We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would never stay at a resort in Maui again!”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waupaca, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would never stay at a resort in Maui again!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B, we were welcomed even though we were a few hours late. It felt like our second home. It was very comfortable and everyone was so willing to give us recommendations and share their day with us. On the flip side, there was a relaxing atmosphere and when we wanted to chill in our room, it was just as relaxing. The pool was great to cool off in. Having the breakfast spread with wonderful fresh fruit and just about anything you could want to use in the kitchen was great too. It was very clean. We met some very wonderful friends and it was nice to share our day with everyone! All of the hosts were great and playing air hockey with Tanna was a blast!!! Thanks Maui Guest House for the best vacation ever!! (Don't forget that you can check out snorkeling gear/chairs and boogie boards)

Room Tip: Loved the bamboo room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetKate000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
278
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I were so impressed with this B&B. Within 1 hour we felt like family. They really cared about our enjoyment or not just our stay, but our entire vacation. The staff was very helpful in providing info on what to do. They provided a cooler, beach towels, snorkel gear, maps, and local insight.
The house is spotless, tastefully decorated, and very laid back and comfortable. It has a great view of the ocean and the mountains behind, and the private hottub on our private porch was a great bonus. Breakfast on the front deck by the pool was perfect.
Maui guest house exceeded our expectations (especially the staff) in every way. We look forward to returning to Lahaina and staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy12Splash22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poipu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Maui Guest House if simply the perfect spot to stay for those who wish to avoid the crowded hotel scene. It is in the perfect location in Lahaina, has beautiful rooms, every amenity you could need and a fantastic view. Tanna is a wonderful host and has been successful for many years because of her unmatched love for not just the island - but sharing it with others. Having lived in Hawaii for 15 years I'm not sure why you'd want to go anywhere else as a couple visiting Maui. Thank you so much Tanna! We'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a great find this place is!!! It's an incredible property with gorgeous rooms! Each is a little different. My room had a private hot tub in the room, and BEAUTIFUL stained glass windows. Staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful as it relates to things to do and directions etc. They had beach chairs, towels, coolers for us to take on our daily excursions, and even had a really great area to rinse and hang my dive gear!!!

Breakfast was set up every morning with every cereal option you can think of, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, muffins, etc! They offered a huge library of DVD's and even popcorn to accompany for those random rainy days.

Tanna was one of the staff members working the week I was there, and she has lived in Maui for several years. She was so fun to talk to and so incredibly helpful!

The price was incredible, much better than wasting a ton of money at a resort, and equal- if not better experience! I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a private hot tub - you won't regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPuakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's been 4 years since our last stay at Maui Guest House and the accommodations are still great. A great place to kick back and enjoy Paradise. The kitchen is readily available to guests and you can easily make your own lunches and dinners and save mucho bucks as most of the West Maui places are on the spendy side. The staff is still very very helpful and really go out of there way to make sure you're having a great stay, especially Brad and Barbara.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Absolutely the best place we have ever stayed. Wonderful assortment of fresh fruit every morning.
All rooms have a private hot tub and there are laundry facilities available for your use. The staff is very gracious and helpful. There is also a fully equipped kitchen so you can also cook some of your own meals. If we go back to Hawaii we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is absolutely the best guest house we have ever been to. Home from Home, the hosts could not have been more accommodating, providing all the necessary equipment you could possibly want from kitchen ware, cool boxes, towels, to snorkelling and boogie boards. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and are extremely clean, with very comfortable beds. Breakfast of fresh fruit and a selection of breads and muffins, with a well stocked fridge and cupboards, they even made decaf coffee. Wonderful trip was sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing