We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lahaina Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,295)
Filter reviews
4,295 results
Traveller rating
1,672
1,558
575
283
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,672
1,558
575
283
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagestower roomgarden cottagepineapple waterroyal scoopocean viewblack rockour honeymoonwhalers villagemain towerbreakfast buffetfree trolleybeach barwelcome homekaanapali beachbeautiful beachmai tais
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,272 - 2,277 of 4,295 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent 5 peaceful nights here and felt like it was our own tropical paradise. It was never too crowded around the pool and we were able to get beds or a cabana easily.
It's a bit away from town so unless you get a taxi to Whalers or into Lahaina then the only place to eat is here so you do feel a bit trapped. It is a bit quiet at night with no entertaiment but that was fine for us. We booked to go to the Luau on one evening and the entertainment and dancing was good if you haven't experienced that before, however the food did not feel very traditional and was served buffet style which was OK, but some of it was not hot.
One day we took the little trolley to Whalers Village and did some shopping and had lunch at Leilani's on the Beach, which was really nice for a change, then walked back across the golf range to the hotel. Another day we did a whale watching trip from Lahaina and ate at a resaurant downtown.
Rooms were clean and spacious, the bathroom was a bit cramped but OK for two. We did a deal with the hotel for the buffet breakfast which was good but a bit samey. Watch out for the birds who will have your breakfast quicker than a flash!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipsy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Mahalo. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Please note that we do offer complimentary trolley service to Whalers Village, which has several restaurants and lots of shopping opportunities. Should you prefer, Whalers Village is a 15 -20 minute walk from the hotel. The resort hotels in Kaanapali are approx. 3 miles from historical Lahaina Town. There is bus service into Lahaina from Whalers Village, or a taxi will cost $10 - $15 each way. Aside from our luau, we do offer complimentary entertainment each evening at our ocean side restaurant and lounge. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The resort was nice. The rooms were newly renovated and beautiful. We checked in at 6:30pm (check in time is supposed to be 3pm) and our room was not ready. They did comp us drinks at the restaurant on premises after we complained. The pool was freezing - not heated, so no one was using it. To use the jacuzzi, you had to walk through the parking lot and past the tennis courts (very inconvenient). It was pretty nice place to stay, and was on the beach. I would recommend it - if you get a decent deal on the room price. We've stayed other places in Maui that had rooms that were as nice with better amenities (bigger/more pools and heated).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for the feedback. Very sorry for the delay at check-in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the value that we offer for a Kaanapali Beach resort. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed a week at the Royal Lahaina in March 2011 and recently returned in January 2013. We had such a positive experience the first time and knew the location was ideal so decided to stay here again and it was just as great as before. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the value. The restaurant has great food at decent prices. I will be going back to Maui and WILL stay at the Royal Lahaina again. I've also stayed at the Hyatt, just up the road from the Royal Lahaina, and it was very pricey and VERY VERY crowded.

Room Tip: I've only ever had the partial ocean front view, which was perfect. Rooms overlook the golf course or the Luau area.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you very much for making the Royal Lahaina Resort your accommodation of choice on Maui. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Get a ocean front room on the corners with the two balcony's. 5th floor was nice. Great service. Chris at the front desk was so so accommodating. Great hotel, great location, very clean, will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Mahalo! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Came here for our honeymoon it's a nice place but not spectacular.
Rooms a bit small, house keeping/staff awful, my wife had to keep chasing house keeping for towels even after calling the front desk to correct the problem.
As for parking there is plenty of it but don't understand why they would charge $10 a day considering the resort isn't close to anything?
We'll be going back to Maui but not this place.
Don't know how it got such a high rating???

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stamos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your honeymoon visit. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have been in reviews with our Housekeeping Department regarding the towel service and believe this issue has now been resolved. All resorts in Kaanapali charge for parking. I believe guests will find that the Royal Lahaina parking charge of $10 per day is the lowest of any resort in the area. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews