We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing, Friendly, and Wonderful Place to Stay in Hawaii”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Relaxing, Friendly, and Wonderful Place to Stay in Hawaii”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Maui Guest House in Lahaina is the best place I have ever stayed. I don't say this lightly. I have been many places in my life and this Guest House definitely tops all of the other accommodations in which I have stayed. The Guest House has a beautiful deck with a pool and a wonderful view (especially at sunset), wonderful fresh island fruit every morning, an entire wall of DVDs, high speed internet, a lot of information of tours and spectacles around the island, an extremely friendly, funny, and personable staff and host, and the rooms are beyond incredible. If you are looking for beautiful stained glass windows, roomy showers, the most comfortable beds ever made, beautifully carved wooden furniture, a plasma screen tv, and even a Jacuzzi in your room, then the Guest House is for you. Each room has its own special qualities. Sure, you could stay in a very wonderful suite found at the top of a well-known hotel, but you would be spending more money and getting less. While you would get amazing rooms in both scenarios, your sense of peace and your caring staff will be found at the Maui Guest House. With the clean, unique, beautiful, taste of Hawaiian culture, quiet, safe, and fashionable setting, you would never find a better place to stay during your time on Maui than at the Guest House in Lahaina.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeeygirrrllyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
278
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We love the Guest House and have stayed twice. It is undergoing some renovations that will only make it better. Temperpedic beds and a jacuzzi in every room is great but they also have a dvd library that is amazing. We enjoy the house, the staff and the owner makes you feel like family. We did puzzles, swam, barbecued, watched movies and were even shown home movies of the lava on Hawaii. This is our favorite place to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We stayed at the Guest house for a week on our honeymoon (35M, 30 F). It was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We spent many nights out on the deck by the pool enjoying their company and conversation. They were an excellent resource for information on where to dive/snorkel and were able to book the dive trips right then & there with a 10% discount compared to what we would have paid if we booked directly with the dive shops. They were full of information on where to go & what to do & extremely knowledgeable about the area. The shore diving & snorkelling in the area is excellent.

The house itself was undergoing some renovations while we were there and the nice kitchen we saw when we arived was transformed into a beautiful one within a couple of days. The rooms are well air-conditioned and each have their own hot-tubs (big 6 person ones), large LCD TV's & fabulously comfortable mattresses (tempurpedic memory foam?). We could use anything in the kitchen and could cook (well stocked with many, many spices & accessories for cooking) our own meals/deserts without any hassles. The breakfasts are great with muffins, cereal & fresh fruit galore. Add to that free wireless internet (or a computer if you did not bring your laptop) & free Long-Distance to anywhere in Canada & the U.S & it adds up to an excellent value. We are planning on returning any time we happen to be on Maui. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zukka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our resent trip to Maui. After reading the reviews we had huge expectations. However, we were very disappointed all and all. The place itself is very nice. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and private.

However, the couple in charge of the house at the time was very cold. They barely talked to us when we came in and out. I would have at least expected a smile and a hi but barely got a glance. It made me uncomfortable and I felt I was bothering them. (but you never know...they probably have another couple there now anyway)

The location is also not mentioned in any other review. The place looks like a compound. There's 16 ft fences around the location because the neighborhood is terrible, dumpy, and sketchy!! There was a poor dog tied to a 4 ft rope outside in the neighbors yard that never had any water. There was abandoned cars all along the street--the neighborhood is just ugly. It was generally not a friendly place to be.

I probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Janell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This lovely place was convenience to downtown, had wonderful hospitality, a wonderful, healthy breakfast and all the amenities you need from home. You can cook your own meals in the common kitchen, use the internet and watch big sceen tv in your room or in the common area. The hosts were pleasant and accomdating. They booked several trips for us through their tour service. The guests were all friendly and fun to be around. The room was spacious with beautiful glass doors. Most of all, I appreciate their honesty. I lost a beautiful, sentimental ring and they found out it after I left and mailed it to me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannon_Dyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We loved this place. Three of us ladies shared a room with a queen bed and a twin bed--very spacious and comfortable. Beautiful stained glass throughout the house (including our room), bathroom nicely done and very clean, lovely common areas. This location is between the north end of Lahaina and the south end of Kaanapali--very convenient; it is in a quiet residential area. Breakfast is continental (apparently B&Bs can't "cook" breakfast on Maui anymore), and we had use of the kitchen to prepare meals. Used their snorkel equipment and beach towels for free. Also have use of their internet in the common room. Of note, their pool is VERY small; they should really just put in a hot tub instead. I think they are closing for a while to remodeling the whole deck/pool area. The B&B is run by 2 young Christian couples that alternate weeks on and off, but owned by someone else. We found them very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We were referred to the Maui Guest House by great friends who have a special connection to the place themselves. We visited Maui and the Guest House for the purpose of planning our wedding for next year. The Guest House was a perfect fit for us and we'll be back hopefully every year to enjoy it. We hope to book it for our wedding guests as well. Be aware...once you visit the Maui Guest House, you'll have no more longing for a hotel room! It's like setting your foot at home in a gorgeous tropical island setting. Go and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed! For us, it was a divinely appointed destination. God has blessed the Maui Guest House, indeed!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotfloridafever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
894 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing