We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 18 November 2006

We were in Maui on Business and stayed a few extra days at the Guest House after that. The People looking after the house were very friendly and helpful. We’re SUBA divers and one of them was a SUBA instructor. He actually took us out on a personal dive with him, it was fantastic. We seen turtles, lots of corral fish but the height of the trip was six white tipped sharks that hang out in the area. That's what I call personal service! They were also very helpful in suggesting places to dine that were both reasonably priced and excellent food. They never steered us wrong. The rooms of course were very clean and the beds excellent. The room had a plasma TV and DVD player if you wanted to spend a night in with their vast collection of DVD's to choose from. They also supplied you with beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel equipment etc. for your day at the beach, all I might add for free. Try that at one of the resorts in the area! I might add that prior to staying at the Guest House we were at the 5 Star Sheraton just down the road. As far as providing for it's guests and ensuring their having a fun and memorable trip it had nothing on the Guest House. Our next visit to Maui we will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Service, Comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If you like SUBA diving this is a great place
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Goggles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    29
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
277
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

The Maui Guest House is like staying in a average house. I could have done that at home! There is nothing extraordinary. There is a hot tub in your room and flat screen but the pool is tiny and so are the bathrooms. When I go to Hawaii I want to have views of the ocean or be on the ocean. Spend the extra money to stay on the water, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

I just got back from a 2 week stay on Maui and what an experience! Traveling with my two sons (ages 14 and 22), our first week was spent in the Kihei/Wailea area and our second week spent in the Lahaina/Kaanapali area. While we enjoyed the beaches and the outdoor activities in both locations tremendously, we just could not get over the difference we felt between the B&Bs. At our first place, we were made to feel as if we had to "walk on tip toe" in someone else's home. Not at the Guest House! We felt as if it was OUR home. From the get go, we were greeted with warm smiles, refreshing drinks, and the mini tour of the home let us know that we had availability to just about everything. The kicker was when we found out that our host Jim gave a FREE pool class for those that wanted to try scuba. Since my older son is already a certified diver this was a great opportunity to have his brother join him. The kids had a blast! They ended up doing a total of 3 different dives with "Scuba Jim." It was a life changing experience for them, something that cannot be described, but was certainly seen on their excited faces as they would return from each dive adventure. For once their age difference didn't matter. I was so proud of them! I cannot thank Jim enough for the attention he gave my boys! I watched two brothers become friends and dive buddies!
As for me, (a non diver due to ear problems), I actually got caught up on much needed R&R. There is such a peace about the Guest House, it truly felt as if we were staying with family. Everything was spotlessly clean and organized. I guess the best review would be to let you know that we have already planned our return trip, and yes, we will be staying our entire time at the Guest House next year.

  • Liked — Very clean and felt as if we were with family.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't hesitate to ask for anything.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mommafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Over the past 4 years, not only have we stayed at the GuestHouse, but we trained there as well! It was a great place for us, our family, and our friends to vacation from cold Canada, but it was an even a more remarkable opportunity for us to learn the "ins and outs" of running a bed and breakfast. We can't say enough about how wonderful Maui is, and being at The Guest House, with everything they have to offer, made it that more special. For those not only looking for a short vacation, but perhaps a change in lifestyle, give Tanna a call!

  • Liked — All the perks! This house is loaded with extras . . . and the GREAT hospitality!
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay long enough!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead! This place fills up far too fast!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
7.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing