We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Motel on a Beach” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Motel on a Beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2008

The Royal Lahaina Resort is comprised of a single tower of newly renovated hotel rooms, surrounded by dozens of dilapidated free-standing two story shacks (the hotel advertises these as "cottages"). The grounds are very basic, comprised of a large lawn area, with several concrete pathways that are filled with cracks, potholes and finger/stick engravings in areas that were patched. There are two small rectangular pools on the ocean side of the grounds. The main drives and parking lots are unkempt, filled with pot holes and crumbling curbing.

When we checked in, we were unknowingly checked into one of the "cottages." When walking up to our cottage, we noticed the roof was covered in black plastic tarps. Upon entering the room, we realized immediately that the room was not in rentable condition. The mirrored closet door was off its tracks, there were holes in the walls, a broken towel bar, a wall air-conditioner unit that had an extension cord with electrical tape, and the bed had a lumpy mattress. Also, we discovered mold spores growing in the bathroom (see pictures we've uploaded from this cottage room.) Finally, the room was extremely dated (circa 1970s), dirty and smelly.

Needless to say, we returned to the front desk to explain the condition of the room and get a new one. It became obvious that the hotel staff were quite accustomed to guests complaining about these cottages. Instead of expressing shock or concern when we described the abominable conditions, the front desk clerk simply said "Uh huh, OK, ... let me see if I can find you another room in the tower instead."

After waiting about an hour for another room to open up, we were given a room in the "Tower". However, the only room available was an ocean view, so we were told it would be an additional $200 a night (to stay in a clean room). We were so exasperated at this point that we took the upgrade after negotiating them down to $100 extra. What's completely interesting about this hotel is that the Tower rooms have been completely renovated. We were surprised that the rooms in the Tower are new, clean, modern and very pleasant to stay in.

While the rooms are Tower are new, the rest of the entire complex is extremely dated and run down. In fact, the only renovations are the rooms themselves and hallways. The elevators are ancient, and the hotel lobby is dark, dreary, and outdated.

Overall, this hotel and grounds looks and feels more like a giant apartment complex instead of a resort. In fact, after reading the prior reviews on here, it is absolutely bewildering how many guests have rated this hotel above average or excellent. Perhaps these guests are comparing this "resort" to motel chains.

Thankfully we only stayed at this hotel for two nights. If you do end up staying at this hotel, considering visting the more upscale area of Kaanapali beach and resort. This area is on the south side of black rock. You can take a short boardwalk path from the hotel. Follow the path across to black rock. From there, you'll arrive at the back side of the Sheraton resort. Walk towards the tennis courts. Just past them you'll find a guest walkway that takes you to the hotel grounds, pool and public beach areas. Just down from the Sheraton is the Westin, Marriott and Hyatt hotels. Explore these hotels' grounds and pool areas and you'll immediately learn what a TRUE 3 and 4 star resort is. This resort does not even deserve a single star.

  • Liked — If you elect to stay here, ensure you are guaranteed a room in the Tower - not a Cottage room
  • Disliked — The whole ambiance and environment - more like a motel building and apartment complex pool area
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Beach_Fan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    1,382
    499
    257
    194
See reviews for
714
2,006
84
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

If you are looking for a great beach at a moderate price than this one is for you. The Royal Lahaina is the best value in Kaanapali. The renovated rooms are just as nice as the rooms at other 4 star resorts in the area. The hotel itself is average. Nothing beautiful about it. Great beach. Just as nice as the beach south of black rock. Stay away from the cotteges. They are not renovated and I believe they will be eventually torn down and replaced with timeshares in the future. Parking is bad after dinner due to the nightly luau. I recommend valet.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jmeb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

Our family of 5 booked a 2-bedroom cottage on the grounds. The rooms were very spacious and pretty clean. We were thrilled to have three bathrooms, a nice sitting area, a small kitchnette and an entire patio not far from the beach with a view of the golf course. It became obvious that the renovations they mention on their website did not include the cottages. They are quite old and in need of updating. We found out later that they are scheduled to be torn down in March of '08 to make room for 3 story condos. There is some obvious termite damage and tarps cover most of the cottage roofs. The staff that we dealt with directly were very nice and helpful. We were advised to visit Costco at the airport before heading to Lahaina, so we didn't visit the restaurants on the premises. The two pools seemed nice, but we spent most of our time in the ocean. Our only complaint would be in trying to secure bedding for the hide-a-bed. When we pulled it out it was covered with ants and obviously hadn't been changed in quite some time. It took an hour for the sheets to arrive. We had asked for new bedding, which included blankets for padding. The young man who delivered the sheets said he would return with the rest of the bedding, but after another hour we gave up and went to bed. The beach is much less crowded, but the snorkeling isn't as good as other areas on Ka'anapali. Self parking is also difficult (the spaces are very narrow and the lot fills up fast at night).

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the rooms
  • Disliked — The lack of upkeep
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank SSH-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

My wife and I spent the holidays at this resort. This resort is right on Kaanapali Beach, which is one of the best beaches in the world. An added bonus is the fact the beach is on the north side of Black Rock which makes this area MUCH less crowded than the south side, where most of the hotels are located. Kaanapali South golf course also borders the propety and a walking path takes you right along one of the fairways of the course.

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous. Palm trees (duh), and many flowered trees and plants are everywhere , making this area more "tropical" than a lot of the other resorts.

We spent 9 nights in one of the soon-to-be demolished cabins instead of the tower. These rooms are definately dated, and I'm sure not as nearly as nice as the newly rennovated tower rooms. That being said, I did not come 3000+ miles to look at hotel carpets and draperies. We had issues with our dook lock (no key cards at the cabins) and with the quality of our pillows. Both of our complaints were handled within 30 minutes of our calling the desk.

Our package came with the breakfast buffet included. This saved us about $7 a day. If I could do it all over again, I'd skip the daily buffet for one reason only. Nine days in a row of eggs got to be a bit much. The buffet did have a lot of other items on the menu, though, such as french toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and many tropical fruits. Birds are somewhat of a nuiscance, but just don't leave your table with food on it and you'll be okay. The breakfast package would be perfect for those who are staying less than a week, in my opinion.

EVERY member of the staff that we came in contact with...front desk, housekeeping, bartenders, beach activity people,etc. were very nice and and helpful.

As far as the parking charges go...look at other hotels that don't charge you up front for parking and compare their rates to the RL and I guarantee you will still be saving $$$ staying at the Royal. Now for the parking lot. This is the only bad feature of the hotel. Each parking space seems to be designed for mopeds instead of cars. Several times my wife would litterally have to get out and guide me into the space. Parking avaiibility is greatly reduced during the RL luau (from about 5-8 pm).

If you are looking for something similar to the Grand Wailea or the Ritz Carlton, don't stay here. If you want an affordable--by Hawai'i standards--clean, quiet place, with an awesome view at a great location I would look no further than here.

  • Liked — Freindly staff and great location
  • Disliked — Parking lot
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mike_in-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

My wife and myself spent one night of our honeymoon here on December 23rd, 2007.

The Rooms:
Decent size rooms, unable to set the temperature below 68, we like our room cold!

The Staff:
Our first experice was with checkin. The lady at the front desk was down right rude. We were questioning weather a previous phone request for an upgrade would be honored, we were interrupted with a snippy "If you'd let me finish" by the staff member. Not a good start

The Food:

Breakfast was included with our package. When we visited the buffet the next morning there were small flying insects (fruit flies) over most of the food. Particulary bad were the fruit and patsty. There was one plate of pastries that had, and I'm not kidding, probably 200 little bugs crawling over it.

We brought the waitress over to tell her about it. She said she said something to the manager earlier in the morning an was scolded for even being over by the buffet. She suggested we talk to the manager directly. The manager came over and his explanation was "we get sprayed monthly, but there is nothing we can do about it". He then pointed at the birds and said that we can't image what they get into. Disgusting.

Well we lost our appetite and went back to our room. We both looked at each other and said we have to get out of here. Luckily we found a room at the Westin down the road (It only ended up costing $40 more a night).

The pleasant part was our treatment by the Hotel Manager. She was by far leaps and bounds more professional than her staff. (Hint, overqualified....). We explained the situation and that we would be leaving. She appologized and refunded the rest of our stay (5 nights) in which we had pre-paid for. She also worked with us on the rental car that was also part of the package.

The rest of our trip was fantastic!

  • Liked — Treatment by the Hotel Manager
  • Disliked — Bugs on the food!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jeremyaudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

Stayed in May 07 for 3 nights as Honeymooners. No special treats for that. But this was an awesome hotel for the price we paid. Me and my wife were overall impressed (9/10).

It was Renovated and very modern, the room was quite small, the bed was comfortable and furniture was fresh. we had a partial ocean view room, but it was a pretty decent view of the ocean from the 11th floor. Ate at the restaurant down stairs, nice food and good service.

The guys at the Beach Hire Place were really helpful and gave us a free Cabana on quiet days. Snorkling outside the hotel was fantastic, good to do for an hour a day. Saw dolphins jumping close to the shore, that was great.

The Good
> Good value for $
> Quiet Location
> Excellent Beach
> Friendly Staff
> Modern Room & Modern Furniture
> Clean
> Free access to the Ice Machine on every floor
> Snorkling very close by (2-3 minute walk up the beach)

The Bad

> Getting to the Whalers village in Kaanapali was a bit painful. There is a free trolley that we felt runs when it wants (never really stuck to the time table it felt like). Best off getting a taxi and finding another couple. Although i think the taxi ride is about $5US one way. Alternatively if you plan to rent a car for part of the
holiday, this is the place to rent it. Also getting to Lahaina Town from this hotel is difficult again (because you have to get to Kaanapali whalers village by the trolley, then get the $1 Bus). Planning your trips here is important.

> Lifts were as old as the building and it showed.

> Pools were not that exciting, but there are two medium - small pools available (they are still nice however, but a lagoon pool would make this even better). The beach was fantastic though and a bit more private (quiet) than when we were in Kaanapali (the other side of black rock).

The Ugly

The building is old, but renovated. Pipes are a bit noisy, we had a toilet that kept getting stuck and wouldn't flush properly. So i had to learn all about plumbing, because i wasn't going to call maintenance when I had the previous nights dinner on show. Friends we know who stayed there on our recommendation had the same problem with the toilet too. Also too embarrassed to make the call, and became a plumber.

Overall

9/10 and if we go back to Maui we will spend our entire time at Royal Lahaina Resort. Good value for money in our opinion and we've been recommending it to family & friends.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank Amacski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina over New Years, Dec 07 – Jan 08. I would say that the hotel is not as grand as the Westin or Four Seasons, it is certainly not as large as these hotels, but the staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, and the fully renovated ‘tower’ was very comfortable indeed. It is right on the ocean with a great beach. The restaurants are not grand, but the food is first rate and also reasonably priced. The 10$ parking fee is a clear minus, but the free Internet makes up for it. The view of Molokai is magnificent. We stayed in the tower.

  • Liked — Proximity to many interesting places
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing