We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The staff were in incredibly friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and rooms were serviced daily. Scooba gear include free where as other places on the island charging $10/hr. Pool and hot tubs in rooms clean and accessable. Fresh fruit and muffins for breakfast every day. Free Use of laundry facilities the staff even printed our boarding passes. The local warf where the Hub of the local village and activities is a $7 cab ride away. great if you want to hit the town for drinks! Up the road in the other direction is great surf beaches and luxery hotel district. It was fantastic being so close without having the expense.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
274
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Maui Guest House is THE place to stay while in Maui. If you want a great location, an amazingly comfortable room (complete with hot tub), and a staff that is second to none and has thought of absolutely every possible detail and ammenity, then this is the place. We're already trying to figure out how to get back as soon as we can. Hawaii is a magical, wonderful place, but it was made even more so by the folks and the home at Maui Guest House.

Room Tip: If our room is any indication of what the rest of the rooms are like, there isn't a bad room at...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do a great job of recycling and the use of solar panels is appreciated.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdoddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the swimming pool. It was fun to meet new people. I also loved the chocolate chunk muffins. The facilities were extremely clean. The staff was a joy to hang out. Loved snorkeling in the beautiful maui waters, then returning for down time...watching a movie from the huge selection of DVDs or working a puzzle in the common area. The staff seemed like family, especially Tanna. Thank you Tanna and the Guest House staff for such a relaxing trip.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Audra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I don't know were to start, from the amazing staff, the clean ( and big house) room, the large deck with hammock, bbq, à swimming pool, boogieboards, beach chairs and matresses, the accessible washer/dryer, the emergency pharmacy if we needed, the massive DVD collection, the free maps and explanations of what to do etc etc.

Although not cheap, with all the little extras, it was worth it!! I've stayed in B&B in Argentina, Brazil and Europe and this one ranks in my top 3!!!

The hot tubs in every rooms are not necessary and coule be removed as they create humidity in the rooms, but that would be the only thing to change!!

The house has more than 4,000 square feet, 5 guestrooms, many common rooms to relax and 5 staff, but you always feel alone, which creates this nice intimante feeling.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The pictures on the website make it look fantastic...but it wasn't what we were expecting. We are world travelers and found the place to be a bit odd and expensive for what you get. We could have stayed in a hotel in Lahaina for less and had a hearty breakfast.

Brad, the main staff person we engaged with, was friendly and helpful but the other staff didn't seem to be engaged with their guests. We are more used to family run operations. It was nice to have the use of the washing machine and offered the use of their kitchen. All B & B's we have stayed in (UK, Ireland, Europe and the Middle East) have offered more than fresh fruit and "Costco" bread products for breakfast. We were told the Hawaiian gov't regulates food preparation and requires commercial kitchens which aren't allowed in residential areas.and that's why they could not cook for guest in their B & B. However, they could have offered plates of cheese and meat as the protein part of the breakfast or else supplied breakfast supplies (ie.bacon and eggs) etc., for guests to cook up themselves to get around the silly Hawaiian rule.

The room we had was small and would have been more comfortable if the in-room hot tub was removed and a couch and chair were provided in the same space. We had to sit on our bed to read and watch tv, etc. The fumes from the hot tub were annoying and the lanai consisted of a space behind the stained glass sliding door which was about 2 1/2 feet wide and 5 feet long with a painted scene of a beach and palm trees and two lawn chairs to sit on... all pretty tacky. Of course, we could have been out in the common space (of which there is a lot) but in our 3 days at the place we never saw anyone in it. Also, who wants to sit in one's pj's flopped on the couch wondering what people are thinking about how or why we are our pj's ? The pool and BBQ area also did not look like they were being used.

We also found it odd that we were told where to put recycling. Great that they are doing it..but telling your guests,who are paying $200 a night, to do it seemed odd. Also, we were expected to put our breakfast dishes in the dish washer. I can understand if we are cooking for our self in the communal kitchen...but after eating the simple breakfast.. all surprising to us !!!

We would not return or recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want to have the hot tub experience in the open air lanai, ask for one of the two back rooms...
See more room tips
Green Features: How about one hot tub for the entire place? We have heard electricity is expensive on Maui and so why not have everyone visiting in an open air hot tub where the tiny pool is ?
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjmmldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this b&b. It was such a homey feel. The b&b is in a neighborhood, so it didn't have that sterile hotel feel - felt a lot more like a home than a hotel. Firstly, the location was PERFECT. It was literally only minutes from Front Street (where all the good food, shops, and stores are) and from several beaches (you can't pick a wrong beach. they're all beautiful.) It was also far enough away from the airport that it wasn't overrun with tourists. Overall our best experience every away from home. Several reviewers complained of them not serving hot breakfast, but frankly we enjoyed the fresh cut fruit and muffins they had. Overall best features about this b&b were
1. The hot tub. Ours was on the attached deck to our room. We LOVED this, AND the privacy we had to use it having it be technically outdoors yet hidden.
2. The owners. Extremely helpful, gave us lots of good ideas for what to do while staying in Maui, gave us maps, and were just very helpful all around.
3. the dvd "rental" system. We came on our honeymoon so we naturally spent a lot of time in our room. We loved the ability to just relax and watch movies. The selection was mildly extensive.
4. the fridge/kitchen access. There is a mini fridge in your room with a bigger fridge in the kitchen. This was great for making meals at the b&b. We only made one meal there, but we found it completely stocked and ready to use. Utensils, cups, pots, pans, even condiments and there were always drinks you could drink.
over all a very good experience. absolutely no problems. We will be back for our anniversaries!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAndJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cernosice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Fact that this b&b is Dec-March sold out, mean everything!

It's B&B so you share with others, but great interior, large kitchen to be used and free wifi, parking..

As far to me was the most expensive B&B we took, but you get back what you pay for.

Last but not least, excellent staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honza_Horak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
7.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing