We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings and atmosphere!”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 February 2007

The moment we stepped into the Guest House, we knew that we had made the right choice! We were immediately met and made to feel at home. The beautiful and impeccably clean common areas and private rooms made us feel so comfortable. Our room was very quiet both during the day and at night and the bed was extremely comfortable. Slept great! Some of the amenities available are unlimited local and long-distance calls, internet access on the living room computer, snacks, availability of the kitchen and grill for cooking, in-room refrigerators, free use of washer/dryer, great DVD library, flat-screen TVs in your room, free loans of beach equipment (snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, beach towels) and all of it the highest quality. If advice or directions were needed or wanted, Rhea, Jim or Tanna were always available with the perfect information. They seemed to get much pleasure in making our stay a wonderful one. We would not hesitate to recommend this place, and we look forward to a return visit as soon as we are able!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kayak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Maui Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful vacation at the Guest House. As others have said it is the place to stay in Maui. This was the first time we have stayed at a B&B and we really liked it. The house had everything you could think of. It felt like we were at home, only much nicer. The other couples staying at Guest House were also fun to hang out with.

The hosts Tanna, Jim and Rhea really made our stay awesome. We had some really great times hanging out with them at the pool, reminiscing about the adventures we already had and planning for more fun. Be sure to ask the hosts about some of their scuba adventures. The hosts really made us feel at home and gave some great recommendations such as the tasty and affordable Aloha Mixed Plate right down the street.

We also had a very good experience with Lahaina Divers. Ask for one of the Cesere brothers as your divemaster. Also there is great snorkeling at Black Rock, just a couple minute drive down the street. We spent several hours chasing the sea turtles.

My wife and I would like to travel other places, but the Guest House will probably lure us back to Maui.

Sinc erely, Brian and Kristen

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Digman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights during our honeymoon. We were greated by Owner Tanna who showed us around and offered us a beverage right away. There is a big flat screen TV and a private Jacuzzi in our room. Each of the staff was super-friendly but not overbearing. The staff treats you better (and more personally) than the big resorts and pay half the price!!!

The breakfast was set up the night before so if you had an early-morning adventure, you could eat and run. Great variety of cereal and oatmeal, bagels, bread, english muffins, variety of fresh fruit (pineapple, papaya, cherries, blueberries, kiwi, banana, etc), banana bread and muffins, and BEST kona coffee found anywhere on the island (even to go cups provided)!

They also offered washer and dryer to us, beach chairs, snorkel equiptment, and towels. Rooms cleaned each day. Awesome complementary DVD selection (although we were too busy). House was quiet and music playing quietly at various times.

There is also a couple of cabinets where they have forgotten items (suntan lotion, aloe, q-tips, bandaids). I got a bad cut on the bottom on my foot and the waterproof bandaid found in the cabinet saved my trip.

We moved on to another B&B in Hana for two nights and we kept saying how we wanted to go back to the Guesthouse!!! Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank holuminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2006

Great Home, just like staying at a friend's house.

So much included, cooler, ice, snorkel equip, beach chairs, hot tub, vonage phone, wireless internet and a computer to use.

Quiet neighborhood, close to town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Xeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2006

We spent the first 5 days of our Maui honeymoon at the Guest House B&B in Lahaina and were very sorry to leave. Calling it a "B&B" almost seems like a disservice because oftentimes we felt like we were in a luxury resort. Someone needs to come up with a new name to describe a place that offers the serenity, homey comfort and value of a B&B with many of the amenities found at a 5 star hotel. Here is a partial list: a clean, beautiful pool which we had virtually to ourselves, a great deck with comfortable loungechairs, tables, umbrella, and hammock, an in room large plasma flatscreen TV with DVD player and a huge selection of excellent movies, remote-controlled A/C, huge hot tub in the room, wonderful breakfasts (several kinds each of juices, breads, muffins, bagels, fruits, and coffee), beach chairs, towels, cooler, in room fridge, shampoo, soap, conditioner, housekeeping service, washer/dryer in house, snacks, high speed internet service and FREE long distance phonecalls anywhere in the US (and I think in Canada, too). All of this in an immaculate, gorgeous home decorated with the most tasteful, aesthetically pleasing furniture and accessories. Best of all were our hosts, Jim and Rhea, a wonderfully welcoming couple who we enjoyed talking to every chance we got and who did everything possible to guarantee a memorable stay. If you go to Maui, be sure to spend time at Guest House.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HawaiianLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

My fiancee and I live on Oahu and took a long weekend in Maui in November 2006. We stayed one night in Lahaina at the Guest House, and it was a wonderful experience. The hosts were very friendly, professional, and laid back. The place has recently been remodeled, and our room was exquisite with an LCD tv, bamboo floors, and a screened lanai (porch) with it's own private hot tub. Lahaina town is a long walk or a very short drive away. B&Bs aren't allowed to cook you food anymore, but the place provided us with eggs to cook ourselves, along with juice, fresh fruit, coffee and breakfast breads. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jakester24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2006

We were in Maui on Business and stayed a few extra days at the Guest House after that. The People looking after the house were very friendly and helpful. We’re SUBA divers and one of them was a SUBA instructor. He actually took us out on a personal dive with him, it was fantastic. We seen turtles, lots of corral fish but the height of the trip was six white tipped sharks that hang out in the area. That's what I call personal service! They were also very helpful in suggesting places to dine that were both reasonably priced and excellent food. They never steered us wrong. The rooms of course were very clean and the beds excellent. The room had a plasma TV and DVD player if you wanted to spend a night in with their vast collection of DVD's to choose from. They also supplied you with beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel equipment etc. for your day at the beach, all I might add for free. Try that at one of the resorts in the area! I might add that prior to staying at the Guest House we were at the 5 Star Sheraton just down the road. As far as providing for it's guests and ensuring their having a fun and memorable trip it had nothing on the Guest House. Our next visit to Maui we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Goggles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: £156 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing