We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you think of Maui, You think of The Guest House”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The Maui Guest House is the number One place to stay on the island of Maui. The property is constantly upgrading which has made our stay each and every time we have come different, unique and relaxing. On this trip, we enjoyed a new salt water pool which was fun and our room was bigger and better than last year. The staff was also helpful and willing to help out in anyway possible. All in all, we had a great vacation....period. Thanks Maui Guest House!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

I had such a good time here! I had my mother and best friend with me. And we just had a blast! There are amazing movies! The rooms are beautiful, and clean, plus the showers are cool. The breakfast was calm, it wasn't hectic like at hotels. You dont have to wait in line for breakfast, like you do at the hotels. Plus she recommends places to go and see. Its just super awesome there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaeraeWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I did A LOT of research before booking my accomodations for our Maui trip in Sept '09 and finally decided on the Maui Guest House (couldn't decide between condo, large hotel, etc. etc.). Boy am I glad that we decided to stay here, because it was well worth the VERY reasonable rate, and made our stay so enjoyable.

Accomodations: The rooms are exactly how they look on their website... beautifully appointed, charming rustic Hawaiian-themed furniture, and of course the beautiful stained glass windows in every room! We had the smallest room, which was plenty big for the two of us (who spends much time in their room while in Maui anyway?! :P ) The tempur-pedic matress is TO DIE FOR, especially after a rough day of hiking or playing on the beach! Bathroom perfect: excellent water pressure, great water temp, etc. It seems like the entire house was recently remodeled: granite countertops, etc. Room was just lovely AND has A/C! I couldn't believe how many condos did not offer A/C, and if you're like me... can't sleep if it's too hot, so A/C in your room is fab!

Location: As the other reviews mentioned, this is in a residential area in Lahaina, not in the heart of Front Street or anything... but super easy access to Hwy 31, close to grocery stores, short drive to Front Street, minutes away from beaches in Ka'anapali, Napili (our fave), etc. Very convenient locale

Amenities: As mentioned on their website, they have beach items for you to use. What they don't mention is the GREAT condition they keep everything! The snorkel gear could have been brand new, all very comfy (Tanna even helped us to make sure we were getting the right sizes), boogie boards of every size, beach mats, coolers of every size... basically anything you need for the beach and more...and FRESH beach towels to use everyday!! That alone should have you booking this place now!

There is an excellent DVD collection should you need some evening entertainment, although the cable TV had ESPN which was enough for my honey :)

Breakfast each morning was lovely with a great spread of "continental"-style breakfast. As I'm sure you have read already, Maui has a law against BNBs preparing any food for their guests, but Maui Guest House makes up for that by providing pretty much anything you can think of... muffins, bagels, english muffins, toast, cereals, yogurts, fresh tropical fruit, etc. etc! The kitchen is also fully stocked should you want to prepare your own lunches, picnics, dinners, etc.

Laundry for you to wash your dirty beach clothes before you go home is AWESOME (I'm sitting here by the DVD collection on the house computer waiting for my laundry as I write this review).

The house is just lovely and charming... very clean (I don't know how they get all of the sand out of here!), quiet (never heard our house-mates walking about the house). Tanna and her staff are so friendly and accomodating, and are always around if you need them, but not in your business.

Will definitely be back again!!! Book your stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironstephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

A great B&B run by a lady who really, really likes her job. Outstanding customer care from suggesting a snorkeling outfit (with a discount) to arranging for us to check out late upon our return. There is almost nothing you could want or need that is not already provided or thought of by the host. Wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gofast111a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My wife and I enjoy traveling together and almost always choose to stay in Bed and Breakfasts. We feel that we get a little more of the local flavor and a little less of the tourist directed hype, and we have found a treasure on Maui. The Maui Guesthouse had everything we look for in a vacation lodging, and more. It's as though the entire house is designed for maximum comfort, beauty and a true desire to meet the guest's needs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband and 18 year old daughter recently stayed at the guesthouse for 10 days. The rooms were gorgeous, comfortable and immaculately clean. The hosts were friendly, and very helpful. I loved the convenient location, and many amenities. We enjoyed the pool/bbq deck, snorkel equipment and boogie boards, dvd library and large plasma screen tvs, lovely fresh continental breakfasts, jacuzzis in each room and deliciously comfortable beds. Tanna, the owner and an avid diver, has all kinds of items she is willing to share with her guests: an endless supply of beach towels, coolers, suntan lotions, everything necessary for laundry and cooking meals, a wealth of info on activities and a terrific laugh. The Maui Guesthouse was perfect for us. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainBligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Maui Guest House in Lahaina is the best place I have ever stayed. I don't say this lightly. I have been many places in my life and this Guest House definitely tops all of the other accommodations in which I have stayed. The Guest House has a beautiful deck with a pool and a wonderful view (especially at sunset), wonderful fresh island fruit every morning, an entire wall of DVDs, high speed internet, a lot of information of tours and spectacles around the island, an extremely friendly, funny, and personable staff and host, and the rooms are beyond incredible. If you are looking for beautiful stained glass windows, roomy showers, the most comfortable beds ever made, beautifully carved wooden furniture, a plasma screen tv, and even a Jacuzzi in your room, then the Guest House is for you. Each room has its own special qualities. Sure, you could stay in a very wonderful suite found at the top of a well-known hotel, but you would be spending more money and getting less. While you would get amazing rooms in both scenarios, your sense of peace and your caring staff will be found at the Maui Guest House. With the clean, unique, beautiful, taste of Hawaiian culture, quiet, safe, and fashionable setting, you would never find a better place to stay during your time on Maui than at the Guest House in Lahaina.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeeygirrrllyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
455 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,098 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: £160 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing