The amenities are great! There are no hidden charges and the staff members (community members) were knowledgable of the island and extremely friendly! We stayed at the house for 3 nights, the place is extremely clean and has all the needs for a traveling vacationer. Perks of staying at the guest house include; help with coordinating local excursions, plus recommendations and a discount! Private hot tub and no restrictions on the pool hours, personal mini fridge, AC and much more!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
7.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing